Humans logo

Top 9 Things Every Tall Girl Can Relate To

5'10"+ only please

By Mariah CruisePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Top 9 Things Every Tall Girl Can Relate To
Photo by Tetiana SHYSHKINA on Unsplash

Where my tall girls at? I'm right at 6' and have been since I was 15. Existing as a tall woman/girl is an interesting experience. I know a lot of women don't like being tall for one reason or another, but I quite enjoy it. However, we've all had similar experiences when it comes to being tall. Here are some of the most common:

9. You notice others height

You might be walking around the store or a new person starts at your job and the first thing you notice is how tall they are. I distinctly remember having a conversation with my sister once where she was describing someone to me and she said, "He's short." My response was, "Short to us or short to normal people?"

8. You get extra attention because you're tall

Ever been in public and had people stare at you just for entering the room? I have. It's weird. If you're short and you're reading this, please don't stare. If the person was very short would you stare? No, because that would be rude.

7. Finding clothes that fit

First, most brands don't have longs and if they do, it's meant for girls who are 5'8"-5'10". Second, can we talk about why the longs are always on the bottom shelf? Put the longs on the top shelf and the shorts on the bottom self. Short girls, help me out here. It can benefit all of us. Don't even get me started on sleeve length. If I wanted to wear a 3/4 sleeve shirt, I would buy one. I don't want to have to buy a large shirt to get the correct sleeve length when the rest of me isn't a large. Dresses deserve a whole article on their own.

6. Finding other tall girls

Currently, I know two girls who are close to me in height, but when I see one in public, something inside me wants to become friends with them. So, if any of you are tall and want to be friends, hit me up!

5. Unintended intimidation

I cannot tell you how many people I've had told me that they were afraid of me before they knew me. I think this one is partly because I'm 6', but, and this one is personal, I have a pretty bad RBF. But I can guarnetee you, some of them were put off by my height first. Every tall person I have met has been so nice. All of the mean people I know are small. Maybe all their anger is just bottled up in a smaller space or they're mad that they're small. The point is, don't be scared of tall people, we're nice!

4. Volleyball or basketball?

If you haven't been asked this question, are you even tall? (It's basketball, by the way).

3. Unsolicited comments on your height

This kind of goes back to the extra attention thing. How are you supposed to respond to the comment, "Wow, you're tall!" Am I supposed to say thank you? I can't say, "Wow, you're short!" That's rude. Again, would you ask a short person how tall they are or comment on their height, or ask them to get something off the bottom shelf for you? No. You wouldn't. Tall people (men and women), especially those who are exceptionally tall, get asked all the time how tall they are. It's annoying. Side note: I will get something off the top shelf if you ask nicely and do not make a comment on how tall I am.

2. No short guys

Ladies, you know what I mean. Some of you have lower standards and that's great! But, the taller the better in my opinion. My personal preference is 6'5"+.

1. Wasted space frustration

Tall guy+ short girl=me, frustrated. Obviously, all men and boys have every right to have preferences as well, but, man is it hard to see a guy who is 6'+ with a wife or girlfriend that is well below 5'8". Think about your back, man!

All of this is in good fun, meant to educate those who aren't tall and to let those who are know you're not alone! Also, the weather is great up here, thanks for asking.

humor

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mariah CruiseWritten by Mariah Cruise

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.