Humans logo

Their Favorite Teacher, Daughter and Friend

How my good deeds will pay off

By Mecca C Eaves-GlassPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
2
FB post Moonly App

Many people have a difficult time patting themselves on the back. I have always had self-confidence and the Capricorn in me lets me know that I am worthy to be praised. I have done many good deeds throughout my life. However, these last fews years I have been in good deeds overdrive. I am elated by helping others and I find pleasure in being rewarded with love for what I do for others.

Now that you (Vocal Media) are/is offering $2,500 I will actually express my good deeds I have done on paper.

Since 2012 I have been a middle school teacher. At that moment I became a lot of students' favorite teachers. One student had problems at home and began cutting herself. I have always told my students that they can trust me with anything. Some of her friends told me and I reported it to the counselor. The good deed that I did in this situation was to go to visit her in the hospital as well as had weekend visits with her over the weekend. At the school district we were told not to speak with the students outside of school however, I wanted to be there for her because she trusted me with the information. I built relationships with numerous students in that district and their families. Moreover, I am still connected to them today.

Messages with Sheila

At the school where I currently work at now I am still one of the favorite teachers. Since the time I have been there I have purchased families food, clothing and sheltered two young ladies. One of the girls was having a rough time with her mother and they were staying in a hotel because their house burned down. While they were displaced, I got her registered in school and allowed her to ride the bus with my son to the local high school. My friends and family purchased her clothing and gave me additional money for food.

My baby Sheila

The other young ladies parents moved out of the district so I allowed her to stay with me to ride the bus throughout the week so she could make it to school. I have had friends and family try to dissuade me from helping my students outside of school hours. However, I know that there are special cases where students need us other than acamecially.

As I sit here and type I can think of numerous students I have given rides, to and from school. Three years in a row one of my students was burned out and stayed in hotels. I picked each student up in the morning and took them back in the evening. I love “my kids” and will make sure that their needs are met. Our district now has expressed that we are not allowed to give students rides in our cars. I have stopped that but I still purchase clothing and drop by homes when students are in need.

I am very serious about showing my previous students that I still love them. I coached cheerleading and was a substitute teacher 2010 and I told the girls if they ever needed me to let me know. 10 years later one of the girls reached out to me on Facebook and asked for my help. I told her I would definitely help her and her son.

I completely understand that sometimes people just need reassurance and a helping hand. I went to her house at 5:30am and picked up her son. I then took him back to my home and helped him with remote learning while I also taught my 8th grade students.

Messages with former student

He told me that we are family because his mom loves me and I love his mom. He is in kindergarten possess the mindset that family does not mean blood it means love. I am forever indebted to her with trusting me with her 6 year old son. She made me feel very loved.

I know you are wondering how I am my mother’s favorite daughter. I will admit that she only has one biological daughter. However, I have always signed cards and text messages to her as her favorite daughter. I will get right to the good deed that I did for my mom. This year for my birthday I gave my mom gifts for my birthday. My father was killed 25 days before I was born. My mom never speaks at all about him and I did not even know he was killed until I was a teenager. This upcoming year I had a desire to find out as much as I could about him. I found his gravesite and I felt that he wanted me to show my mom that she can heal from his untimely death and that she was truly loved. So starting on 12/21/20 the day of The Great Conjunction I began to give my mom gifts.

Gifts given to mom

At first I told her that she had a secret Santa. That did not last long because she could not handle surprise gifts at her house. I told my (step)Dad that it was me and of course she found out it was me.

More gifts for mom

However, she played along and acted as if she did not know who gave her the gifts. I continued to leave gifts in her mailbox, on her front porch, and I emailed her e-cards. To see the smiles on my faces was priceless. On my birthday I gave her a push gift. That’s a good deal that irreplaceable. I gave her my baby shoes in a jar with flowers and stones to add to the beauty.

My baby shoes

Last but not least. I have always been a good friend to my friends. As an example. My friend’s daughter told her mom she wished she had a relationship with her godmother. I volunteered to be her daughter’s godmother. I literally feel like I have been in her life since she was a child yet I didn’t meet her daughter until 2016. Over the four years we have built a bond. I am elated to hear her call me god mommy.

I also have another friend that I met at church and now she is my sister. I volunteered to take her son to school so she would not be late for work. I still help her with her daughters and my payment is thank yous and the love I receive from them.

There are many good deeds I can speak on behalf of myself. However, I know that I would be writing forever. Even if I do not win the money I have won.

You can help by giving me a tip, or by buying one of my products that I sell. Just find me on FB. I love you all more than words can express. Stay sweet

humanity
2

About the Creator

Mecca C Eaves-Glass

I’m a teacher with anxiety. I think the idea of wearing a mask all day is ridiculous. I am a wife, mother, grandmother I’m looking forward to new journeys and experiences. Therefore, I am a Bedroom Kandi consultant and now Vocal writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.