Humans logo

The Unwritten speaks:

Episode one

By Valentine CaseyPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
The Unwritten speaks:
Photo by Darwin Vegher on Unsplash

Rider

“I cant believe you pulled that last shot, no one saw it coming.”

Finn

“Bro I didn’t even see it coming. I was trying to fix a wedgie one second and then he bumped into me with the puck and I was like oh wait, and jumped back into the game.”

(Both laughing)

Rider

“Only you.”

Finn

“It sucks, but at least I can go out with a bang right?”

Rider

“Well now that’s all you’ll be doing since everyone knows who you are.” *Chin lift with wide eyes.*

Finn

“Everyone knew who I was before” *cocky sarcastic manner.*

So how are the stories going, still writing in that silly notebook?”

Rider

“Yea it’s alright. Little more challenging getting over to the book shop now that it’s getting colder again.”

Sound of keys and opening of the door.

Aly

“Hey you still going to the bookstore today?”

Finn

“Oh look who made it out the house in daylight.”

Aly

“Funny, how’s it being crippled?”

Finn goes silent, embarrassed face, but chuckles and rolls his eyes.

Rider

“Yea I was just about to head out when I hang up on Finn.”

Aly

“I’ll come with today, I’m feeling a festive coffee on the way.”

Rider

“Sounds good.”

Finn

“Alright thats my cue I’ll talk to later, be good.”

Aly

“Try not to look at yourself in the mirror all day.”

Rider

“Byeeee!” *Laughing*

They drive to the coffee store down the strip street, parking in front of a pub.You can see all the TVS on the wall through the window. A re-run of the big hockey game in Canada plays on the screen.

Aly

“Man he really is everywhere.”

Rider

“I know, as if he didn’t already have a big ego.”

Aly

“Do you really think people pick up sports illustrated like they use to?”

Dated Sports Illustrated Magazine stating the best save of the season with Finn as the cover. In small print on the bottom of the magazine the camera zooms in to show it reading, He may never be able to play again and he was only getting started.

Rider

“Eh whether they do or not people still get it online.”

Aly

“You right.”

They stand there for a a second to watch the game { Finn standing on the Side line of the goalie as no one is near. The apposing team mate glides by trying to catch the puck from going in as he backs up into Finn. Finn snaps out of what looks like to be zoning out. He trips the opposing team by extending out his leg and manages to get the puck to go in the goalie as he falls down. It is clear that his leg is positioned in a dangerous angle. The crowd goes wild as the announcer states what had happened. They pull him off the ice as the medics stand by the box.

The girls shake their head in disbelieve once again, making their way to the coffee shop.They both order a coffee and head back outside walking down a block to the book store. Greeted with a warm smile…

Book store keeper

“How’s your brother doing Rider?”

Rider

*In surprise* “Oh,? He’s fine I think, just taking it easy right now.”

Aly

*whispers* “How does she even know you have a brother?"

Rider

“I have no idea ..”

Rider opens her small black notebook to the page explaining her brother making the cover of sports illustrated with the date being a month before the current date.

You can see in riders eyes she is trying to put two and two together. She turns the pages back a few to a story stating Jai (her best friend’s little brother.) getting dropped from a class for plagiarizing a mid term.

Rider

“Hey did Jai ever tell you the whole story about how he got kicked out of that class over the weekend?”

Aly

“That kid was so drunk, he couldn’t even get out what he wanted to say in any conversation haha.”

Rider

“Damn I wanna know what happened he never got back to me.”

Aly

“Does Ash know?”

Rider

“Idk maybe.”

Distracted by the thought, Rider texts him to see if he knows the story.

He texts back saying he bought an essay off of some kid who already submitted his from a few years back, and his parents don’t know yet.

Rider

“This kid really just bought an essay off some senior.”

Aly

“Lol seems about right. Wait didn’t you literally write something like that about him in a short story of yours in that notebook?”

Rider

“Practically.”

Aly

“Damn, you called it”.

Rider

“Ha ha, yea I guess I did.”
.

Ash text bubble pops up* You wrote about that didn’t you?

Rider starts to type and deletes it.

Ash If I leave in the next hour I can make it at like 10.

Aly

“You aren’t going to write today?”

Rider

"I’ve been pushing off some of my homework.”

The bookstore keepers eyes wander away from the girls as she had been cleaning the books around her and easily understood to be ease dropping.

As time goes by they both looks at each other and nod in agreement that it’s time to go. The bookstore keeper walks over with colorful printed book marks.

Keeper

“I know these days most things are online, but here, you can use them as a cute decoration in your room if not.”

They both say thank you and walk out.

Aly

“Did you finish any of your work?”

Rider

“Yea I finished one of my papers and a prezi.”

Aly

“Oh okay good good, yea I started a paper and then ended up just really getting into one of the articles and practically read the whole thing.” Laughs nervously.

She puts the bookmark in her purse, showing a blank side on the back

Rider

“Are you gonna challenge my mind with a new philosophy theory?”

Oh and Ash is coming over tonight instead, so he’ll be there a little later.”

Aly

“Oh yay the whole gang will be there.”

After jamming out in the car and the dark sky falls, Aly drops off rider.

As she grabs her keys the book mark falls out of her purse and she see’s there’s something hand written on the back, it had said:

Every piece of paper has a story on it, just takes a moment for the right person to fill the page worth reading.

Rider

“What’s good kids.”

Jai

“Ready to feaasttt I haven’t eaten all day.”

Alex

“Bro you’re lying you literally killed the fridge during your munchies after your 2 o’clock.”


Jai

“Okay and that was my munchies, my body doesn’t remember that, we ready again.”

Rider

(rolls her eyes and laughs.)

“I see you started your weekend a little early.”

Jai

“Always babbyyy!”

Alex

“What’s it like to have it easy again?”

Rider

“Nah you’re still chilling too Alex, just you wait.”

Alex

“Yea you say this now, but just wait for when you come back to me for help with your bio homework again.”

Jai

“Oof called out!”

Rider

“Oh Jai, you really can’t talk lmao I know what you did.” *Laughing.

Jai

“Annnyways. Yooo we should say fuck it and go pick up Ash at an earlier stop!”

Alex

“Uh I mean we could, wouldn’t make too much sense if he paid for the full ticket and the extra drive.”

Rider

“Someone text Ash to see if that’s good we can get sushi out there.”

They make their way to pick up Ash. Forty-five minuets out she gets pulled over. To everyones surprise they all carried a raised eye brow due to being pulled over when she was on a side street going the speed limit.

The officer pulls her over asking the usual as to why she was being pulled over.

Rider

“I’m sorry I don’t know what I did wrong.”

Officer

“Rider Spouse?”

Rider

“Um, yes that is me handing over license.”

Officer

“This is her car, but you don’t seem to be MS Spouse.”

Rider

“Officer, I am Rider Spouse, as you can see from ID.”

Officer

“No, you aren’t on our record, unless you went under the knife in the past week.”

Jai holding back a laugh as the other two stay stiff and uncomfortable.

Officer

“Is something funny?”


Jai

“No sir, I apologize.”

Alex

“Rider would just never do that, she’s not that kind of person.”

Officer

“Well clearly, because she is not rider.”

Jai

“If I can add in, this is in fact Rider spouse, unless there is another one. I’ve grown up with her my whole life.”

Officer

“Roll down your window please. Are you Jai Locked?”

Jai

*rolls down window with no hesitation.

“Yes that’s me” Grabs his drivers license to show the officer.

Officer

“I’m going to have you come into the station tomorrow if you don’t mind to answer some returning questions.”

Jai

“Me?”

Officer

“Yes, still funny?”


Jai

“No of course not, I just-“

They both roll up their windows and jai yells “switch”. Alex and Jai switch seats and she starts to drive in the same direction.

Alex

“Um are we sure about that being a cop, what was that? Jai do you know who that is?”

Jai

“No idea.”

Rider

“Well he said my name before I even gave him my ID.”

Jai

“Man with new technology he prob just scanned your car and it shows who you are.”

Rider

“ He said it wasn’t me.” 
 Jai

“Prob just messing with you, and I prob just got called out for talking.”

Rider has a flash back to her writing in the journal to the first thing she had written. She puts her name on the first page. She describes herself with a completely different description as the intro to a tale. Little details to the face altered her appearance.

Rider reads in her head as she writes this with coffee in the bookstore

Her freckles stayed in line as they did during the summer. Her tan fading, but a slight glow had kept as the more she moved the more color would surface. She ran barefoot as she carried her white vans with the burnt hole at the tip of the right shoe. Her nubby nails that sat on her fingers laid on the tips as they started to swell from not lifting her arms as she ran. Her grey blue eyes shared dilated pupils. She does not smile, but she does no show signs of fear or anger. however, you could tell she was running from something. A receipt falls, eyeing the 20 thousand dollar purchase. A receipt without her name.

Rider looks at herself in her review mirror and makes eye contact with Alex.

Alex

“You okay rider?”


Rider

“ Yea “ *snaps out of it and looks back at the road.*

Jai

Looks over at her “ are you getting tired? I can drive “

Rider

“No i’s okay we are almost there.”

They drive as Jai raps to songs to make the rest of the trip more upbeat.

Ash kicks Jai out of the front seat and hops in after greeting everyone outside of the station.

Ash

“The cop looked exactly like you’d think.” “The first story ?”


Rider

“Three for three”

Ash

“We’re going to the book store tomorrow, do you have it on you right now?”

He grabs her bag from the back and grabs the journal. He starts to flip through the pages. Both Ash and Rider continue to have a worried presence.

Text bubbles:

Ash: you tell anyone about the 20k?

Rider: no.

Ash: you didn’t use your real name on the purchase right?

Rider: well I used my middle name. I don’t know if buying that property on the island was smart.

Ash: when we go there it will all be worth it.

Rider: I hope so.

Ash: if things get rough, write it out. Problem solved.

continued

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Valentine Casey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.