Humans logo

Treasure Hunt

There is always more to learn.

By Christina GrimPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

It had been a rough two weeks. Since receiving the phone call that my dad was in the hospital, I had been busier than any day I had been at college. Mom had died six years earlier from cancer and as the only child, it fell to me to take care of Dad.

Everything had happened so quickly, that I had not really found time to breathe. One afternoon I was holding my Dad’s hand at the hospital; then, two weeks later, here I stood in the cemetery saying goodbye to him. I felt a hand on my shoulder.

“You ready to go, Evie?” Uncle Jack almost whispered when he finally spoke. “Everyone is waiting back at the community center.”

“Yeah,” I said wiping my tears. “I’m ready.”

I sat quietly in Uncle Jack’s car as he drove back into town. I was thinking that I would have to skip a semester at college because of all the things I would have to take care of at Dad’s old house. Uncle Jack broke the silence,

“Evangeline, I have something for you. There’s an envelope from your Dad in my coat pocket. Reach in and get it.” I pulled a white business envelope from Uncle Jack’s pocket as he lifted up his right arm, keeping his hand on the steering wheel the whole time. “I’m going to take you to the bank. You’ll understand when you open the envelope. Your Aunt Paula can handle the reception.”

I opened the envelope and took out a note and a key. I read the note.

“Dear Evie, There is always more to learn as every day passes by. I want you to stop and feel the sun, see nature all around you, and smell every flower. I’m giving you a key to the past, the present, and the future. I Love You to the Moon and Back Again! Dad”

When I looked up, Uncle Jack had parked behind our local bank.

“Well, come on,” he said opening his door.

We walked into the bank and were met by Miss Maryann, the branch manager. I had known her since I was little. I would come to the bank every Saturday with my Dad. I was not really paying attention to Miss Maryann and Uncle Jack’s conversation. I knew I needed to give Miss Maryann the key from my Dad.

“I knew you’d be in to see me. I’m so sorry about your Dad, dear.” She looked at me and then Uncle Jack. “This is the key for the box of John S. Irvin and Frank L. Irvin, correct.”

“Yes, it is,” he replied.

“Well, just follow me and we’ll get this box for you.” She motioned for us to follow her down a hallway to a small room with a table inside. “Have a seat and I’ll bring the box out to you.”

Uncle Jack and I sat at the table waiting for Miss Maryann. In a few minutes, she reappeared with a long steel box, set it on the table, and then closed the door as she left the room.

“Go ahead, Evie, open it.”

“Do you know what’s in it?” I asked.

“No.”

I carefully opened the lid. Inside were some stacks of $100 bills and a small, black leather book with Frank L. Irvin embossed in small gold letters on the front. For a few minutes, I just sat there holding the book and thinking about my Dad. I sniffed back some tears and opened the book to the first page. It read:

Page the First

Rules

Start with the first entry and do each entry in order. Do Not Read Ahead.

Use the $20,000 in the box for all your travel expenses.

Keep a journal of your travel.

Spend at least 3 days at each place. You are expected.

Always remember, we love you.

Love Mom and Dad

I turned the page and read the first entry of the book.

Mr. and Mrs. Donald E. Apple, Jr.

416 Annalue Drive

Auburn, Alabama

Tell them that Frank and Daisy said hello.

Looking at Uncle Jack, I said, “I guess I’m going to Auburn, Alabama.”

With the $20,000 deposited in a bank account with a VISA debit card, I was ready to pack a suitcase and head to Alabama. This would be the first stop on what was the beginning of the best time in my life.

family
Like

About the Creator

Christina Grim

I started my career as a staff reporter for my hometown newspaper before I had even graduated from college. I have a BA in Mass Communications/Journalism/RTF from a small liberal arts college. Since I am a night owl, writing is my outlet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.