Fiction logo

Beyond The Valley

A tale to remember

By Jabari Tuggles Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

“There weren't always dragons in the Valley.”

“There wasn’t always a valley either. But yet here we are.”

“And where exactly is here? and where’s jack?”

“Who knows, we’ll worry about him later right now we need to get out the open. Make camp and figure what’s going on, let alone where we are. Loud groans came from the tree line behind them. Everybody turned around drawing their weapons as a shadow of a person came into view.

“Stop right there or I’ll shoot”

“Hold your fire, it’s me you idiots”

Jack grabbed the tree next to him, using it as a brace as he catches his breath for a second. Before limping forward.

“Jack is that you. What happen to you?

“Same thing that’s about to happen to you, if we don’t get to getting up out of here.”

“Are those bite marks?”

Jack limped over to the fallen tree and braced himself against it. easing the pain from his leg. I can’t remember what happen exactly, I just remember we were all walking when we heard that loud bang. Next thing I know I'm up in the woods. Surround by a small village that looked like the aftermath a of nuke. I'm still trying to get my bearing together, when a flying lizard looking bastard come out of nowhere thinking I was a snack. We went at it for a hot minute, it got the best of me at first, then I finally managed to kill the little bastard. Got myself together and started walking. After hearing sounds of gun shots being fired. If it wasn't for the shots, I was about to call it a night in that village. Then I almost got ate by a freaking plant right after that. I swear these woods are filled with a bunch of deadly little critters."

“A plant? So, you telling me it’s not only dragons, its flying lizards and man eating plants too. Who knows what else is out there. Yea screw this, I’m out.”

And where you going to go? we don’t even know where we are. Let think about this.”

“We might mess around and go heaven if we stick around here. I ain’t ready yet.”

“Good point let’s move. Cause I ain’t got the fight in me to face another one of those bastards at the moment let alone a plane they the worse.”

The walk through the forest was hectic. Thick mist blanked the forest growing even thicker as the sunlight faded. Making it harder to see as they moved on. Silhouettes danced off the light of the fading sun as loud screeks came from the distance. “Yea it’s about that time we call it quits and made camp, I ain’t going to lie this place starting to creep me out.” “Yeah, I feel you starting to feel like one of them twisted horror films. Plus I am getting tired of all this walking. Feels like we’ve walked over one hundred miles already.” “Yeah, you do that Ima keep it moving. Bad leg or not, I ain’t sticking around to be the next meal for another one of those bastards. I can barely see you and you in front of me let alone one of them, I’m good.”

“Good point, while y’all doing that Ima go climb this tree over here and see if I can get a idea of where we at. It might get clear at the top.”

The tree was enormous it was like climbing a mountain. Like the huge tree you only see in pictures or hear stories about. As he drew closer to the top, he noticed a huge object at the top of the tree. What looked like a bird’s nest. Stopping him dead in his tracks. He was to far up to turn back. He slowed his pace trying to be as quiet as possible. Not to grab the attention of anything that might be lurking in the nest. The nest was made from huge branch almost like logs. Like it was constructing a log cabin, what ever live in was huge. Slowly climbing up to the top he could hear heavy breathing that made him extremely nervous. As he peeked over the top. “Nope,” was the only thing going through his minds. Struck with disbelief, extreme terror paralyzed his body, he couldn't believe what his eyes glazed upon.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.