Humans logo

The Mystery of

The Little Black Book

By Cheryl ManonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

I probably order too much food delivery for a person of my limited means, but with the quarantine and all ... well, let's just say the food delivery business is booming. We gotta eat, right?

So, a couple of weeks ago I'm waiting for an order of homemade tamales from Molly's - the best in Oklahoma City. They even make a variety of salsas! Oh, and I'm watching creepy haunting videos as I often do.

KNOCK KNOCK!

I go to get my food, almost drooling as I think of how that first bite will taste. I open the door, but instead of a bag of tamales, I find ... a little black book.

"What the ...?"

I look around and see absolutely no one or nothing out of the ordinary. No delivery guy running back to his car, no car driving away - nothing.

Just in case, I yell into the darkness, "I am NOT picking that up, just so you know! I kick it across the porch and it actually falls off the elevated deck. I close and lock the door and return to my creepy videos.

KNOCK KNOCK!

"That better be my food," I grumbled as I stomped toward the door.

There it was ... the little black book ... on my doorstep! My heart started racing. I slammed the door, double-locked it, and called 9-1-1.

"9-1-1 What is your emergency?"

"I think someone is stalking me!" I told the operator what was happening.

"Ma'am, stay inside with your doors locked until the police arrive. They are on their way. Stay calm."

KNOCK KNOCK! "OKC Police Department" came a reassuring voice through my closed door. Still shaking but with a sigh of relief, I cautiously opened the door.

"Good evening, ma'am. My name is Officer Maurice Randall."

I looked around for that mysterious black book, but it was nowhere to be found. I had a nervous breakdown on the spot. With a trembling hand, I pointed at the officer's feet. "It ... It was there ... right there!" He looked down, around, and then at me.

My God, he must think I've lost my marbles, I thought to myself as the world spun around me and faded to black.

When I came to, there was emergency personnel surrounding me. I thought I must be dreaming. That's it ... I must have dreamt the whole thing and I'm still dreaming. Then I passed out again.

I woke up in the hospital. Am I still dreaming, I wondered.

"Nurse, she's awake," I heard a familiar voice say. I looked up to see my dad standing by me and I felt like a child in the safety of my dad's presence.

"Daddy..." I whispered in a raspy voice, raising a few fingers, and he took my hand. "I'm here, honey. Daddy's here."

A doctor and nurse entered the room. It took me a minute to recall the events of the evening. They went over the results of the labwork they had done with my Dad. All I really understood was, "She's going to be fine. You can take her home. We're going to send a prescription for anti-anxiety medication to her pharmacy. Try to keep her calm and well hydrated."

"Do you want me to take you back to your house or would you like to stay with me and Bernadene tonight?"

"Is she going to be okay with me being there?"

"Of course. I've already spoken to her. In fact, she's very concerned and insists on you staying with us tonight."

My comforted smile was my answer.

I spent a peaceful night with my Dad and Stepmom. They took me home the next morning. They stopped at my mailbox because I hadn’t picked it up in a few days since the snow was so high lately. I just shoved it all in my bag. Once in my driveway, I asked them to come in for a few minutes. Approaching the door I saw my food order on the doorstep and laughed a little. We went inside and sat in the living room. I pulled the mail out of my bag, and there was an unexpected package in the pile.

“Hmm … did I forget about something I ordered?” I opened it and seeing the contents I froze.

“What is it?” they both asked simultaneously.

I reached into the envelope and slowly pulled out … the black book. I started shaking so badly that I dropped it on the floor.

My dad, the ever-so-brave man that he is, picked it up and opened it. He read silently and a broad smile came across his face. His eyes beaming, he read out loud.

“Dear Cheryl, CONGRATULATIONS! We have received your story, “The Mystery of the Little Black Book.” It was the best piece of fiction we have read in quite some time, and we are pleased to call you the winner of this writing challenge!”

“Wh … what?!

Dad turned the page. “Your story is printed in this book, honey! May I read it out loud?”

I nodded.

By the end, he had tears of pride and joy streaming down his face. “You are a writer! You found your gift!”

My stepmom was beaming, too. “Oh, Cheryl! I’m so proud and happy for you!”

I couldn’t stop smiling, and even cry-laughing. I finally felt I had done something to make a little mark in the world!

Suddenly, I realized … I WON! I reached out for the book and flipped through it. An envelope fell to the floor. I closed my eyes and held my breath for a minute. I picked it up and opened it.

I pulled out a check … for TWENTY (f’ing) THOUSAND DOLLARS!!!

I turned it around to show my Dad and Bernadene. Their eyes opened wide, their jaws dropped.

“Congratulations, honey!” my dad said as he stood to hug me. Dad, not just the bravest man I know but also the smart (assiest), whispered in my ear and I burst out laughing.

“What did he say?” Mama B asked.

“Where are you taking us to dinner?”

literature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.