Humans logo

The Log Cabin

On a cold, windy night, someone finds shelter

By Jamie LammersPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I see a log cabin up ahead. Finally, some shelter. I’ve been walking through these lush woods for at least half an hour. I was only planning on taking a quick walk in the snowy forest, but a blinding blizzard started with no warning and I lost my orientation. I have no idea which direction is the right direction, which way goes further into the woods and which way takes me back home. Now, finally, a sign of some sort of shelter. I can take refuge inside that cabin until the blizzard dies down and I can figure out where I am. The snowflakes swirl around me as the wind continues to pick up and blast in my face. Despite the fact that I am wearing a down jacket, snow pants, thick gloves, and heavy winter boots, I am freezing cold. It feels like -20 degrees Fahrenheit out here. In fact, I wouldn't be surprised if it was. As I continue walking towards the cabin, it feels like it’s moving further and further away from me. After what feels like five minutes, the cabin stops in place, and I start making actual progress reaching it. I finally make it to the front of the cabin, and I walk up the two stairs leading to the door. I jiggle the door handle, and because the door is so old, it takes me a good ten seconds to push in the door. I quickly get inside and close the door behind me. Oh, finally. I’m somewhere that’s at least warmer than out there.

I turn around, and my eyes widen as I realize what I’ve just walked into. I thought that this cabin would be in complete disrepair, that it would have older furniture, or at the very least that it wouldn’t have the same kind of comforts as home. When I turn around, however, I see an absolutely beautiful interior that looks as clean as if someone just sold the place. There's nice, clean, bright red carpeting, a beautiful maroon couch, and a brick fireplace. A fireplace! Yes! There’s a pile of wood to the right of the fireplace, and a lighter on a table next to the wood pile. I take off the excessive layers, put them on a coat hanger nearby, grab six blocks of wood, shove them in, grab the lighter, and start the fire. Once the fire is started, I plop myself on the couch, which is situated right in front of the fireplace. I feel the warmth of the fire radiate towards me, and after a minute or so, my shivering settles. I close my eyes and let out a nice big “Aaaahhh” as I sink into the couch and relax. I take deep breaths in and out as I fall deeper and deeper into a state of relaxation. The next thing I know, I wake up again. I have no idea how long I was asleep for, but I look outside and the blizzard has completely stopped. I take a second to look out the window and see if I can spot anything that marks where I am in the woods and how I can get home. I see my footprints. A direct trail home. I put on my layers again, step outside, and follow my footprints for a while, looking around to find signs that I’m nearing home. Aha! I see a chopped down stump that I recognize as one near my property. I know where I am now. I continue on for another two minutes, and I find home again. As I start walking towards my house, I wonder how worried my parents will be. I hope they aren’t too worried… but wait until they hear about the log cabin.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.