Humans logo

The Shake

by Tess Timmons

By Tess TimmonsPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3

Tat, tat-tat, tat her pen nervously taps the empty page.

I’m not a singer. Poet? yes. Singer? No. What was I thinking? Anna ponders to herself, as she tosses the pen onto the table. “Ahhhha!” She pulls the pencil out of her bun, flips her head back, and her long brown curls waterfall over the iron chair; as her eyes yearn for inspiration in the sky.

“Beautiful,” a deep yet cheerful voice states from above Anna’s gaze.

“Oh, sorry. I didn’t realize anyone was behind me,” she scoots her chair back in taking up her taped in 6 feet.

“It is 40 degrees outside, rather odd outdoor dining,” he chuckles.

Anna sighs, “I know...it’s just that I need a place to write. Not my house. It doesn’t flow there. It’s Covid, I should be inside my house. At least they serve to-go and...I’m supporting local,” she grins.

“Smart writing set. ‘The Moleskin system...for infinite creativity,” he leans in and picks up Anna’s little black book. He smells like amber, rosewood, oud wood...Tom Ford! Beauty counter retail work does pay off -His eyelashes are long, his jawline is strong. Even with a mask on, this man is handsome.

As if he read her mind he steps back and unhooks his mask. Be hot. No crooked or discolored teeth. That’s terrible, you don’t even know this man...calm down. Ring, look at his hands...gloves.

As his brown, bold lips part, his pearly teeth perfect his smile. A quick wink and he casually takes a sip of his drink. She releases the breathe she unknowingly held. His eyes hold her gaze with confidence. “I helped design this notebook,” he smiles.

“What?” Anna snaps back to reality, “You designed it?”

“Yes. I live in San Francisco and I use their notebooks all the time. They wanted to collaborate with me.”

“Cool. You’re a writer?”

“Songwriter.”

“Oh,” Anna surprisingly puts together the puzzle.

“I’m Patrick,” he starts to hold out his hand and retracts. “Covid, I’m still getting used to all of this. It’s April, who knew we’d still be in this?”

“Right? Anna is my name. You can sit if like?”

“Rather cold. Care to walk?”

The sidewalks of Tahoe freshly plowed, wind round local shops Bespoked, California 89, Word After Word Bookstore, Lux Hair Salon all sadly, eerily empty. “What are you writing about Anna?”

“Well now that I know what you do for a living, I’m a little embarrassed.”

“Oh?”

“Have you seen the social media posts about how high school seniors should just get over it? ‘In 1965 our senior trip was to Vietnam’. Not all posts have been negative. Some posts talk of schools computer streaming prom, graduation on a ski lift...Anyway..” giggles Anna, “I’m a teacher. Every year I put together this Senior Farewell Ceremony. It’s a slideshow of pictures. My students have been sending me song requests and basically...their crap. A lot of the upbeat songs in 2020, all sing vividly about sex and I can’t use that...grandma’s in the stand ya know? Well, this year grandma won’t be traveling but we are streaming it for all families to watch.”

“I see.”

“Shall I go on? It’s ok if you’ve heard enough,” Anna flips her five-toned purple scarf ‘round her neck.

“I’m intrigued, Anna. Carry on.”

“Remember Black Eyed Peas, ‘Tonight’s gunna be a good night’? I need UP-BEAT, come-together songs, and I’m not finding any this year. Soooo...I contacted a few singers on Instagram, DM’s their assistants probably don’t check…”

“True,” Patrick laughs.

“This class needs an anthem! The graduating class of 2020, clear vision, … that’s now an understatement. It would be great to give all seniors around the world a song,” Anna stops under the umbrella awning of Tahoe Mountain Fitness. The gym lights are off. Half the equipment is absent, sold off to members. Her eyes look up into Patricks. “I have a speech...poem..(who's to say) for the film. I thought I’d try to turn it into a song. Crazy right?”

“No, I like it. Is the speech in the Moleskin?” Anna pulls the notebook out of her orange tote, flips to the speech, and bravely hands it over to Patrick.

Seniors,

your resilience

amid the chaos

of our world

is an added building

block to your strength.

Your compassion for others

contributed to a

global movement

to protect mankind.

We proudly

hand YOU

the future.

We celebrate the

work you have

accomplished.

The growth

you have gained.

And we rejoice

in your new path

in life.

“Ok Anna, I see you,” Patrick warmly grasps Anna’s shoulder. “You’ve got a verse in here.”

“Wanna help?” Anna wishes aloud.

“Twenty grand.”

“Oh. I’m sorry. That was rude of me. I shouldn’t have--I can’t afford to pay you.” Anna grabs the notebook from Patrick’s hand and begins to place it into her tote, “thank you for reading my words and taking the time.”

“No,” Patrick chuckles again, leaning in to lock eyes with Anna. “I’ll pay you. It’s my collaboration fee. Deal?” He pulls his glove off his ringless hand and extends the offer.

“Deal!” Anna excitedly tears off her glove and firmly locks in.

friendship
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.