Humans logo

The Muddy Shoes

You head to your friends place for an event that was planned for weeks & you’re in a rush. You forget that its going to rain & your wear your new shoes.

By Goosey Q.Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Muddy Shoes
Photo by Moises Alex on Unsplash

I​t was cold & wet. The rain had picked up with no warning. My shoes filled with mud & dirt. "When did all this rain come from." I said. I step on the mat while I take off my shoes in hopes to not further damage the carpet. "Do not put them dirty shoes over there!" Someone explained. "Put them in the bath tub Where you can wash them off & let them dry!" She yells from a distance. "Fine then MOM!" I said jokingly. Before I pick up my sneakers that's filled with mud, I rip off a some sheets of paper towels from the kitchen next to me to put under my shoes, not to drop any mud in the house. I progressively move to left towards the bathroom where the shower is. "Don't start without me!" I yell as I'm moving towards the bathroom with what supposed to be my black & blue sneakers I got from the shoe store not too long ago.

I make my way to the bathroom which is pass this hallway with two-tone painted door. The painted door was creaked open to wear you see red light coming from the space. I find the bathroom & right when I open the door I see a person on the toilet yelling in shock. "EEK!" Someone yells. I close the door as fast as I had opened it & head back to the entrance holding the dirty shoes in my hand while making sure the paper towels hold the dirt & mud so it doesn't fall on the gray carpet. " Hurry up! We're waiting for you silly!" Someone says waiting at the table shuffling a set of cards in their hand. I put the shoes down next to the entrance on the right & walk into the kitchen that is also on the right with my blue socks with pizza all over them. When you can't have much pizza you might as well wear them to warm you up right? I open one of the draws to find two plastic bags. "Nobody uses these anymore." I murmured to myself. I take the black plastic bags & put my shoes in the bag so the paper towels doesn't die from trying to keep the mud from reaching the carpet. put the shoes down that's inside the black bag with the paper town & proceeded to head towards the table that's located in front of the kitchen.

You hear a sound from the left & see a person open a door leaving the bathroom. "Now's my chance." I whispered to myself. I grab the black bag that has my shoes with the paper towel & head to the bathroom like a sushi lover trying to get the last piece of sushi before they close the shop. enter the bathroom & put the shoes in the shower. The black plastic bag comes off & I turn on the faucet with warm water. The shoes enter the shower, under the water so the flow & strength can clean the mud & gunk off. Paper towels that had covered the mud from the shoes had wilted away & comes off. I take the wilted paper towels & put them in the trash that's next to the bathroom door.

The bathroom is a small room. You walk in to see a toilet in front & a sink to the right that's eye level, a small mirror that's a wrong shape, followed by the shower that's blended with a tub. The color of the bathroom is white with black and white tiles focusing more on the white. Most showers these days don't have a tub or its separated from the shower but that is what this was. I finish cleaning off the shoes & hang them on a hook I see on the opposite end of the shower where the faucet is. I check myself in the mirror & rinse off my face for a quick rinse & after a pat dry I leave the bathroom to meetup with everyone.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Goosey Q.

A Portfolio of Written Pieces from Poetry & Reviews, to Positive Affirmations & Mental Health. This page is to Inform, Educate, & Inspire people to take a positive outlook on life while relating to struggles that we have or haven’t faced.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.