Humans logo

This is who

I am...

By Mel NewmanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I am…

I am sitting here right now watching Storm Ciara do her thing.

I am relieved to not be out running the Worthing Half Marathon today. I am a runner. I am not fast, and I am not capable of running massive distances. I am 45 years old and I am experiencing injuries as a consequence of my running. Still, I am a runner.

I am of the age where wrinkles have appeared. I am in the daily habit of applying moisturiser to my skin and I am more conscious now of the ingredients and the ethical standards of the company behind the product.

My first I am was: I am a girl. This was quickly followed by I am a daughter, I am a sister – first a younger one and then an older one. As I have moved through my life I have become many things. To some I am their friend, to others I am an adversary. I experienced some trouble during my school years and I am that girl who was sometimes picked on, I am someone who has been bullied. I am the holder of 2 GCSE’s, in Maths and English. I am proud to say I passed my driving test first time, at 18 years of age. I am sadden to say that all of my Grandparents had passed by the time I was 16.

I am someone who went straight from school into full-time work. I am lucky I worked at Chessington World of Adventures for 5 years (from the age of 16 to 21). After that I worked as a Traffic Warden first in Putney, South London and then in Esher, Surrey. I am someone who has many tales to tell about my early work experiences. I am 21 and I am new to my job. I am sitting in a pub in Wandsworth and I am introduced to my future husband. I am in love.

Two years after being married I am pregnant. I am so happy. My happiness does not last, as a few weeks later I am a statistic, I am someone who has suffered a miscarriage. The sadness moves away after a time and I am lucky, I am pregnant again – first with a boy, then 18 months later I have a girl followed 13 months after that with another boy. I am a MUM. I am not yet 30.

I am engrossed with life, busy with my children. I am doing what is expected of me, I may not be as happy as I am portraying myself to be, I am conforming. I am offered the opportunity to work with young children and this brings me back to life and I am passionate, so much so that I apply for my degree. I am 35 and I am accepted.

I am now 39 and in pain with a gall stone. I am fit, strong and healthy so find myself on the cancellation list for the operation. Weeks later I am someone who no longer has their gall bladder and I am recovering. I am sad once more during this time and I am lonely. 3 months later I am separated. I am a single parent.

Divorce proceedings begin 18 months later and I am fighting. I am someone who has been into court to fight for myself and I have been totally floored by the process. I am stronger as a consequence. I am a divorcee.

I am lucky, in fact I am beyond lucky. I have been introduced to people who have inspired and encouraged me. I am blessed. I am someone who has overcome 30 years of fear of Horses. I am an Equine Facilitated Therapeutic Coach as a result of looking into and accepting my fears and vulnerability. I am currently training to be a Metaphysical Counsellor. I am a Motivational Speaker.

I am not someone who like’s to have their picture taken and I am not someone who likes to be the centre of attention, I struggle with this and I working on it. I am many things and I am planning on be many more.

Who are you?

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.