Humans logo

Those Eyes

The Experience of a Lifetime

By BlackbirdPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Those Eyes
Photo by Frida Bredesen on Unsplash

It was late one night when I encountered something I would not believe to have seen in my lifetime. I was walking out to the car when I heard a sound coming from my right. In a tree not very far from me was two eyes staring back at me. It made a sound that I have only heard in movies.

Having spent most of my time in the city and rarely have I ever been in the country, my urban mind could not believe that I would be seeing what I was seeing. I was already running late to my night plans but I could not help myself. The curiosity was too much to pass, I could just barely make out its form through the darkness.

My gaze was set on this magnificent creature, which was no more than a barn owl. When I approached the tree to get a better look, it began to screech and flare its wings. The noise was so loud which alerted my neighbors, who too was interested in seeing such a sight. Before long there was a crowd gathered around the tree and to everyone's surprise the owl did not move from its perch.

The local children were so excited and the elderly could not remember ever seeing a creature like that, that far from home. Pictures were taken and the flashes had started the screeching again. It was at this moment I noticed that it was the first time in a very long time that I had seen many of my neighbors. This brief moment gave us the one opportunity to come together, what a pleasant surprise.

Someone had called the local animal control and as they pulled up the crowd started to disperse. Two individuals in uniform exited the vehicle and observed the owl from a distance before gathering some gear from the back of their truck. As one approached from one side with a ladder and netting. The other came around from the rear as to distract it, before you knew it they had successfully removed the creature from the branch. Everyone cheered to see the owl safely removed from the tree.

The animal control staff place the owl in a cage and then placed it in the rear of their truck. One of my neighbors had stopped one of the workers to see what was to become of the owl. They simply just replied that once the animal is looked after, that it would probably most likely be taken to somewhere just outside the city limits to be safely release into the wild.

Once the truck left the area, the local children continued to play in the street and the elderly stayed out with them to discuss and share other strange events from their pasts. Despite the excitement and the commotion that occurred as soon as the discovery of the owl, it was nice to see all the many faces come out to enjoy the night air. A much needed jump start to what lye ahead this summer.

I had forgotten that I was heading out for the night but it did not seem to matter anymore. It was more important to reconnect with the neighbors and to see the faces tell their stories. To watch the kids playout the movement and sounds of the owl only brought a smile to my face. It was something I have missed growing up with my grandparents, sitting outside drinking lemonade as an escape from the heat in the night air.

My plans for the night could not compare, but what an experience to say the lest but for that brief moment it was just him, me and those eyes.

humanity

About the Creator

Blackbird

Survivor, Fighter & Dreamer...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    BlackbirdWritten by Blackbird

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.