Humans logo

Too Much Girl Interview: Helena Logah

Violinist

By Rachel LightfootPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Helena Logah

I’m a working-class poet with a creative dream, and in 2018 I wrote a poem called ‘Too Much Girl’ (you can read all of it here.)

Too much of a woman.

Too much of a girl.

Too far from reality.

Too extensive to furl.

"Be small" they insist...

Have you ever been told your dream is impossible, unrealistic, or simply just TOO MUCH? Have you ever been told you’re too much woman, or too much girl? Too this? Too that? Too the other? Then you’re a Too Much Girl and I want you to know that I love you SO MUCH for it!

Embrace your 'too much-ness',

be 'too much', much more...

I decided to reach out to some other Too Much Girl’s and ask them to share their stories with me. I hope you find these stories encouraging and inspiring and I hope they help you along your journey in this world. You are not alone and I want to bring your awareness to that through these interviews.

Today I’m speaking to professional violinist Helena, at only 24 Helena has achieved so much and has smashed down the barriers of perceived ‘too much’ limitations. From being told a little working-class girl could not do it, to sharing the stage with Liam Gallagher, Little Mix and the Sugababes. Helena has shown just exactly how ‘too much’ that little girl can grow up to be. #TooMuchGirl

Artwork by Sailor Broo

Perhaps the thing to stand out the most here for me, in terms of restriction, is the fact that Helena was told her ‘background’ would prevent her from becoming a professional musician. Excuse me if I’m wrong, but how does your class effect your ability to play a musical instrument? Answer: it doesn’t as Helena has proved. Read on to find out more...

What do you love the most about what you do?

I love communicating through music. Playing violin is my way of expressing emotions that are hard to describe in words. I also love connecting to audiences by playing music, and connecting with the musicians I perform with to create something special that I would never be able to create on my own.

What are some of the ways you have you been told you’re a ‘Too Much Girl’?

When I was 16 and decided that I wanted to audition for Music College, I was told by my school music teacher that somebody with my background would struggle to become a professional musician. I worked so hard to prove him wrong and was shocked myself when I gained a place at the Royal Northern College of Music.

What are some of the ways you have embraced being a ‘Too Much Girl’?

That feeling of not being good enough has stuck with me since then, but now I am 24 years old and I earn a living from being a professional musician, so in a way, that situation fuelled my motivation to prove him wrong, and to also prove that as a girl from a single-parent/working class/state school background can succeed in an industry that is mainly made up of middle class/white/men.

Helena Logah

How do you stay motivated when the chips are down?

I rarely feel unmotivated because I love what I do, but when this happens, it’s usually because I’ve overworked myself. I take a day or two off playing music and focus on self-care, exercise, eating nice food and spending time with the people I love. After a day or two without music, there becomes a point where I start to miss it, and the motivation comes flowing back! Sometimes taking a step back is what you need to move forward.

What are some of your biggest achievements to date?

Surviving music college and gaining a first-class degree will always feel like a big achievement for me! In my professional life, I’ve performed with Liam Gallagher, Little Mix and the Sugababes on TV. In concert I have played with Craig David, Paloma Faith, Blossoms, Emile Sande and many more. I also play in the Chineke! Orchestra, a Classical Orchestra which promotes diversity in the UK. I also have created my own track fusing Bach with hip hop, which has been so much fun!

What do you hope to achieve in the future?

I have many goals in my musical career for different stages in my life. Soon, I would love to tour with some major artists (once touring is allowed again!). In ten years’, time I hope to gain a place in one of the UK’s professional orchestras. My general musical life goal is to have a lifelong career of making music whilst always enjoying it, and to inspire others.

Are YOU a Too Much Girl? Let us know your ‘Too Much Experiences’ by sharing your stories on social media by using the hashtag #TooMuchGirl

Want to show the world you are a Too Much Girl? Check this out!

interview
1

About the Creator

Rachel Lightfoot

I like to play with words.

Poems, mostly.

https://rachellightfoot.wixsite.com/my-site

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.