Humans logo

The Music is Always With Her

Introducing My Friend, Frances Boges

By Tanya Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Frances Boges October 2020

Music has always been a unique approach for artists to express emotion. Whether they are creating or lending their voice to another’s creation, a statement is made with each note conveyed. Place a musician at an event that is already ripe with emotion, and the voice amplifies the love, joy, or excitement of the moment.

Frances Boges and I became friends my senior year of college. I was newly engaged, looking forward to the end of the school year when I would change my name and begin a new life with my soon-to-be husband. Frances enjoyed singing and could often be heard practicing for the church choir through her dorm room door. Regardless of whether the song was upbeat or slower, there was always a great deal of expression within her voice.

As wedding planning progressed, the decision was made to include this beautiful voice in our celebration. Frances agreed and set about helping us decide on a meaningful song. Multiple options were presented, and I had the privilege to be serenaded with that unmistakable sound fairly regularly until the perfect chorus was chosen.

Frances grew up in the south, one of many children. Although she was a black woman, she never had an issue with any other racial group. Her family attended a traditional African American church every Sunday, then joined together as a group at the family home for a large, noisy dinner attended by all. As the family grew up, some took spouses from other ethnicities. Differences between races and cultures were respected and embraced, since all became part of the family, and family was, and still is, extremely important. Many of the siblings also share a love of song. This will be important to remember later in my story.

July 4, 1992, I arrived at the church before my future husband. He has a habit of not paying attention to the time, so he spent the night before at the home of his best man to ensure his timely arrival. The emotions wrapped up in a marriage ceremony can be overwhelming, yet we both managed to avoid the obnoxious bride- or groom-zilla attitude and focused on the excitement of a new future. As the ceremony began, I remember walking up the aisle and looking around at the people who had come to share this moment with us. Some were friends of his, whom I did not recognize. My mother, on the front row, already had tears of joy flowing down her face. His mother beamed with joy.

Up one, two, three steps. Remember the rehearsal. Look at the pastor. Listen. Turn to face my husband. Repeat the vows.

Pause.

The music started and I heard that sentimental alto voice. Prior to this day, I had heard our song vocalized perfectly multiple times. The surging emotions of the day reached even Frances as I heard her voice crack behind me. I looked up and whispered, “Is she crying?” then giggled when he replied “Yes.”

After the completion of the ceremony, we shared a conspiratorial laugh over the emotions and reactions that were presented by all.

More than 25 years later, I still love to hear Frances sing. For her 50th birthday, she decided to have a professional Christian artist attend her party to perform a private concert for friends and family. The siblings joined in singing familiar songs and enjoying plenty of love and laughter. The past few years, her birthday parties included various artists such as Bryan Duncan, Russ Taft, and others. For Frances, music has been an important part of her life, and she readily shares that joy with those around her.

Although we have all gotten a little older, moved to different cities, and do not always talk to each other as much as we once did, that one song on that special day has left a beautiful imprint on my heart. Frances’ wedding solo will always bring back happy memories of sharing important events with those we love.

friendship
1

About the Creator

Tanya

At 52 years of age, I still haven't figured out what I want to be when I grow up. Discovering Vocal gives me another outlet to discover my inner voice. I hope my stories bring joy to your day.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.