Humans logo

To Friendship. And Friday Nights.

Sometimes all you need is a friend and a diner.

By Kaelin PrigerPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1
To Friendship. And Friday Nights.
Photo by Lee Cartledge on Unsplash

She sat down hard. Ouch. The hard wooden booth seat cut into the back of her legs, the edges scratched and rough from years of angsty young professional women crashing onto them after particularly unsuccessful first dates.

Meg looked across the table, one eyebrow looking misplaced above the other. "You really shouldn't be so surprised at this point."

"I know, I just always expect this one to be different. And then it isn't, and then I just think - well, then maybe just one more. Ugh."

"Well, if you just listened to me and decided to give up hope, it could all get better. No more guys who are more interested in texting you then speaking to your face. No more snobs who think you'll be impressed by their Vineyard Vines polos. No more...what was this one?"

Sarah screwed up her eyes. "Wanted to sit and see how high his 'touching her to actual conversational words' ratio could get. I'm not sure if he said even one interesting thing, but his hands sure were looking for something."

"Gross. That's definitely worse than the last one."

"Yeah, the last one wasn't too bad. I don't know, I just want to find someone who I actually want to hang out with and who doesn't want to just sleep with me. Is that too much to ask?"

"Yes, it doesn't exist."

"Megggg!"

"Sorry, honey, I keep thinking you'll listen."

"Well, what am I supposed to do?"

"Well, right now, you need to order some of this all-day breakfast up in this joint."

Sarah sighed. At least this was something steady and reliable in her life.

Meg was a night owl, so Sarah knew that she'd always pick up the phone. It had become their ritual: after surviving another first date with someone she had found on an app and liked for their right profile shot standing in front of a sunset, Sarah would pick up the phone, call Meg, utter just a few words (usually along the lines of "why can't my life suck just a bit less??") and then they'd meet at the 24/7 diner on 5th and Henry. Nothing like sizzling grills and late night caffeine to help discuss the latest failure.

"Wait, so, I feel like we've been here a lot lately. Have you had a single Friday without a date this month?"

"No. I just can't deal with having a Friday night without one, I guess. Even if they are crap."

Meg sat back. "What are you scared of?"

"Being alone."

"But wouldn't it be better to be alone and be happy than to keep trying to find someone else to make you happy?"

"Preach it, sista. How in the world am I supposed to spend a Friday night by myself being happy, huh?" Immediately as the words slipped out, Sarah sucked in her breath. She noticed Meg's shoulders fall just a tiny bit.

"Do you really think that my life is that awful?"

"No. I just think that somehow you have figured out how to be happy with the way your life is, and that's something I can't seem to figure out."

"Have you tried?"

"Nope."

"Ok. What would you have done tonight if you had not had a date?"

"Probably watched a chick flick and cried like Bridget Jones."

"Ok, let's try a different tactic. What kinds of things do you wish you had a guy to treat you to? Like, if he knew you had had a hard day, and he brought you a present, what would you wish it to be?"

Sarah traced the outline of coffee stains on the table while she thought.

"Well, chocolate, for starters. And maybe one of those lovely bath bombs from that natural store down on Fosters. Gosh, those smell so good when I walk past, mmm."

"Why don't you buy one for yourself?"

Sarah's eyes widened. "Because they are like $7 a pop, that's why? What kind of money do you think I have?"

"At least $7 in your spending account. Come on girl, $7 isn't a ton. Get yourself one of those, and a nice bar of chocolate, and for about $10 you can have your own dream night in. Dang girl, you cheap." Sarah cocked her head to one side, but then got distracted because their plates of pancakes arrived. Meg laughed. "Tony, you remembered our order!"

"Sure thing, ladies, can't let you break your streak." They giggled and picked up their forks and fought over the syrup. Sarah won.

"Ok, maybe you are right. I could treat myself. Maybe I could actually have a fun Friday night by myself."

"And there's other things you could do too. Like taking a sushi-making class down at the Whole Foods. I'd come along for that. Or finally join that book club you've been talking about for so long, because now you'd have time to read instead of just reading Tinder profiles. Your finger must be so tired, honey, let me get you some ice for that."

"Haha. Ok, you've got a point. Maybe I'll take a break this week and focus on something else instead of trying to line up a new guy. That book club did look fun."

"Good girl. You'll thank me. There's more to life than trying to find a man to 'complete' you, whatever that means."

Sarah smiled and stuffed more pancake into her mouth. In between chews, she had a thought, though.

"Does that mean that we don't come here any more?"

"Nah, we still need this. We don't need no excuse for this."

Sarah raised her coffee mug.

"To friendship."

"And Friday nights."

friendship
1

About the Creator

Kaelin Priger

Nomad at heart. Book lover. Advocate for refugees. Poetry writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.