Humans logo

Through My Eyes

Life as I see fit

By Jabari Tuggles Published 2 years ago 11 min read
Like

Got A lot on my mind just needing to vent. Sorry not sorry to all those that don't may feel some type of way about what I say. It's my story and I'm sticking to it, lol.

I see the world for what it is, you learn more that way in my opinion. It can be good, bad and sometime ugly. But I'm funny as hell, I do some of the dumbest things ever. I must start by saying I do Believe that if there were more people like me this world would be a whole other place. I know every American is taught to follow the law and listen to the government. Out of fear of what they might do or them taking you to jail. I never feared that as a kid. My parents taught me when I get grown and get on my own. I make my own rules and do what I want. Thats how I live my everyday life do what I want, when I want, how I want. Can't nobody on the planet tell me otherwise without it being a problem. I grew up fighting been fighting all my life. So, it's natural to me in those situations when things are heated. I have that mentally to never back down. It's a blessing and a curse at the same time.

I had this incident on day with a cop that drew is weapon on me for no reason. Say I fit the description of a guy that robber an ice cream store. He yelled at me and my buddy to get on the ground. My buddy instantly got on the ground while I stayed standing. the officer yelled again "get on the ground' I told him no I wasn't getting on the ground and to get his gun out my face." My buddy yelled at me "just get on the ground," I told him too I ain't getting on nothing, He got me messed up. I aint do nothing and I ain't bout to let him treat me like I did something." The officer yelled at me and again " sur get on the ground or ill shoot." I told him shoot, because we both gonna die. So if you ready be my guess," Luckily at the exact time my pops pulled up coming from the Walmart next to us. Seeing me and my buddy being harassed by the officer rushed over. "what's going on? that's my son." he asked the officer. the officer told him he got a report and I fit the description of a person that rob the ice cream store. We had on the same cloths. Unless that person drives all the way to New York to get his cloths then that would be unlike that we had on the same thing. My pops then explains I just got done talking to him at Walmart we are both on camera through out Walmart during the time of the robbery make it make since. We all waited for back up to come and verify the story. The officer apologized and we went our way. People think when I see or hear police I'm supposed to be scared or something. No offence to the people killed by police brutality but I ain't those people. I fight for what I believe in and I will never let nobody treat me wrong when I'm in the right.

The officer could have shoot me and or tried to arrest me but we was going to fight if he had put his hands on me. But he didn't the situation never got that far to get that stupid. I am very big on the Declaration of Independents with I live my life based off certain parts. Not the whole thing because some of it is just plain bull crap.

I remember I went to court on my 7th driving on suspended license. I was on probation and court super vision in two other counties. I get in front of the judge and she ask me " sir, what part of you can't drive its against the law don't you understand?" mind you I'm full blown ignorant, I get to smiling in my head like this really had the nerve to ask me this she just don't know. She bout to find out those fosho, fosho. I looked at her with a confessed look on my face and ask " can I ask you a question?" she said sure. "Did the law pay for my car? do the law pay my bills? do the law keep a roof over my head and food in my stomach? Do the law make sure I get to and from work everyday? If the answer is no to any of the following question then F what you talking about. I grown man can't nobody tell me what to do with my own things that I work hard for and pay for. I ain't out here trying to rob or kill anybody, Nor putting peoples lives in danger while driving I'm minding my own business. I wake up go to work just like you. I'm just trying to live my life in the best that I can live it.

Guards exited the court room holding back laugher as the judge leaned back in her chair thinking about what I said. I was pretty certain I most defiantly was going to jail at that point. Screw it if I did, I ain't letting nobody come at me crazy. Ima grown man respect me like how you want me to respect you. The judge leaned forward your already on count super vision so I can't give you court super vision. but I'm going to give you court super vision. Which was surprising to everybody I surly thought I was going to jail for sure. We as people get this belief that the law is always right. When in fact it really isn't, no I'm not saying overthrow the government of screw the law. I'm saying we get so caught up in what we made up verses what truly matters most. I honestly believe that driving should not be considered a privilege when people work hard, go into debt to pay for a vehicle just to be told they can't drive it. I know I'm not putting up with it as a person I don't care what others do I'm not doing it. If we are going about our business not putting people's lives in danger, then what's the problem?

I got pulled over one day driving on suspended. I was coming from work minding my own business. I wasn't speeding or anything when this cop got behind me. I drove like normal four to five miles over the speed limit like normal. when he gets in the next lane and pulls next to me. We looked at each other and he slowed down getting back behind me turning on his lights. I pulled into a parking lot. the cop came to the window and asked for my license. I asked why I was been pulled over. He wouldn't give and answer. I asked to speak with the Sergent. He came minutes later and asked the same thing. This when things got a little heated, he said, I was pulled over for the crack in my windshield. Mind you it's 10pm, so I asked was his camera vest on and recording he replied yes. Then I said, there aint no way in hell, you can tell me you seen a cracked windshield from behind me at night. Holla at me when you get your mind right and rolled my window up. I waited about 5 minutes before cracking it just enough that we could hear each other. I said now I'm going to ask again sur what am I being pulled over for? I ain't got time for the games I will drive off you. putting my hand on the shifter letting him know I'm serious about what I say. He looks at me and says, " we don't need a reason to pull you over." " And where do it say that?" I replied. " It's the law." he said " Ok, then show me." " come to the station and I will." he said " negative batman, see how its three of yall its easy for one to go get me a law book. You got a smart phone pull it up." he was pissed at this point. I honestly didn't care at all. He put his hand on his gun. " Why you putting your hand on your gun?" I asked. " For my safety" he replied. " For your safe, do you see me with a gun?" I asked. " No, but I don't know if you have a weapon or not." he said

Now sur I can assure you I don't have a gun." I replied. " And how am I supposed to know that?" he asked. " I can see you and your colleges gun, right?" "yea" "I see you have your hand on your gun, right?" " yea" " Ok then sur just like I can see your gun and you have your hand on it for your safety. I'm a black male first and for most I don't trust nothing. I would have my hand on my gun visible for you to see it. If you want to get on that then we gonna get on that."

I can tell my sarcastic common sense made I'm feel some type of way so says, " look you're going to either get out the car or I'm going to break the window and snatch you out the car." I laughed at him "sur I would love to see you do that. Think I'm one of them, In the words of my momma you break my window Ima break yo a**." Still Laughing I grabbed a black & mild from my pocket and lite it. " Look sur, we can do this the easy way or the hard way choice is yours. You got Five seconds to tell me what I want to hear or I'm driving off. I'm not playing these rabbit games with you. I'm tired just getting off work." the Sergent looks at me and says "Listen sur, you're not going to jail, I just want you to come to the station. Then you'll be on your way. I promise you. It's cold out here and I'm sick of standing. I'll show you the law book when we get there." After a second of debating, it over in my head I looked at him and said "sure. Since you put it like that." I stepped out my car getting my jacket. The office looks at me and says, "So what you're going to go to war with the whole police department?" "Only if the whole department wants to go to war with me, It is what it is." I replied.

We got to the station they ran my fingerprints because I wouldn't tell them my name. The Sergent walks into his office for a short second before stepping backout with the law book. "Right here," he said turning the book so i can see it. I did in fact say the police can pull you over with out reason. I did not know that. "Now you see" he said aggerated "yeah, you were right, may bad its some bs though." I said. "driving is a privilege not a right" he said. "Thats the problem, driving is a right. Who is anybody to tell anybody they can't drive the car they pay for on roads their tax money go to fix. That's high obscured. It's one thing if I was driving reckless putting people's lives in danger. But for just to make people's lives harder for no reason sur honestly morally you got the game messed up. I only here to fix it the I call out all injustice where it stands as stated in the Declaration of Independents. I understand your doing your job but you're doing your job wrong. You're out here trying to pull people over for trying to put food on their table when people are being killed. You're job is to protect the people on ruin the peoples lives. Just because it law don't make it right sur."

Silence swept the room as both officers processed everything I said. "You need a ride?" the officer ask me. "Yeah, I apricate it." I replied. It was a crazy night I'm not saying do what I do. Moral of the story we all have a part to play in life. When we play that part life gets better for all.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.