Humans logo

The only person in the workplace who can make you what you want is you

The only person in the workplace who can make you what you want is you

By santa jedPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Recently, more than one person has complained to me: "The company pays me so much money, I do so little work, why should I work more, he won't give me a raise? !"

I can't help but whisper: If I were the boss, I wouldn't use you, maybe one day hit a bad economy, you first.

My female colleague Mey, married and born after 1980, is my subordinate.

When I joined the company, I was a clerk like her, doing the same repetitive tasks -- answering the phone, and then selling the business while answering the phone.

As time went by, I was tired of being active, but I always "admired" how she could do this job for a long year. With a fixed salary, she was in a hurry to go home after work and bought a house. She divorced her husband for a house worth more than 100,000 yuan, just to add her name to the property ownership certificate.

Every time I walked out of the office, I would see her in my old work area, playing with the phone I had just bought, and occasionally joking with the department manager.

One day, I sat beside her inquisitively ask: "THIS YEAR more than COME, YOU didn't want to learn something too much, improve your life? At least it won't take so much time and what's left of youth?"

"I'm married," she said. "I don't need to do this. Besides, my boss only gives me so much money.

I am stunned, really want to say a few words: marriage can give you a reason not to forge ahead? Is getting married like going into a safe? What kind of woman can't take care of herself and blame her man for philandering? Even don't know how to treat people, why ask others to treat you?

My boss, who is also born in the 1980s, has a quick temper but a delicate mind.

Every time I see his humpback, going in and out of the office, it is very painful. He is only in his early 30s, but he has many wrinkles and dark circles under his eyes. His subordinate is a senior who came to the company three years earlier than him. In terms of seniority, the boss should not be so fast to achieve the current position, but in terms of performance, no one can stop, this is the reality of the sales company.

Most of the time, it's not where we are that determines our life. It's how you look at where you are. You think it is a door, you pass; If you think it's a canker, then you'll be waiting outside the door forever to admire someone else's wonderful life.

I still remember those days and nights, when I was out fighting, Mey played with her phone, browsed the web, blew the air conditioner, and occasionally dozed off.

At that time, I was very tired, but also full of happiness, busy forgetting the time, place, and mood.

Later, Mey became my subordinate. She still couldn't wait to get home at midnight and bargain at the food market with money. Then she went home to cook dinner, watch TV series and finish the day. Day after day, year after year.

Yes, I can't say that Mey's ordinary life is not good, because everyone has their own life. But if you want to get ahead and make money, you need to find the right people, brainstorm, and network. We are no longer in an era where we only recognize our elders and not our abilities.

If you don't do more and learn more, how can your boss give you more important things to do? Even if you have a hundred times more confidence, he won't rest assured, because you are not qualified and can't take that risk.

Don't always complain about their talent, pay too little, think about how to improve their ability, or how to let the boss appreciate it.

Don't take things for granted. Don't take things for granted. Don't keep your fingers crossed. No one can help you get what you want except yourself.

advice
Like

About the Creator

santa jed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.