Humans logo

The Jew and the Nazi

It could happen? :)

By Eric SykesPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

It's a cold morning on a so-called 'tropical' beach. The wind blows through the palm trees as the low tide rolls back and forth making the sand moist. The world is in the midst of the horrifying World War II.

A uniformed German soldier lies facedown on the beach. The ocean continues to run across his body until he regains full consciousness. Injured and disoriented, he gets to his feet and looks around. He puts his hand to his eyes to block the bright sun and stumbles his way to the shade. He sits and goes through his pockets for supplies and anything else useful.

As he does this, he sees another soldier several kilometers away. Still groggy, but excited, he makes his way over. The closer he gets he notices the difference in uniforms. He pauses and contemplates. Since neither one of them had firearms he decides it's ok to proceed.

Standing over the now obvious Polish soldier, he nudges the limp body with his foot a few times with no response. Assuming he is dead he kneels down to rummage through his pockets.

The Polish soldier awakens startled! Out of instinct, he grabs the German and throughs him to the side. They scuffle for a few minutes. Out of breath and exhausted, they finally give up on the confrontation.

The German soldier speaks in his native tongue. The Polish soldier replies, 'I don't speak German.' The German, 'We'll that is convenient because I don't speak Pollock!' The Polish soldier lies still breathing heavily with no response.

German, 'Any idea where we are?'

Pollock, 'How should I know?' Silence.

Pollock, 'I suppose I should ask you your name.'

German, 'Conrad.' More silence.

Pollock, 'Aren't you going to ask mine?'

Conrad, 'Not if you're a Jew!'

The Pollock sits up. 'Well, it's Asher.'

Conrad, 'A sheer?'

No, 'A S H E R! Pronounced Asher'

Conrad, 'I will just call you Jew.' He gets up and walks back to the shade. Disgruntled, Asher follows him. They sit in silence.

Asher, 'This is not good.'

Conrad, 'No it's not. How are your survival skill?'

Asher, 'Pretty good.' He pulls out a knife. Conrad jumps up in defensive mode.

Asher, 'Really? Sit back down.' Conrad abides.

Asher, 'Why would I kill you? We need each other.'

Conrad, 'I don't need you!' He waves his hand.

Waving his knife, Asher says, 'So you know how to make a fire? You know how to build a shelter and find food?'

Conrad pauses, 'I can figure it out.'

Asher, 'No you can't. My family has had to survive our whole lives. You don't learn it overnight.'

Conrad, 'Ok Jew, what do we do first?'

Asher, 'How about you say my name right?' He brushes some sand his way.

Conrad laughs.

Asher, 'Why don't you find us some dry wood for a fire.' He gets up and looks around.

Conrad, reluctant, but wet and hungry, complies.

Hours pass. The night is lit by the full moon and the fire they sit in front of. They sit in silence under a meager shelter after a long day of pilgrimaging and exploring the area.

Asher, 'We are quite lucky. Fresh water is nearby. Plenty of foliage which means lots of game. I can set some traps in the morning.'

Conrad, 'If you say so. How did you learn all of this?'

Asher, 'My father. You always have to learn to survive when you're Jewish. Even in Poland.' Conrad nods his head.

Conrad, 'You know they probably won't find us.'

Asher, 'I know.' Silence.

Asher, 'I can't believe we actually survived. What are the odds that two soldiers on opposing sides get shot down, wash up on the same beach, and live to tell about it.'

Conrad, ' I'm sure we are the first.' They laugh.

Conrad, 'What are the odds that we shot down each other?' They laugh some more. They pause for a bit.

Conrad, 'I need to say thank you. You were right. I couldn't have figured this out on my own.'

Asher, 'I know. And you're welcome. Conrad gives him a smirk.

Asher, 'Time to sleep. We will have a lot to do tomorrow.' They both lay back in silence.

Asher, 'Goodnight Conrad.'

Conrad, 'Goodnight, Asher.'

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Eric Sykes

I love writing. Short stories, films, music, journaling my dreams, etc. Time for changes in my life and I hope Vocal and you can help. Retired due to Covid, but it at least lead me here. I hope to connect with a lot of you soon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Wow! Such a great story!! I love the perspective and narrative you chose. It was super engaging and an amazing read!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.