Humans logo

The Touch of Death's Curse

life and death

By C.M.Published 3 years ago 16 min read
7

My name is Renatus. I have the curse of death. Whatever and whoever I touch dies. My parents gave me up for adoption when they found out about my strange ability. The doctor who helped my mom give birth to me realized I was dangerous. He knew I was a hazard to anyone I came in contact with. When he saw my mom give me up for adoption, he knew what he had to do. Being a man of logic, he couldn’t understand how it was possible, and being a man of a good heart, he didn’t dare tell anyone about my existence, for he knew not only would I be a danger to their life, but if word ever got out, my life could be in danger as well. He destroyed my birth records and got rid of all evidence of my identity. I don’t exist. He secretly kept and raised me. He brought me back to his place, where I was kept in a glass room for the majority of my life. He would occasionally drop me off something to eat and drink, and try his best to talk and cheer me up. I hated how I was living, like some animal trapped in a cage. Don’t get me wrong, I love Nick. He’s the only person in the world who knew about my curse and didn’t run away or give up on me, but I hated that I was born this way. Nick didn’t let me watch tv for the longest time, for he knew if I was ever exposed to it, I would wonder why other people lived entirely different than I did. He didn’t want me to know what a human's life should normally be like. Of course, as I got older, I started asking questions. Nick eventually told me why I was kept in the glass room, and explained my curse. He would always try to make me feel better by telling me I was special, and that my ability was a gift, not a curse. I could never understand that. How is having the touch of death a gift? He said that God made everyone unique and that no creation of God was a mistake. We were all a Gift of God. He clearly must have forgotten that Donal Trump exists. I’m so grateful for all Nick has done for me, but sometimes I wish he would have just lied to me. because it’s true what they say. Ignorance is bliss. I was stuck in this glass room. I constantly wrote in my Moleskine black notebook. I loved writing for it distracted my mind from reality.

It felt like any ordinary day, but my life was about to take a turn for the worse and best. I got a phone call from a doctor. Nick never mentioned me to anyone. The only reason the doctor got my number was because he called the last person Nick talked to last, which just happened to be me. Nothing was about to prepare me for what I heard next. My whole life was going to change. “Nick’s dead”. He said. As soon as those words came out of his mouth I couldn’t hear any other words. I was in denial. I was in shock. It wasn’t until then I realized I hadn’t said a word and the doctor was still talking. I hung up and collapsed to the floor. What am I going to do? I spent the rest of the day grieving. I felt hopeless. I can’t even touch someone without them passing out and dying. How was I going to live on my own? Though it was the saddest day of my life it was also the most important day of my life because this is where it all started how I met her. I kept the rest of Nick’s money and I used some of the $20,000 I’ve been saving to help enroll myself in school. Going to school was something I’ve always dreamed of but never did it because Nick wouldn’t let me go. I know it’s probably reckless of me, but I needed to get out. I needed to experience life, meet people. It may be selfish of me for saying that, but it’s the truth. I couldn’t keep living this way. As long as I wear my gloves on, no one will die.

Ava’s POV

It was just like any other day. I was standing by my school locker laughing with my friends, waiting for the school bell to ring. I was considered the popular girl. People adored and envied me. The only thing I had to worry about was keeping my gift a secret. The only other person who knows about my special gift is my best friend, Samantha, because I can trust her with my life. I don’t know how and don’t know why, but I was born with a rare gift to bring things back to life. But it isn’t as nice as it seems. I can only bring someone back to life once, and each time I bring someone back to life I feel my body get weaker and weaker. The bad thing is it doesn’t wear off. Once I’m drained, I stay drained. I don't regain the energy. I’ve used my powers only 3 times in my entire life. Once with my grandma. Once with my dog, Chowder, and the other time is quite embarrassing. I used my power to resurrect an ant that I stepped on when I was little. I can’t use my power often. I believe if I use my power one more time, I will die. I can feel myself getting weaker and weaker every time I use it.

Suddenly the bell rings, awakening me from my trance. Maria and Samantha finish talking and walk to their next class. I stand there in the middle of the hallway when I suddenly start feeling weird. It was as if a magnetic pull was pulling me somewhere. I follow it and that’s when I see him.

Renatus's POV

I take up all the surroundings around me at my new school. It felt so foreign. I’ve seen things in movies and read things in books, but nothing in the world could describe how it felt to be out. To be with people, to see things for the first time. I continued to admire everything, soaking everything in. I didn’t want to forget one detail. I continue to look at everything. The people, the blue lockers, the squeaky tile floor, when suddenly I feel someone staring at me. A gorgeous brunette with warm eyes and freckles looks at me with awe. She was looking at me like I was the most beautiful person she’s ever seen, and that did something to me. I’ve never felt beautiful. When I look in the mirror I see a monster. A mistake, but when this strange girl looks at me, she almost makes me feel… worthy? Our eyes lock and we don’t look away. I’ve never talked with anyone other than Nick, let alone a beautiful girl. I realize I must look like an idiot, so I force myself to speak. “Are you okay?” I ask concerned.

The girl looks puzzled. “Yeah, why?”

I shrug “Your cheeks. They’re pink.”

The girl immediately looks away, like she’s embarrassed. “Are you new?” She asks, breaking the silence.

I nod “Yes, today is my first day.”

The mystery girl smiles. “Do you plan on sticking through the end of senior year?”

“Yes,” I reply.

“Good” She answers. I notice her cheeks turn pink again.

Then the bell rings. I jump.

The girl giggles “Never heard of a bell before?” She jokes.

I shake my head “Never that loud. Why do they have it so loud?”

She laughs “You must be homeschooled.”

She chuckles, showing her white sparkling teeth, and what looks like silver wire across her teeth.

“What is that?” I ask.

“What’s what?”

“Your teeth. Why is there metal in your teeth.”

The girl quickly looks away, and covers her mouth, looking humiliated.

“I’m sorry. I guess you could say I am a late bloomer.”

I give her a quizzical look. “Why are you hiding your teeth?”

She talks, without moving her hand away from her mouth. “Because it’s embarrassing.”

I furrow my eyebrows. “Why? You’re the most beautiful girl I’ve ever seen.”

She scratches the back of her neck “Thank you, but no need to lie. I know I must look terrible having braces at 17 years old.”

“What are you talking about? I love them. They make you stand out. They make you look beautiful.”

She laughs “How?”

I shrug “I’ve seen many models in magazines, but they don’t look real. You, you are real. Genuine. You’re perfect.”

She smiles “Well thank you. If you keep complimenting me like this I won’t be able to get my head out the door” She teases.

“Are you always this cheery?” I ask.

Ava responds “Yes, I find life lovely.”

I scoff. “I would give anything to feel that way.”

“You don’t agree?”

I shake my head smirking “Life’s a bitch.”

Ava gives me a strange look like she doesn’t know how to respond to my comment.

“What’s your name?” She asks.

“Renatus. What about you?”

“I’m Ava.”

We both smile at each other, longer than we should. I know it seems silly, but I’ve never felt this drawn to anyone. Yet, that doesn’t say much considering I never left the house until now.

She extends her arm, getting ready to shake my hand. “Well, it’s lovely to meet you Renatus.”

I don’t shake her hand, in fear of what might happen. So I awkwardly stand there, and make up an excuse “I need to go… I have art class now.” I mumble before leaving. The whole week, Ava and I start getting to know each other. We’ve become good friends, which was nice, considering the fact that I never had a friend before. Soon it’s Friday, and everyone is excited and eager to leave school, and I don’t know why, but I have the sudden urge to find Ava.

Ava’s POV

I met up with my friends at the locker. Samantha smirks. “Girl, I’ve been trying to get a hold of you all day. Where were you?’

“I’m sorry. I was with Renatus and got side-tracked.”

Samantha looks at me suspiciously “Uh-huh… Sure. Just admit you’ve totally chosen dicks before chicks.”

I roll my eyes “No, it’s not like that” I sigh.

Samantha laughs ‘Girl I’m totally playing. I know you have a boyfriend. But I can see why you find him attractive. He’s so hot. 100% daddy material”.

I cross my arms “Can you shut up? People can hear”

Before I could say another word, I heard someone come up behind me.

“I’m not hot. I can assure you I’m quite cold. Also, I’ve never had any kids, so I’m nowhere near a dad.”

“You’re funny!” Maria snickers.

Renatus tilts his head to the side in thought. “I don’t understand. How am I funny?” He asks. Samantha and Maria give judging glares.

“Uhh... We’re going to start heading out Ave… if you want to hang out you know where to find us.”

I roll my eyes, beyond embarrassed.

I finally gather the courage to turn around. When I do he looks at me. Renatus was so different from any guys I’ve ever met, and I don’t know why but I felt so drawn to him, like a moth to the flame. I was beginning to have forbidden thoughts. I had to remind myself, I have a boyfriend.

A month later, Ava and Renatus get even more close. Jake, Ava’s boyfriend hears the rumors about how close she’s getting with Renatus and decides to pay him a little visit. Renatus is outside admiring the flowers outside his home. He doesn’t dare touch the plants, fearing he will kill them. Then he hears footprints walk close behind him. Renatus turns around facing Jake. “I’ve heard about you getting cozy with my girlfriend! You better stay away from her! Do you want to start sleeping with the fishes?” Renatus furrows his eyebrows "No. Why would I want that? I could drown, and I hate the smell of fish” Jake clenches his fists "Stop playing with me man!”

“I’m not playing with you. Playing is for children.” Renatus says.

Jake laughs to himself “I don’t know what the point of this was. I can’t believe I actually thought you could be a threat. What was I thinking? You aren’t Ava’s type, though she does have a thing for losers so it makes sense.”

“Since you’re technically dating Ava, wouldn’t that make you a loser as well?”

Jake grits his teeth and clenches his fists. Renatus looked at him, confused. He didn’t mean to make him mad. That was never his intention. Suddenly Daryl sprints towards Renatus, getting ready to punch him.

Then Renatus remembers. He’s not wearing gloves! Common sense immediately kicks in. “Jake don’t touch me, whatever you do. You’ll be sorry.”

Jake scowls “I’ll be sorry!? I’ve had enough with you, idiot!”

Jake lunges at Renatus with a knife. Renatus dodges it, trying his best to avoid contact with Jake. Then Ava arrives. “Jake stop it this instant!” She demands.

Jake doesn’t listen. He continues throwing punches in the air, trying to hit Renatus.

“Jake I said stop!”

“What you’re siding with this loser now!? That’s it. I’ve had enough of him!”

Everything happens in slow motion. He punches Renatus right in the jaw. Renatus screams not because of the pain, but because he knew the consequences. Then suddenly Jake drops dead to the floor.

Ava gasps. She’s speechless. “What just happened!?”

Guilt consumes Renatus. He collapses to the ground in remorse staring at Jake’s lifeless body.

“Did he pass out!?” Ava exclaims.

Renatus answers, barely moving his lips. “No… He’s dead.” He says emotionless.

Confused, Ava shakes her head. “What, no that can’t be! You didn’t even touch him!”

“I did”.

Ava gives a bewildered look. Renatus explains how he’s to blame for his death. “Everyone I touch dies. I’m an abomination.” He says tears streaming down his face.

Ava walks over to Renatus, getting ready to comfort him. Renatus immediately steps back “No! I’ll kill you. Are you insane? You can’t touch me.”

Ava sighs “You’re not an abomination Renatus. In fact, I share a similar trait. It makes so much sense now. I never could understand why I was so drawn to you when we barely have known each other.”

Renatus looks at her puzzled. Then he sighs “I hate myself, I’ll never know what it will feel like to be normal, to touch someone without fearing for their life. I’m going to end up alone for the rest of my life.” “Don’t say that!” Ava yells.

Renatus says nothing and stares off in defeat.

Ava half smiles “You’ve never even physically touched me and you’ve already touched me in more ways than anyone else I know ever has.”

Renatus frowns “You deserve someone better. Someone who isn’t a hazard to your health.”

Before Ava can say anything, she realizes Renatus is bleeding. “Oh my God, what happened to you!?” She yells.

Renatus shrugs nonchalantly “He stabbed me.”

Ava panics “Okay, we need to get you to an ER right now!”

Renatus feels himself slowly bleeding out. “No. Leave me.”

Ava refuses. “No! I won’t let you die!” Renatus starts to feel weak but doesn’t want help. He’s tired of living.

Ignoring his plead, Ava checks underneath his shirt, where she sees a deep gash on the side of his abdomen. It was much worse than she originally thought. Fear consumed her.

Ava realizes he’s dying. Tears stream down her face. “What do you want? Name it.”

Renatus moves slightly, wincing in pain “What I want is something I can never have” He says breathlessly.

Ava understood what he meant. Renatus is dying, and to fulfill his last wish Ava does the most selfless act Renatus has ever seen. She walks over to her, wrapping her arms around him, hugging him tightly. Renatus closes his eyes and melts into her embrace, forgetting the danger of the situation. He's never felt human contact like this before. This was a moment he would forever treasure. Then realization hits.

Renatus's eyes jolt open “What are you doing!?” He screams.

Ava sighs “Just how you can make anything die, I can make anything come back to life. So I’m touching you to heal you.” Renatus smiles at her kind gesture, but he doesn’t feel any better. Her powers aren’t working on him. Though trying to heal him didn’t work, she used up the last of her power and energy she had left doing so. She knew it was reckless. Ava never believed in love at first sight, but the moment she first saw Renatus, she knew… They were soulmates. At this moment, Ava knew she was dying too, but there was no place she would rather be than right beside him. She closed her eyes and nuzzled in his chest, inhaling the sweet smell of his cologne. She laughs to herself. “Is this what fate had planned all along? The world has a cruel sense of humor.” Ava thinks to herself. Renatus was the reject no one wanted, and Ava was the admired one who everyone loved. Two people, different stories, but the same tragic ending. Ava imagines what it would be like if she and Renatus lived. What future would they have? Ava daydreams about the life they could have had. The life she wishes they had. Eventually, exhaustion overpowers her desires, and she feels her eyelids become heavy. This was it. Her body was shutting down. She knew it. She forces her eyes to open, glancing at Renatus lying next to her, who’s already long gone. As weak as Ava was, she still managed to gain enough strength to close his eyes. She then intertwines her fingers with his cold hand. She feels hot tears streaming down her face. He lived his whole life afraid to touch. Though giving him the gift he’s always wanted resulted in her death too, she didn't regret a thing. At least he could know the feeling of the joy and comfort of hugging someone before he died. Ava has lost all sense of feeling in her body now. She’s too weak to move. Ava opens her eyes one last time, looking at Renatus “You were right." Ava stammers. "Life’s a bitch” She says in barely a whisper before her eyes close shut, falling into an endless sleep.

love
7

About the Creator

C.M.

Hi everyone! Thank you for reading my stories! I hope you enjoy reading them as much as I enjoy writing them! Please heart my stories if you like them. Your support means so much to me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.