Humans logo

The 'Priceless' part of PriceLe$$

Kindness and Inclusivity

By Adrainne ThompsonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

It is an honor to enter this contest entitled, “We Have a Dream” Steps to fostering kindness and inclusivity in 2022. I am reaching out to ask that you take a minute and read my story and journey to opening my own business. It’s a Social Impact Corporation called, “PriceLe$$ Thrift.” (Priceless) I opened it in Houston, Texas effective June 15th. Here is exactly what I am doing presently to promote kindness, love, inclusivity, and above all a NO JUDGEMENT ZONE.

My story: I was a product of the projects and a single mom. I ended up there because of a terribly nasty divorce, not because I was reared in a low- income - poverty stricken family and neighborhood.

As I went through the taxing processes of getting aid through social services agencies, St. Vincent du Paul, etc., I used it to learn, grow, and allow it to strengthen me to get out of the situation I was in; especially with my two young children. But sitting at these agencies, I often heard conversations and saw the learned behavior of some of the other clients, which made me a little frustrated. Some of them were abusing the system. The processes were enabling and crippling some members of society. Some of them were deliberately not paying their bills and waiting until they had a ‘cut off notice’ or ‘eviction’ so that the government would pay instead of them being responsible for what they incurred. This created a desire in my heart to do something for low-income communities; but, at the same time, hold them accountable for their actions and choices. I wanted to create something where they will have to 'give back' to their community and set themselves up for self-sufficiency.

Hence, the birth of PriceLe$$ Thrift.

Priceless is a thrift store with a trifold entity for impacting the people I serve. It'll be far more than just a thrift store. Yes, charge it to my heart. Priceless accepts local donations of pre-owned and/or post-production items and sell to the local community at an affordable rate. Priceless will consist of lots of perks that my competitors seldom address:

 Discounts on purchases if accompanied by a donation

 The ability to return products/clothing -for store credit- if unusable. (Especially with COVID prohibiting the use of dressing rooms)

 Prices will be negotiable

 Regular shopper punch cards

 Loan apparel for interviews,

 Recognition of senior citizens, veterans, teachers, and volunteers.

Priceless will network with other Human Service agencies to serve as a financial resource for people who have rental and utility distress. But, the client will have to work the number of hours in the store that are equivalent to the amount I agree to pay toward their bill. This is called the Support-for-work program. I don’t want to just band-aid the issue. While working closely with them I will require them to attend classes on self-sufficiency/efficacy, work ethics, cursive handwriting, public speaking, and/or other social skills enhancements that are no longer part of the major curriculum in public schools.

And lastly, Priceless will serve as a facility to satisfy community service hours needed to complete school projects and/or parole obligations.

What motivates me is the following:

 LOVE AND COMPASSION. When I love someone/something it pushes me to go above and beyond for that person/thing.

 Second, GOALS: Goals motivate me because I like being successful, focus-driven, and productive.

 And lastly, PREPARATION AND PLANNING. This motivates me because it allows me to reach my goals.

I am determined that I want people to always feel 'more than enough' never 'less than'. Priceless will be more than a handout; it'll be a step up so that others can feel loved, productive, empowered, adequate, and included.

I will always make them feel like they are the ‘priceless’ part of PriceLe$$!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Adrainne Thompson

I was a single mom struggling w/2 small children. Presently, I'm an entrepreneur, author/poet. Never give up!

One of my greatest honors was being the first African American who displayed her poetry in the Suntrust Art Gallery in Graham, NC

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.