Humans logo

The Little Black Notebook

Hope

By Dottie Jo MarshPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
The Little Black Notebook

I have been working at the Golden Used bookstore for over 5 years. I enjoy doing something I love. It also allows me, first look on all new arrivals to the store. For just $5.00 a month I could grab up to 5 books from the store and add them to my personal book collection. Most books came from donations or Estate sales. Books arrive old and weathered. In our wonderful little store, you could find a spectacular collection of favorite treasured books. I think I spend more time here on my days off then when I work.

I am snapped out of my daydreaming with the sound of the little chime bell above the door. A young delivery hottie guy brings in a batch of books. I am debating talking with him but, who am I fooling, nothing is more important than new books. Since I am not actually working today, I push the boxes to the side, so I could get first dibs in reviewing them.

The boxes have a Label “Penny”. We all know what that means. The Joseph Penny collection is massive. His personal library was made up of rare and exquisite books. Joseph and his wife would come in every two weeks to search through the new arrivals. I enjoyed seeing them when they came in. Joseph and Jessica were so gracious, and they enjoyed helping others. Every year they made a visit to the Saint Elizabeth’s orphanage where they lived as children. They would host a party for all the children and bring special gifts. He always encouraged them to reach for the stars. Every child had a chance to succeed with Jessica and Joseph in their lives.

Joseph and Jessica both lost their parents when they were small. They grew up as friends in the orphanage and learned to be caring because of the teachers and caregivers who surrounded them. They taught them love and compassion. Something that Joseph’s distant relatives didn’t teach him when they abandoned him at the orphanage instead of bringing him into their homes.

Jessica was such a gentle soul. Her life at the orphanage allowed her to experience nature and healing. You felt like the room would become light and bright when she entered it.

I remember there was no fanfare or memorials for Joseph from his distant family upon his death. The town’s people came out in droves because Joseph and Jessica had helped nearly everyone in the town. The Penny’s always seemed to sense when someone was in need. Bills, mortgage payment or medical expenses would mysteriously be paid without a single request. Money would just arrive in little white envelopes with no labels or return addresses. It was like Joseph and Jessica had ESP. We all knew it was them, but no one ever said anything to embarrass them. The town folk would just drop off cakes, pies and cookies. Yard work would suddenly be completed with no request.

After the funeral, a mass of strange people descended on the town. It would appear as every distant relative thought they would get some part of the massive estate. I bet you could hear a pin drop when the “Will” was read and everyone was disappointed with the distributions. Joseph had donated all of the wealth to Saint Elizabeth’s orphanage. He wanted to let the children know they had not been forgotten. He put money into college funds and tech schools. He wanted the best for the forgotten children.

Even though I have the day off, I know management will not mind me opening the boxes and starting the shelving process. I peeled back the tape of the first box. It was loaded full of poker how too books. I guess Joseph had a secret passion for gambling. I started reading his notes. I might be able to become a millionaire.

My old homestead needed a facelift. If the roof gave away, I would lose my treasured book collection. I inherited the place from my Grandparents. They knew I would enjoy the expansive built in library. I still have memories of the smell of grandma’s special cookies and grandpa’s fairy tales.

I was moving on to the second box when a man quickly walks up and kneels down on the floor next to me. He grabs the poker box and rifles through it like it was junk. I could see the impatience in his eyes as he is searching. He flings the books around like trash. I am not looking forward to picking them up. As I stare at him in amazement, I see a stream of golden light shining down on the last box of Joseph’s books. I am shocked out of my daydream by the man grabbing the box. He tears it open like all the other boxes. In a huff he looks at me and pushes the box over towards me. It appears he takes no pleasure in the works of fiction and literature in front of us. His life must be disappointing. He looks at me and mumbles something about it being my type of books. Who was this hostile man and who was he to thinks he has an idea what I like?

I pull the box close and wonder what was in it that made the man think I would enjoy it? As I stare down into the box, I see multi color “Moleskine” notebooks. These notebooks are high quality and luxurious. I see red, pink, blue, green and a small “Black Notebook”. I pull them out one by one and I notice each journal has a single word on the cover. I am so excited and overwhelmed to be in possession of Joseph’s thoughts. I am sure they must be filled with treasures and stories. The red notebook is labeled “Love”. I know my time is limited before someone else comes in to browse the books. I will have to wait to read them. I gather up the notebooks and run them to the front counter. If I put a note on them that they are mine, it should give me time to clean up. I hurry back to the boxes and grab a hand full of books and shove them on the empty shelves located nearby. Tomorrow I can organize them by subject but right now I want to get the task done. The notebooks on the counter are calling my name.

I scurry to the counter and grab my stash. I grab the notebooks and hold them up so Amber the cashier can see them as I stumble towards the door. I fumble for my member card to prove I can take them. Amber has an annoyed look. Everyone knows I am a member of the club and I never leave with more books than I have a right to. I practically live at the store.

The drive home is painfully slow. My driveway seems extra-long today. I squeal to a stop and jump out like there is a fire. I grab my hoard of notebooks from the back seat. I struggle to get my keys in the door and nearly fall through as it comes open. Riley my silly dog comes barreling at me with full force. She hits me like a truck and everything in my arms goes flying. I try to smile and know she loves me. For a moment, I ignore the notebooks spread out on the floor. I open the door for Riley, and she makes her departure for the yard. Now I have a few minutes to pick up my stuff and get organized.

I usher Riley in and make my way over to my favorite chair. I place the notebooks on the end table so I can get my reading gear. I make my way to the kitchen to grab a drink and treat. I grab my reading glasses off the shelf. I quickly return to my comfy chair. Riley is patiently waiting for her hugs and kisses. I know she needs my love so I struggle through 5 minutes of serious petting, I can tell you it is the longest 5 minutes of my life.

I finally am able to pick up the Red notebook labeled “Love”. I start reading the lines of love inspired words. Joseph describes his surroundings in his garden. He examines and explains each tree and bush. Every flower has a name and a meaning. He explains his love for Jessica and the joy they share.

Book two is Pink and has the word “Trust”. Joseph shares his insights on Peace and Trust. He explains how to earn and retain trust. His description of how to maintain trust on all levels make me long for kinship with friends and family.

Book three is Blue and has the word “Strength”. This book talks about inner strength and showing strength without strife. Mentally preparing for the challenges in life and overcoming them.

Book four is Green and has the word “Life”. This journal is full of stories about the children at the orphanage. The songs they sing and the games they play. It is filled with the happy stories Joseph and Jessica would tell the children.

Book five is Black and has a elastic band that holds the book close. The cover is leather and slightly worn but not where the Gold lettering says “Hope.” Unlike the other journals this one has a firm hard cover and crisp white pages. I start reading the first page as it talks about the hope of a child. Joseph talks about the hopes he had as a child and the dreams that drove him to strive harder. The tearful stories of losses and success. The perseverance when he met and pursued Jessica. She was not interested at first. However, the love story and the trust they shared grew strong. All of this brought him to the last paragraph in his little black notebook. It was written in Red ink. I guess to make it stand out.

“If you have read all my stories and enjoyed my inspirations. You took the time to learn about me and my life. I want to share one last joy of Love, Trust, Strength, Life and Hope. I hope Sam my accountant did not scare you off. I told him to do whatever it took to make sure you received the journals.” I am thinking the crazed man from earlier must have been Sam.

Joseph’s writing continues. “Kirstin, I knew you would take the time and enjoy my stories. You have always been a special inspiration in our lives. I see the love and care you show to the people who come into the store. That kind of kindness does not go unnoticed. Go to the end of this notebook there is a little white envelope for you. I hope that with it, you can follow your dreams.”

I flipped past the few blank pages to find a small white envelope with a heart drawn on it. I peel it off the back page of the notebook. It feels slightly heavy. As I peel back the flap on the envelope, I see the top of President Grover Cleveland’s Head. I stop for a moment and then start pulling out the contents of the envelope. I count as I am pulling the stiff paper out of the envelope. One, Two, Three… Twenty. Did I really count twenty? Did I really just count $20,000? Joseph had left me $20,000 in his Little Black Moleskine Notebook! THANK YOU, JOSEPH!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Dottie Jo Marsh

Dottie was born in Ohio. She joined the US Navy at age 17 . After serving she Moved to Oregon with her family. After 7 years in Oregon they moved to Las Vegas, Nevada. In 2010 Dottie and her daughter published their first book.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.