Humans logo

The Pear

A battle of words

By Jason GoldtrapPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

There is a new Blue-Ray release of the beloved Disney classic "Mary Poppins." Here is a special deleted scene.

Mary Poppins and good-natured chimneysweep Burt, along with the Banks children: Jane and Michael, are taking a stroll in a colorful, whimsical garden.

Burt: what a delightful day for a walk in the park. Maybe later we can go sledding.

Jane: Whatever are you talking about?

Michael: You cannot go sledding in May! Where would you find the snow?

Mary: Children, do you know what happens when you use your imagination? Any dream can come true.

Jane: Oh, Mary, you're so wonderful.

Michael: You're so kind and fun. You're the best.

Burt (starts singing): There's something awfully special about Mary. The prettiest of all the girls.

Mary: Oh honestly.

Burt (still singing): With ruby red lips and extra wide hips. She's the grandest woman in the....

Mary: Wait, wait, wait... what was that?

Burt: oh, um. She's the grandest woman in the world.

Mary: not that part. You said something about my hips?

Burt: Did I? I...don’t rightly recall what I said. (He turns to the kids) that’s the magic of a song. It begins down in your heart.

Mary: They know what a song is. You said, “Ruby red lips and extra wide hips."

Burt: well, I was a... you know; wanting to rhyme the word "lips."

Mary: ships, quips, skips, flips, dips

Michael: Kips, nips, a solar eclipse. So many words can rhyme with...

Mary: put a cork in it, Michael.

Jane: Perhaps if you didn't down so many spoons full of sugar....

Mary: I don’t need diet advice, ya little brat!

Burt: But I said you have ruby red lips.

.

Mary: I know what you said you lamp lighting twit! The lips come from Herod's.

Burt: Well, I didn't think...

Mary: …obviously you didn't think. Goodness Gracious. I can jump into a chalk painting. I can make a hat rack appear from my carpet bag. I own a talking umbrella. But these thunder-thighs cannot be snapped away! I want to wear shorts on my day off. But no! I need mom-jeans!

Burt: Your pear shape makes you womanly. You don’t have to be a fashion icon. Just be yourself.

---Mary gives Burt a death glare---

Burt: um... Jane? Michael? I think it might be best if we button up our mouths for an hour or so.

---After several seconds of silence; Mary clears her throat.

Mary: Burt, I would like a moment with Jane. Why don't you and Michael go play by the pear tree road? Jane and I need a moment of repose in the gazebo.

----Burt tips his hat. He and Michael run off.---

---Mary and Jane head for the gazebo. Jane sits on a bench, followed by Mary. They share a warm smile. Mary speaks in a sing-song voice to Jane.---

Men sometimes are incredibly stupid,

thoughtless, insensitive dolts.

I could extol their character and courage

but instead, here's a list of their many faults.

--She points to Burt and sings---

See that gruff baboon?

Dancing like a loon?

Like all men, he's an infuriating case

He speaks what's on his mind,

regardless of the time,

listeners, occasion or place.

I wish I could just swim

down the muddy Thames

and start over with a new life.

I'd find myself a prince

who wasn’t quite as dense,

and be a rich man's wife.

But now I spend my days

living in a haze;

trying to remain sane and numb;

wondering why on Earth

I'm doing all the work

that is flat out ignored by your mum!

---Burt speaks to Michael by the pear tree grove. They each pluck a pear and take a bite.---

Burt speaks up: Michael, a woman is a lot like a jigsaw puzzle.

---Burt starts singing to Michael---

The picture on the box,

Is supposed to be a fox,

Leaping across a Country stream.

But when the last piece is in place

There's dread upon face

When you thought everything was peaches in cream.

And despite your hard work

You're feeling like a jerk

For something that wasn't even your fault.

Then I remember dear old Dad

Having a pint with the lads

And keeping his opinions of his misses in a vault.

--- In the distance, Mary waves to Burt. He waves back and he and Michael race to the gazebo.----

Mary: Children? Burt? I apologize for being cross.

Jane: Michael and I are sorry for our comments.

Michael: My words were quite unbecoming.

Mary: Very well. Pish posh the matter is complete. Just around the bend there is a hill just perfect for sledding. I will make haste to the crescent to prepare the slopes.

---Burt, Jane and Michael cheer.---

Jan starts singing: Look up ahead; it's dear Mary. The finest nanny I ever saw.

Michael: Her blue eyes are never teary. She’s sunny; never dreary.

Burt: But her hips are swinging like the Bells of St. Paul.

BURT!

humor
2

About the Creator

Jason Goldtrap

From Nashville, TN and now living in Haines City, FL, I have enjoyed creative writing since childhood. My stories are usually set in the future. Optimistic, values oriented with realistic sounding dialogue.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.