Humans logo

The Little Things We Do

When a friend's professor asks her to help a student...

By Zoe E. CarbajalesPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

A friend of mine, who I'm going to call RN in this little story decided to go back to college and get her master's in journalism. Well since we both had had a blast during our master's for Creative Writing I figured I'd sit back and help out where I could proofreading, editing, blah, blah, blah. So our running joke was I shared her grade (yes I absolutely know I do not share that grade folks its strictly for laughs). So she's been doing really well through the entire Journalism course and of course as her friend I just couldn't be prouder. There were a handful of times where she actually wanted to quit the entire program and I said, "Oh no, if I wasn't allowed to bail during bachelor's you can't bail during master's. Do not make me take a five hour drive or drink a Red Bull and grow wings (again yes I know I won't actually grow wings strictly for laughs here) and pull several all nighters with you to get these assignments finished. Well honestly she actually liked the sound of that and it was more like threatening her with a good time so I was like, "Oh for crying out loud. You are staying in the program I can do edits and proofread you got this."

Well, somewhere along the long she had to do a podcast for class. That opened a whole new world to both of us, especially for me because several years ago you couldn't even get me to sit in front of a video camera willingly. Well we started the podcast and one of her professor's liked it so much so that when another student who had just started the journalism course started asking around about how to do things for podcasting that professor reached out to RN to give that student some pointers. So we kind of laughed how the professor mentioned how well our podcast was put together. Folks to be honest, as much as we both really appreciated what that professor had said its just RN and myself talking about the most ridiculous and random stuff that comes to mind unless we do have an actual topic for the evening or a guest as well. Our podcast is raw, uncensored, not for the faint of heart or oh so easily offended either. Because as I have stated oh so many times on the podcast, "We aren't going to cater to bleeding hearts feelings at all. It's our podcast we have our warning up. Deal with it."

Needless to say she receives an email from said student in question and reads me the quick little note. Ending with his name. I repeated his name. She said yes. I started laughing, "You've gotta be kidding me." RN asks, "What's up?" I said, "I use to do work for him, or rather volunteer for him in writing. Then there was a falling out." So now at this point we're both laughing. I finally say, "Well, this is definitely going to be interesting to say the least." So we set the Zoom meeting up for such and such a date memory due to bipolar is pretty bad think it was a Wednesday evening. RN hopped in the Zoom call first, I needed to finish up a couple things first then I hopped in the Zoom. Well when I hopped in the look on his face was absolute surprise that it was me who was RN's co-host. He was like, "Hey I know Zoe. Long time no see." I laughed and said, "Yeah, it's been a while hasn't it." So we all started talking about podcasting and it went well. The animosity that had been there because of the falling out kind of dropped away as well. He said, "Hey look can we just bury the hatchet." I said, "Yes." The rest of the Zoom went well even talked about Dr. Who and those dreadful Weeping Angels that give me the worst nightmares. Whoever thought those horrible things up and their backstory should be slapped upside the head. Although with Halloween coming up I'm half tempted to walk around with signs that say, "Don't Blink." and put them on neighbors statues. Even on the garden gnomes if I find any. So many giggles there and hope they have a sense of humor.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Zoe E. Carbajales

Master's Degree in Creative Writing at Full Sail University. She works for Darakin Studios a table top gaming company that runs darker themes. Crafter, Crocheter, Podcaster, and Writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.