Humans logo

Why is 12/14 so important?

12/14/2020

By Mecca C Eaves-GlassPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Meka

Today is a very special day for numerous reasons. First and foremost it is my dear little sister Tameka’s birthday. Now, I have never sent after death birthday wishes; it's truly not what my immediate family does. Therefore, it was not a tradition or ritual that I grew up practicing. Once someone in our family died after the funeral and burial that was the culminating event to their legacy.

However, we do laugh and talk about the funny things that they would say or do and a select few people go to their graves to give them flowers etc. I think my mom and her sisters only go to my grandmother’s grave on Mother’s Day.

As a child I barely went to funerals and burials. My family knows that if it’s not my auntie or uncle, grandparents, or my first cousins, I am probably not going to attend the funeral services. I love my mom and family for not pressuring me to go. I show my respect by doing deeds for the family. I also can connect with the dead so I have not felt the need to go and pick up on their energy in a casket.

Anyway, today would have been Tameka’s 38th birthday. After getting dressed for work I was at home reading my husband, her brother's birthday post. I said, aloud, “Dang Sis, I didn’t pour libations for you this morning, I will honor you later tonight with the New Moon.” I then heard my empty water bottle pop two times. I turned to the bottle and I instantly smiled. My little sister knew that I did not forget about her and with tonight’s New Moon we will convene together.

Yes, today is the last New Moon of the year. Today you can leave the past month behind and start new. Here is what I suggest to help you bring in positive energy into your life:

Write letters to whomever hurt you including yourself. Do not give them the letters, it's not to confront them, it is to heal yourself. Then at sunset or later burn or rip the letters. Release that negative energy from your body.

Next write out affirmations, goals, dreams, and aspirations that you want to have in your life within the next two years. Each day read it aloud up until the 21st. Surround yourself with only positive people. I also suggest that you listen to meditation music or gospel music that resonates to you. If you desire also write out scriptures and pray.

I know some of you are wondering what are libations. Libations are nothing but spring or distilled water that you will pour into a plant for your ancestors. Anyone that passed even a newborn baby is an ancestor and you just pour the water into the plant and say something nice about them or what they meant to you.

None of this is evil so get that out of your mind. Regular therapists tell you to journal and speak positive over your life. It’s up to you to stay in the state that you are in or to try something new.

Today I celebrate life and love. I am with the people that love me and we are listening to Ignite Your Soul Connection/Healing Water for Women.

I always get confirmation that I am doing right. Today as I sat with my students online I received a text message from my mom’s friend, my God brothers grandmother. She thanked me for my post this morning because it helped a young lady that called her crying. She had her breath and sent her the post I made. Once the lady told her she felt so much better she sent me a thank you.

Text from my mom’s friend

I am not doing this on my own. I am only a vessel lead by The Most High. I am surely connected to the universe and I will do what the Spirit inside suggests. Be blessed please tip and share for my upcoming 45th birthday

family
Like

About the Creator

Mecca C Eaves-Glass

I’m a teacher with anxiety. I think the idea of wearing a mask all day is ridiculous. I am a wife, mother, grandmother I’m looking forward to new journeys and experiences. Therefore, I am a Bedroom Kandi consultant and now Vocal writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.