Humans logo

The Ultimate How to Prevent Falling for Dating App Scams Checklist

I decided to compile expert suggestions to prevent falling for dating app scams after thinking about how tough it is to examine the situation clearly

By Mopsy MeirellesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

When you seeing those strong, well-known, and brilliant, smart women fall for a guy who isn't all that makes me think that, well, no one is immune to the muggle role.

"Inviolable watermark, private image gallery, power to choose who you will communicate with, safety distance, access PIN, reporting and blocking options, among others, are essential tools to help protect people in virtual interactions, making it even more difficult for those with malicious intent," says one app developer.

Ness Cooper, an American relationship counselor, highlighted five items that, when recognized, should serve as a warning not to fall prey to con artists: Suspicion of individuals who ask for money at the start of a relationship, exaggerated claims of affection, and a lack of personal information are among them.

5 Warning Indicators to Look out for in Dating Apps to Prevent Being Scam

When matching with a new crush, the goal isn't to be skeptical of everyone, but to be mindful of these warning signs:

- Overabundance of love: while it's incredibly lovely to devote your whole heart and soul to a new relationship, it's crucial to have your guard up when the person you're talking to showers you with excessive affection and praise right from the start. She could be attempting to exert control over the relationship's structure! Often, a period of intense love is followed by a period of doubt, prompting you to take action in an attempt to return to the status quo.

- Avoid meeting your relatives and friends: if the individual is purposefully avoiding meeting people who care about you, this could be a red flag!

Disconnect for no reason after a period of intense connection: ghosting can be a trap that makes you want to reconnect more and more. It's probable that if you don't know why the distance occurred, you'll start blaming yourself and harboring unfavorable thoughts against yourself. Be cautious; this may be exactly what the individual desires!

Asking for money at the start of a relationship: while a relationship is new, it's simple to focus on the good and positive aspects of people. It's easy to believe stories and feel sorry for the other in situations like this; after all, you're about to become a relationship. Because it takes time and devotion to build a trusting connection, this is the most severe warning indicator.

Don't answer personal questions: a scammer will often avoid discussing his personal life to learn everything about you. It's good to have someone who listens to you and is interested in your life, but it's much better if it's reciprocated.

According to a survey on the most popular scams in the square, 72% of people have dated someone who claimed to be single only to discover he was married! 49 percent.

Finally, 35% report they were attracted to someone shorter or taller than their app description indicated.

Below some cases

"I fell in love with a guy who was a pastor, but he didn't tell me right away," one person said. "I fell in love with a guy who was a pastor, but he didn't tell me right away." He started asking me to buy tickets to attend services after numerous outings, and it took me two years to pay for them. When I awoke, I had a loss of more than $200,000. Because he had no method of repaying me, I began to abuse him and stopped loving him. "

"The worst-case scenario was when someone took me out and made a genuine relationship with me. He was described as a single father who cared for his Alzheimer's-affected mother. As a result, we didn't have a lot of time to meet up in person. He told me various stories about his boyhood in Germany, among other things. It intrigued me, but after I grew interested in him beyond sex, I sought to find out more about his life, which I can do because I am a lawyer. easily "

"It was all a deception, as I discovered! He was married with two children, and his mother was fine; the closest he got to Germany was sharing a German beer with me. I hadn't contemplated dating anyone in years, but he persuaded me to reconsider. I'm still unsure if he was psychotic (since he lied so effectively), a horrible character, or simply chose to play Walter White (he was a big fan of Breaking Bad). "At long last, the flop."

Have you ever experienced something similar, or did you fail to notice all of the details?

dating
Like

About the Creator

Mopsy Meirelles

My name is Michelle a descendant of gypsy family I traveled to almost 85 countries and lived in 10 different countries.As I come from a long journey one of my new passions is to write about the behavior and emotions around the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.