Humans logo

Trading a Gift Goat

How I Fell In Love With These Cards

By Mike OwczarekPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I’ve never been into trading cards until I came across VeeFriends.

VeeFriends is an intellectual property by Gary Vaynerchuk which helps Gary spread all the characteristics, traits, and messages that he believes in through characters created in this VeeFriends family.

There are many aspects to this project and one of them is the Trade and Compete Trading Card collection. There are 268 characters in this collection, and they have different levels of rarities. In total, there are over 2,000,000 cards!

So, I was able to receive a box of these cards and each box contains 52 cards (13 x 4 packs). Before I even got the cards, I was already excited and could see how exciting it would be to open up these cards.

As the weeks passed by, I got to see fellow VeeFriends open up packs on Twitter and social media and sharing all the cards that they cherished. Then I start seeing on eBay some of the prices that these cards are going for.. which were even in the thousands+.

Finally, my package arrived, and I couldn’t wait to open up these cards. I get to opening them hoping that there are some characters I really enjoy and/or resonate with. After about the third or fourth pack, I strike it big! I get a Gift Goat!

Now if you are unfamiliar with this project, there are only 555 Gift Goats out of the whole collection. So, I knew right away that this was a very valuable pull. As I opened a few more packs, there were some other cards that spoke to me and I enjoyed, and I even got two more rares, ‘Content’ Condor and Gutsy Gecko.

I was thrilled!!

In the back of my mind though, I knew I needed some cash and even though I didn’t want to let go of this Gift Goat, I felt like it was the right move to do.

So, I proceeded to list it on eBay. Yes, I listed it for an ambitious amount of $5,555 in a tip of the hat to Gary and his love for the number, 5.

It was selling for that, and I knew I was really throwing it out there. I lowered it to a more realistic, $2,500, and even in the back of my mind, I knew there was a good chance I would lower it significantly from that, but I figured I’d try.

I was starting to get offers for $555 which totally made sense because the cards that sold before mine seemed to sell for around that price too. Then I lowered it finally to $1,250 and had someone giving me a great offer. Even more so than the offer, I was liking his vibe.

I asked him to up it a little which he did and then I decided let’s meet at a coffee shop in the middle between us since we both live in New Jersey. We made plans on where and were ready to meet.

I then raised the price just so someone wouldn’t snag it in the meantime, and if they did, they would pay a much higher price. When I did that, I got a higher offer than what I was selling it for, but I still wanted to meet up and see what we can do.

I showed up at the coffee spot and instantly knew, let’s do this. This is the right deal. I showed him the card and exchanged the money.

Then after that it was so much more. We went on talking for hours! Talking about our VeeFriends experiences, sharing ideas, and simply life. We even traded a few more cards because it simply felt right!

We both were so happy that we made it happen to meet up and now I’m even more bullish on these trading cards. One, because I do believe in the value and vision. But two, and even more so, I believe in these kinds of moments and the community that is being built.

Truly amazing to be able to meet up with a stranger, trade some cards, and become great friends.

Here is to the cards I picked up and being decisive this week while understanding the micro/macro of any situation you’re in. Even if you are the last glass standing, continue to be thoughtful and innovate!

Cheers!

artfriendshiphumanity
Like

About the Creator

Mike Owczarek

The freer the pen, the better the read.

Poetry, Articles, Blogs, Journal

Fitness | Mindset | Journey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.