Humans logo

The misadventures of a Dreamer

A winner’s story of loss

By Naomi Zacharias Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

It’s been approximately eight years since I’ve last seen the sun. I sleep. I wake. Now and then, I still manage to dream..which, as it turns out is the reason for my life-long misadventure.

I was nine years old when my mom suddenly gave me a sleek black journal. I guess I had been having trouble in school - This was my moms way to let me practice the things that I was learning away from the prying eyes of those seeking to evaluate. Don’t get me wrong, I had great teachers - but the pressure of knowing the things I was writing would be so acutely deduced prevented me from wanting to try.

At first, I didn’t know what I should write about. Anything that I jotted down suddenly felt stupid or inane.

I settled on something safe- I began writing out my dreams.

From a young age I’d always had an incredibly vivid dream life. Going to sleep was an adventure I looked forward to every night - a convenient escape from my tedious life. Night after night, my dream would start the same: I’m walking along a sidewalk, and then - out of no where there is a heavy shift in humidity. I fall forward. Instead of hitting the sidewalk, I fall through. I feel as if I’ve been put through hell, and all at once I’m walking on the other side of the sidewalk - a complete 180 from where I’d began, in a strange new place. It looks exactly like where I came from, but stale. The sky is in a state of indefinite sunset, which - under first observation is quite beautiful; The unchanging aspect of the sky however, is disconcerting. Beyond the perpetual warm haze - life goes on as it normally would, with the exception that here, nothing happens to me, but rather I get to be the observer, the judge, and the juror.

This is where I am powerful, and in control.

It all began fairly innocently at first, but soon I knew these dreams had meaning. When I would read back through my journal - I began noticing that ‘Under Reality’ (as I then called it) was actually the world we literally lived in - only ten years from now.

Things were crazily accurate.

As the years passed, I began having déjà vu from the dreams I’d had as a child. I became obsessed with my early writings - studying them as though my life depended on them. I began gambling with the knowledge I’d subconsciously come across years earlier.

And I’d win.

I always won.

I won in relationships, in finance, in career. Everything was lining up so perfectly.

It, of course, didn’t take long for the wrong people to take notice. At one point, I was offered $20,000 for intel. Obviously I took the money - but I wasn’t about to completely open my dream vault. I’d planned on crumbing people along.

I don’t really know what I was expecting to happen - I guess - I assumed that these people would assume my predictions couldn’t always be accurate.

I assumed too much.

They didn’t assume anything.

I don’t even know why I took the money. It’s not like I needed it..maybe I was proud to finally have or be something that people valued.

I shouldn’t have been surprised that they sold me out.

It wasn’t long before I found myself out of breath - sprinting down a forgotten path, clutching my notebook in a dystopian world where somehow, my unconscious thoughts had been turned into implements for other’s benefit.

I lost everything.

Now my body, once kissed by the sun, able and strong - is connected to so many wires and monitors..even my dreams are no longer my own. My skin, nearly translucent from being hidden so long.

I have no reason to live.

I have no agency to die.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.