Humans logo

The Miracle Book

All It Takes Is A Little Faith

By Barbara BealsPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1

It was warm out as Faith walked down the sidewalk towards the parking lot of the old library. The sun felt good on her skin so she took her time going to her car. It wasn’t anything fancy but she loved her small VW bug. For her last birthday her mother had gotten the car painted the most perfect shade of pink. Faith smiled to herself thinking of all the small things her mother had done for her. Their bond was tighter than any other she had. Faith was an only child, or as her mother called her, a miracle child. Her mother had been told many times by many doctors that she would never have a child of her own. It was on a blind first date that Faith was created. After a very tricky nine months, Faith came into this world red-faced and screaming. When she was placed in her mother’s arms, she quieted and just stared at her mother.

Growing up Faith had been a splendid child that everyone automatically loved. She was polite and affectionate to everyone; she was even an honor roll student who volunteered for many causes. Her mother often teased her that she should have been named Saint instead of Faith.

She volunteered at the local animal rescue three days a week and at a nursing home the other four days. Her passion in life was to help others, whether they were human or animal. She told everyone who would listen that everybody needed love and she was more than willing to give it. Today was a very special day. Faith had only graduated from high school two short months ago but she already knew what she wanted to do with her life. She did lots of research on helping the elderly by providing them a companion of the animal variety. She had written up a report on the pros and cons and how she planned on making this project a success. She had a meeting with her immediate supervisor from the animal rescue and the administrator of the nursing home she was volunteering at. She planned on pitching her idea to them both in just over an hour.

Two and half hours later Faith sat in her car trying not to let her tears fall down her cheeks. She wasn’t sure what else she could have done to make her two idols see the benefits of her program. They were both intrigued and thought it was a wonderful idea but could not fully back it at this time. Marcy, the administrator at the nursing home was not sure she could talk the medical board into allowing pets full time into the facility and Jenna, the adoption supervisor, could not approve the project due to budget issues. They both agreed however that if she could build a business plan where the shelter wouldn’t lose any money and where the medical board could not find fault in her plan, then they would both try to help her make it happen. Faith felt like she was back to the drawing board.

Just a few weeks later, Faith went to sit with one of the residents at the nursing home who she had become very fond of. Ms. Perkins was sitting by her window looking out into the courtyard when Faith walked in. “Good morning Ms. Perkins! How is my favorite lady today?”

Ms. Perkins smiled, “Hello dear, I’m fine I guess. What are we getting into today?” Faith could hear a slight sadness in her voice today that wasn’t normally there.

Deciding to get to the bottom of it she asked, “Well, I kind of thought we would run away to a far off exotic island and drink some of those fruity drinks you often talk about. What do you say? Sound like fun?”

Chuckling, Ms. Perkins shook her head, “Faith my dear, there will be no adventures today, I have way too much to get done before tomorrow. I just don’t want to get started. Do you mind helping an old woman out?”

Now Faith was really worried. “I will gladly help you with anything you want to do, you know that. What are we doing that you don’t want to do?”

“My son is coming tomorrow to take me to his house to live since that darn doctor told them I am able to leave whenever I want. He said my rehab was completed weeks ago and he saw no reason for me to stay. I’m really going to miss everyone here and all my friends but I’m going to miss our adventures the most. I don’t want to be stuck at his house all day with his wife fussing over me like I can’t do for myself. I just don’t want to go.” With that last statement, she sobbed into her hands. Faith had never felt so helpless in her life.

Wrapping the older lady in her arms, she squeezed her slender shoulders and just let her cry. She spoke softly when she finally could, “There, there. It’s going to be ok. Just think of this as just another adventure. And you can’t get rid of me that easily. I’ll give you my phone number and address and maybe your son will let me come visit you at his house. It’ll all work out, you’ll see.” The rest of the day flew by in a blur as Faith helped Ms. Perkins pack up all her stuff. While they worked, they discussed how Faith’s meeting had gone about her project and they brainstormed about how to make it work.

Bright and early the next morning Faith got ready and was on her way to the rescue when she got a phone call. She pulled into a gas station thinking it might be her mom. Looking at the caller ID, she recognized the number as the administrator’s number for the nursing home. Thinking it was about her meeting, she quickly answered. Marcy asked if she could stop by for a few minutes, that it was important.

Faith sat in the administrator’s office staring blankly at the manila envelope on her lap. Marcy had gently laid in there and took the chair next to her. Her name was scrawled on the envelope but Faith was still in shock at the news that Ms. Perkins had passed in her sleep and wanted to make sure Faith had gotten this. She felt an incredible amount of grief but as of yet, could not cry. She had been so alive just yesterday and now she was gone. How could this be happening? They had made plans to talk on the phone at least every other day if possible.

With perfect instinct, Marcy reached her phone and called Jenna to let her know what had happened and to let her know that Faith wasn’t able to make it to the rescue today after all. Jenna understood and sent her love. Marcy relayed the message and suggested that Faith open the package in the privacy of her home. Faith looked up at Marcy and blinked several times before her words sunk in. Nodding, Faith stood and went home.

Sitting on her bed with the envelope on her lap, Faith gently opened the flap and pulled out the notebook from inside. Her shaky fingers lightly ran across the letters on the bottom right hand corner, “Moleskine”. Faith new the company that the notebook had come from but she was not sure how Mrs. Perkins could have obtained such a prestigious notebook. The black cover felt almost like leather. It was now or never. Faith slowly opened the cover and began to read the elegant script inside.

“My dearest Faith. I am sorry to have to do this in a letter but I knew my time was short. I knew the doctors were not telling me the entire truth when they suggested I go to my son’s. I have been tired for a very long time and just wanted to be with my beloved husband again. Oh how I will miss our adventures. Thank you so much for allowing an old woman to feel young again. In the pages to follow you will find the business plan that you need to make your dream possible. I would have loved to actually see how wonderful it turned out. You see, my husband owned a good bit of property that borders this facility. When he passed, my son and I built seven cottages along the border and were going to donate them to the facility. Until now there was never a use for them. I have had my lawyers draw up the arrangements for the cottages to be used for your project. They are to be used by people you choose who want to participate in having rescue pets to fill their lives with joy. The cottages are to be managed by you to make sure that they are being used for the purpose you have chosen. I have left my entire estate to fund your project. My dear, you will never have to worry about where your funding is coming from again. My son does not need my money so there will be no problems from him. When I spoke to my grandson about what I wanted to do, he loved the idea and wanted to help any way that he can. I often told you that you reminded me of him in so many ways. I have left his contact information below for you to call him. All I ask is that you journal about your project in this notebook and when the time is right, you publish your story for the world to read so they will know of the wonderful and caring heart you have. One last thing, aside from funding your project, you will find a check in the notebook for $20,000.00 that you are to use solely for your enjoyment. Maybe you can use it to go on one last adventure with me in mind and reward yourself for all the love you give to everyone you come in contact with. I love you sweet girl and I am so very proud of you! Mrs. P”

With tears flowing down her cheeks, Faith hugged the notebook to her chest and just allowed herself to grieve. She was not sure how long it would take to make this dream happen, but she knew exactly what it would be called.

Just six short months later, Faith stood outside at a podium not believing how many people had shown up for the grand opening of the Grace Perkins Pets for Seniors Program. Sitting behind her to the left was Robbie, Mrs. Perkins’ grandson and her new fiancé. It turned out that Mrs. P was right and they fit perfectly together. It had started out with them working together to get the cottages ready for residents but in no time turned into the greatest love that either of them had ever experienced. Faith had decided that the twenty thousand dollars that she had been given would be for their honeymoon where they agreed would be a beautiful tropical island with fruity drinks. It seemed fitting that her adventure would be exactly what Mrs. P would have enjoyed.

“Today marks the start of a very special dream that I’ve had for quite some time. As far back as I can remember I have had a calling to help those around me. I shared this dream with a very dear lady and it is all thanks to her that we have been able to turn that dream into a reality for so many. Little did I know that all those afternoons with Mrs. Perkins would lead me here. It is with great joy that I hereby open the Grace Perkins Pets for Seniors Program.” And with that, Faith cut the huge pink ribbon and turned toward her future.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Barbara Beals

Single mom who has always had a love for writing. Looking to finally pursue my dream of being a writer. I have so many ideas running around in my head that I hope to share with everyone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.