Humans logo

The Sands of Time

A Micah Samler Story

By Piper CurranPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Sands of Time
Photo by Isaac Quesada on Unsplash

June 18th 2006

The weather out here will kill me before any of the wildlife does. I mean, how does anyone get anything done in 98 degree heat! Living in Montana my whole life has nothing to prepare me for this type of work even if I have dreamed of it my whole life. Even if I am slightly in love with the guide that was hired to take us through the jungle of woods here in Georgia, I could never stay here. That being said, let me take you back to the beginning of the story and tell you why I am here. It started almost eight months ago.

November 3rd 2005

"Micah, boss man wants to see you. I hope you packed your big britches today." Andrew sneered at me from the hallway.

"I always do you big jerk." I muttered under my breath as I set aside my current work load to take this meeting. It was usually never good when Mr Sanders wanted to see someone.

Walking in my heels towards his office got myself a lot of pity looks. A few whispers about being fired, and even more whispers about being yelled at. I took a deep breath and kept going. I had done nothing wrong...this week.

Taking a moment to adjust myself, I knocked on his door frame and cleared my throat as he looked up from his desk. "Mr Sanders, Andrew from marketing said you wanted to see me."

A grin erupted from his face as the person in his chair turned to look at me. "Yes, Miss Samler! Please do come in and shut the door behind you."

Doing as I was told, I said down with gulp of fear that quickly went away as I realized who I was sitting next too. "Mr Hansen, I am a big fan of your work over in the islands off the North Carolina coast. I hope you find our city as endearing as yours is over there."

"Yes indeed Miss Samler. It has been a wonderful experience being this far north but I am afraid I am not build for the winters here." He spoke with a chuckle and his eyes gleamed with humor. It was mesmerizing.

Mr Sanders cleared the air with his musty breath and spoke, "I've asked you here today because Mr Hansen., Um, excuse me, Michael, needs a great photographer for his next piece down in Georgia." His next words took me by surprise, "Michael has asked for you."

I looked at Mr Hansen with confusion and he chuckled once more. Answering the question in my eyes, his soft voice warmed parts of me that had been cold for a long time, "You see, I have been a fan of yours for a long time as well." His smirk went up his cheeks and made his eyes sparkle.

"That is wonderful to hear Mr Hansen. However, I have a huge workload here. I don't know if I can clear my schedule in such a short time."

Mr Sanders spoke for Mr Hansen, "Not to worry. The trip won't take place until next year. If you have any of your projects left, we can have Emily cover them until you get back."

"Yes, we won't leave until March 28th next year and please, call me Michael. After all, we will being working closely for the next year or so." He placed his hand on my knee and sent fire up my legs.

"Micah, could you please give Michael and I a moment while we fine tune the details?" Mr Sanders pointed to the door when I looked at him.

"Did you want this open or shut Mr Sanders?"

"Closed please."

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Piper Curran

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.