Humans logo

The Love of My Life

Toby and Greg

By Toby TubbsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

For my first post, I am writing about the love of my life. We just celebrated our one year anniversary on 6/29/2020 and it was the best day we’d had in months. Due to the virus we were not able to do the fun things we were accustomed to like going to the movies, traveling to see our friends or family, or just going out to dinner. Being able to just spend time with him to build our relationship stronger and take it to the next level is amazing. He understands me. He doesn’t judge me. He accepts me for me and that is one of many qualities I love so much about him. He is a mans man and he always says I am the woman in the relationship because I cry at sappy movies and I am a very emotional person. Greg is the man I am going to spend my life making happy. So, for anyone reading this, don’t ever take your partner for granted. Always, always communicate and love unconditionally. Never judge one another, instead compliment. Never sweat the small stuff, instead laugh it off. Never lie, instead tell the truth. I will hate you less if you tell me the truth so I can deal with it in the present. Love is the key to a long lasting healthy relationship. I am a Pisces and my sign is very emotional and always wear my heart of my sleeve. Being vulnerable is the one way I have found is a good way to find love. Although, to many times I thought I found love, it turned out it was just a game to some. Using me for what I could offer them mostly, which was stability and me paying for pretty much everything. With Greg, he pays for pretty much everything while I take care of my past finances and me putting myself through school to better my life and what will be our future. He tells me all the time, “whatever you want babe”. It is nice to know there is someone who is willing to put my needs before there’s in most situations. He knows my past history and he doesn’t judge, he only tells me that I am a great guy and apologizes constantly when I get depressed or tell him what’s wrong. He comforts me and tells me he loves me and that will never change. I cannot believe that I have finally found the guy who was created, just for me. I know that sounds corny, but at the end of the day, he is there for me, and I for him. Every night we fall asleep together, and the mornings we wake together are gifts. He doesn’t have to, but he does. His parents are still in the dark about us, mostly because I am a man, and I do have a son. Yes, I was married to a woman. I was one of those men who was a people pleaser, who gave my all to make things better in my life. Being straight was the easy way to live life. My family was very religious, and I thought me coming out would destroy the relationship I held with them. After I came out, they still loved me. My sister was my biggest fan. She stood up for me in ways I never dreamed possible. My life has become so much more these last three years. Greg, was only supposed to be a one time deal, but something magical happened. He is a kind, caring, compassionate man and I could and will not ask for anything more than for him to be who he is. I will leave this post with this, no matter how much you’ve been through with your past relationships, or the kinds of people you’ve been with, there will always be one person out there who sees you for you and will accept you for you. That is the kind of person you want in your life. That is the kind of person you want to be with. That is the kind of person you want to fall in love with.

lgbtq
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.