Humans logo

To My Bestie

love ya

By Leigh HooperPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
When in Rome..

Best friend,

Thank you for being my best friend. I know other best friends have come and gone, but you’ll always be my one and only true best friend. After knowing each other since we were 3, I think you earned that title well and proper.

She’s basically part of the family

It goes without saying that we’ve been through it all: primary school, secondary school, having a crush on the same guy, having different crushes and planning “double dates”, stupid teenage fights, coming back together because we always will, first loves, heartbreaks, exam stress, life stress... the list is endless.

We’ve been best friends for as long as I can remember and Kait really taught me the meaning of “friend”.

Over our school years together I collected a list of memories that I often look back upon. To those of you who don’t know Kait and I, you’ll have no idea what’s going on. But let me enlighten you on just a small piece of this cake that I call Friendship:

- “Bon Hobo” & “incestigaton”. Hands down the funniest typos I’ve ever experienced in my life; I will treasure the jokes we made about them forever.

- Barry the motivational snake, who helped us get through our GCSEs

- The card made of bus tickets backs, that I always gave to her as a “present”

- I once got told off by a teacher for throwing a pen at her, baring in mind she caught it safely, even though the teacher INSISTED I could have hit her in the eye

Over lockdown, we simply haven’t seen each other enough. Working full time and being an Adult is just so unfair because I get to see my best friend way less. When we do see each other it’s for socially distanced walks, or a distanced catch up with a cup of tea. With having to stay 2 metres a part it’s made me realise how much I love hugging my best friend, and not being able to do so SUCKS!

I hope when lockdown ends, we’ll be a lot closer. We always joke about having children and the same time, and our kids must be best friends and watch Scooby-Doo together, just like we did. And I really hope that happens! I want to be best friends till we’re old and grey and can no longer have the stress of growing long hair, then cutting it, then growing it... we’ll just have short old person hair and it will be so much easier!

On a serious note, Kait you’re remarkable. And I simply do not tell you enough. A shoulder to cry on, a sister I’ve never had. Life without you would be a very difficult one, my friend. I don’t thank you enough for everything you have done and still do for me. You listen to all my sad rants, you cheer me on when I tell you about my writing, you watch films with me when there’s nothing else to do, you drive me around like a miniature taxi driver, you have fangirled with me so much that you made me comfortable in my nerdy skin. You know more about me than anyone else, and I thank you for never being judgemental of who I am or what I’ve done. You’re a rock, and a star, and everything in between.

I’ve always been worried every time when we’ve been apart, when we started secondary, when you went to a different college and when you went to uni, that after so many years of being by each other’s side that you would get a new best friend and I’d be replaced. I couldn’t care about boyfriends who come and go, because if we were to go separate ways that is the heartbreak that would hurt the most. But, I know I’ve always got you the same way you’ll always have me. And that, ladies and gents, is a best friend.

friendship
1

About the Creator

Leigh Hooper

A writer in her twenties with a head full of ideas and a room full of books✨

My Instagram handle is: @leighooper

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.