Humans logo

Tis the season to give!

If you can afford it :(

By Eric SykesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Yes, tis the season to give! Or really the season of, 'how broke do I want to be after the Christmas of the not so great year of 2020?' Who gets what, who gets nothing, how much, or how little? Now I am a pretty frugal man, but this year Scrooge has nothing on me!

I went through my fairly short list of recipients and I felt pretty much done. Then I thought of one more person. Should I include her or not? I haven't seen her much lately, but she is very special to me.

Technically, she is an old friend of the family. She owned a music store near us when I was 13 and my mom bought my first guitar from her. I took lessons for a few years at her shop and we kept in touch once I moved and went on to music college. Once I graduated she offered me a teaching position, which I jumped at! I made a bulk of my living there for over 20 year. It allowed me to buy a house and raise a family, so to say I owe her is the biggest understatement I could type!

Not to mention she gives a tremendous amount to others and has continued to give a tremendous amount to me over the last 30 years. And, I know for a fact her and her small business are having a very hard time right now. Without question I need to include her!

I write out the card, put a $20 spot in there, put it in the envelope, and set it aside. So then yesterday, 12-18-2020 to be exact, I needed to go to her store to pick up some boxes I had delivered there. I get ready, grab the card, and I'm out the door. But wait! My mind is delaying my travel. Had I given her enough money? I am very perplexed with this thought. I'm not sure why? I had already decided it was going to be a very lean Christmas this year, so?

I really don't have a lot to give, but she could use it. I decide its enough and started to head her way. I actually got in my car and was driving, but stopped and turned around. I sat with the engine running for a bit contemplating. It just wasn't enough. So, I take the card back inside to remedy the situation. Luckily I just folded the envelope closed and didn't lick it. I'm not sticking my tongue on anything nowadays.

By Mona Eendra on Unsplash

I thought about the amount. Struggled with the amount! How much, how much? I finally just used the nice round number of $100. I knew she would appreciate any amount from me regardless. Just the card would be enough, but she deserves the best. So, I once again drove to get my stuff, secretly dropped the card on her computer keyboard, wished her a Merry Christmas, and left.

I felt good. I had done the right thing. I didn't need the praise or recognition. I just wanted to feel good about my decision, and I did. Half hour later or so I got the, 'Thank you! That was very generous' text. And I assume there were probably some tears in her eyes. I know how she is and I had seen them before.

And what do you know, today I see this writers challenge on Vocal. An opportunity to practice my writing, tell a true story that literally happened the day before this writing, and a chance to win some money. Which will really help me out in these challenging times. But regardless of the outcome, I did what I did out of the kindness of my heart, which I don't always find, and I didn't know about the challenge yesterday so... karma? Do you believe? I was proud of myself. Maybe I made someone's Christmas a bit more merry.

Merry Christmas to all. And to all, good writing.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Eric Sykes

I love writing. Short stories, films, music, journaling my dreams, etc. Time for changes in my life and I hope Vocal and you can help. Retired due to Covid, but it at least lead me here. I hope to connect with a lot of you soon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.