Humans logo

The little black book.

Story

By NoorPublished 3 years ago 11 min read
Like

Walking around the beachside in the afternoon at the Horseshoe Bay, Bermuda. I and my friends plan a night out and looked into the rest of the week, where we could go to see the beach and the city.

Mike had the city map we got from the hotel reception, we planned to go to Aqua Marin and other places, but for tonight we are going to the party at the hotel. We took few photographs on the beach, Lucy and Mike decided to go back to the hotel while I have stayed behind a little longer.

The Sunlight was warm, I feel the heat on my skin and it feels so good to be here under the sun. I sat down and move my hand down on the sand, the wave hits my hands and feet while the sand moves through my fingers. I stood up to have a little walk around the beach.

As I walk by, I see this isolated area of the beach facing the sea between two rocks, the sound of the waves is very echoey feels so calming to hear. I enter through isolated area where I see the shells on the sand, I feel the water wave moves the sand back and forth.

I recognize something black in between the sand, I reach down for it to pull it out of the sand. I sat down and remove the sand out of the book to see what this book is all about. A leather book that is small with a strangely metal lock into the side and a geometrical shape on the cover of the book.

I hold the book and feel the geometrical shapes with my fingers. I remove the lock from the side of the book to find out what it has inside, it does not open so easily. I put my fingers through the geometrical shapes where I spin the middle point around, the geometrical shapes move into round circler shapes into one point.

I open the book; I see the paper melt into a different shape. This is surprising as I have never seen a thing like this before, it is not like a paper with a written word, but it is a paper that can melt into a different form which the liquid produces different shapes, writing appear into 3-dimensional writing words, objects, and signs. The objects and writings give direc-tions on where to go to. while I touch the shapes, it is so smooth that melts into a metallic liquid just like mercury, it is so amazingly fascinating to see.

I follow the direction and somehow this book gives me the sign to go through the rocks, this is so confusing I look around the beach where I am there is only me in this spot.

I follow the direction into the rock, the rock opens into a tunnel to a different place. I wave my hands through just to see if I could feel the rock where it has disappeared, and I feel nothing solid there like the rock has gone to nothing but a real tunnel where I could go in-side.

I am scared and amazed at the same time how this could happen. I walk inside it is in a dif-ferent city and I do not look well appropriate dressed to be in here with my swimming suit and the fabric around my waist.

As I am holding the book in my hands the middle page changes into different shapes and it melts down where it falls onto the floor and it forms a new dress, shoes, an old fashion vin-tage dress. I quickly dress up myself.

I look around to see where I am and to figure out what building I am at. I am amazed. The interior of the building is so amazing with the arch structure at the top and the doom hang-ing from the ceiling, an o’clock, and a map of Australia. all-around big o'clock there are im-ages of Australia views from across the sea, it looks so beautiful. I am at Queen Victoria Building, Sydney. This is a different time and place to form where I have come from. I have gone back in time to the 1940s.

The book gives me a metallic card that has a map, I follow the directions where it leads me.

As I look around, I can see the shops on different levels, I walk on the edge of the balcony to see the view and all levels of the building inside to observe the perspective view from all sides.

The card shows the direction that goes to one of the shops on the second floor. I went down-stairs to get to the shop, While I pass by, I see everyone looks so good well-dressed and I look odd in this place. I do feel weird being in a different place and at a different time that is not the same as my own.

I approach the shop; it's a tinted dark glass window with a black door on it and there is no sign or name shows what this shop is called or what it is there for.

The card directs me to open the door, I went inside the room is dark and it feels so mysteri-ous there is a red curtain opens by a man wearing a nice uniform, he welcomes me in and points with his hand to the table showing me where to sit. He pulls the chair and ask me po-litely to sit down and wait.

I put the book on the table holding it open and looking at the liquid melts and flows into the table. The table has lines forming the shape of a tree branch, where the liquid flows into the lines filling every line part of this table.

There is a door in front of the table opens a lady comes in with her dress and hair curled, she sits in front of me across the table says ‘’welcome to the secret place of the little black book.’’

‘’What is your name? I said ‘Eva.’

‘’Where did you find the book?’’

‘’I found the book at the beach Horseshoe Bay, Bermuda.’’

‘’Aha A beach’’

‘’Yes’’

‘’Let me tell you what this book is all about and what it is made for. This little black book is a magical key and guide to a game that is made to give reward’’ Alice

‘’A reward! what kind of reward? ‘’ Eva, ‘’whoever finds the book gets a reward of money.’’ Alice

‘’Oh money’ ’Eva

‘’Yes, you will need to use this book as a tool by playing the game and using the rules. you will need to do everything are told and your reward will be gained. Please follow me to this room.’’ Alice

I entered another room to start the game. The room looked so dark and dim, but wherever I lay my eyes on something, there is a little light that shows the part where I am looking at. The lady walks to me and gives me the book.

‘’Keep this book with you as it is a part of a key that will guide you, you must follow rules right and do them well to win, and you have few lives that will save you, I will leave you to understand the rest.’’ Alice.

‘’Life, what do you mean? will I die? I am not sure if I really want to play this game. I do not want to die.’’ Eva

‘’Do not worry you will die as in losing in the game, if you do not follow the order or fail, or if you decide to leave the game.’’ Alice

‘’Oh, I see.’’ Eva

‘’I will leave you now to play the game.’’ Alice,

I looked at her feeling that, I did not want her to leave me alone. she looked at me as if she knew I wanted her to stay, she said ‘’ Don’t worry you will do well’’ and smiled.

The light point on a small area where a vintage music box raises from the ground, it starts to play the music which is the intro of the game.

The book shakes through my hands I open it and the metallic liquid flows from the ground flowing up around the box.

Different forms of harmony shapes appear as if it is dancing with the rhythm of the music to start the game.

While the music plays a new path appears leading to go behind the box to step further at the side, the metallic liquid shape shows a direction leading me to walk along the way, I see the wall in front of me shift and moves a little farther and space becomes little bigger than be-fore.

As I begin the game, the first step is to through a ball on different objects. a crystal ball is handed to me through the metallic liquid.

In front I see three glasses laying on the shelf, each one of them has paper the order says you need to throw the ball to break the glass.

I broke one of them and I reached to open the paper, the question it says to write three things you like?

I look to the side where a vintage o’clock appears on the side ticking the minimum minutes with lights flashing, I wrote down random things like bird’s flowers and the moon.

The Second step after I got handed a shimmer paper has a dare that says drink the red drink, a metallic liquid forms a small table offering a glass with a drink. I have drunk all of it was sweet but didn’t recognize what really it is, and I felt very dizzy.

I started to see the lights form into a shape through the light-producing spiral moving around which before it was a bold two colours. spinning round and round in front of me just like an optical illusion.

A new path has appeared to move to the next step with the liquid forming a shape that says to walk along but I see just the mid-point where I look is just spinning around. I try to wait for it to stop it, but it does not.

I raise my hand to look at it, its glitching with the movement of the spiral shape in front of me. Suddenly there was a sound that comes up and took all that vision away.

I find myself off to the next step which is the fourth and I am not sure exactly what hap-pened in the third step, and I do not remember anything.

Flashing lights start to glow around to make bright light while metallic liquid flows carry-ing the book. Where it spins around from the ground little higher with the rhythm of the music.

The liquid flows around me I raise both hands, it folds around my hands making a branch of roses that lays around my hands making two cards, which I need to pick one of them. I pick the one on my right, it says you should throw the card into the wall, a wall with the different opening of rectangular shapes. I throw it into the wall.

The space shift and opens into a maze of green leaves and red roses, I follow the directions inside to find my way to the end.

There are few holes on the ground which I need to jump to get through to the other side the metallic liquid moves with its wavy shapes flowing around beside me while I go inside the maze.

I reach to the middle point, where I see two mirror one facing front and one facing back. I look where I see myself reflecting into the mirror multiple times just like room inside an-other room where mirror feels like a window to the other side, where I see myself.

There is something strange about this mirror While I am not moving, I see myself waving to my-self and it says ‘’Hey you listen you are trapped, there is no way going back. Did you know that’’?

Then the mirror from behind ‘’Hey don’t listen to yourself, I, you or we… your just lost as we are’’ I look at both mirrors shocked, and the metallic liquid follows my face direction as if it is looking with me.

I say ‘’What do you mean I am trapped? or lost? what does that mean? They both look at me and say you lost in here we are taking you down’’.

Then the floor break and shake just like an earthquake, I try to hold grip the ground by hand, but it slips away, and I fall down the metallic liquid raps around my body.

While I am falling the darkroom disappear and change into a blue sky. I reach the beach, Where I saw the little black book in between the two rocks. The metallic liquid holds me down and a bag of money handed to me the metallic liquid wave just like a hand waving and flows back into the rock where I first entered.

I look into the bag it was filled with money, I run quickly back to the hotel, I enter my bedroom. I’m late for the party and both of my friends knock the door to see me I open the door both of them say ''Where have you been all this time, it's late get dressed quick'' I looked at mike and Lucy ‘'I will get ready now just wait for me down stairs'' Eva

I close the door and lean on it with a smile thinking wow what a journey.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.