Humans logo

The Lilac

My friend is here

By T. K. WilsonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
The Lilac
Photo by Daniel Loftus on Unsplash

October started as any October I have lived before, except for one fact. One of my dear friends was dying of brain cancer. :-( She was no ordinary friend! She was the sweetest, most talented, most understanding and uplifting person I know!!! So why had she been burdened with this malady? To teach me the lesson of living EVERY day to the fullest, as she had? To teach us all to see the good in everything? Even as she lay dying, she was more worried about what was going on with me and with other friends and praying for her miracle, so that she could join us again in fun activities.

I don't remember the exact day that I met her, but I feel that I've known her always. Even though I know her spirit left that suffering shell, I still feel it with those who loved her, because she took up so much of our hearts. Each of us will take something we learned from her and incorporate it into every day for the rest of our lives.

I have so many memories of her that I could fill a book with too many pages to read, but my very favorite was when she and her awesome husband lived in Texas. My best friend and I, went to visit and from then on, we were like the 3 musketeers. I have pictures to prove it! Thank God! We had the best mini vacation that I ever remember having! The second night there, we played a board game "Worst Scenerios" and had some very great discussions over it. I think, that before the game was over, her husband went to bed. Then after the game, my best friend was beat, and she wanted to roam the city as she always did and she went to bed. Tracey and I had always been talkers and we began sharing story after story after story... just before the sun was coming up, we decided we should get some rest, since we heard her husband beginning to get ready for work. Just as I was falling asleep, I could hear my best friend rousing and none to happy that we were just going to sleep. :-) So, she went out exploring the city on her own. I woke up as she came back in and we sat talking until Tracey got up and about. Then Tracey took us to show us where she worked and the places she enjoyed going to. When her husband got home from work, we went back and switched to his car and went to dinner at an awesome place and finished up our evening. We were all full and sleepy when we were done, so we talked just a little and all went to bed. The next morning was Saturday, so hubby didn't have to go to work and we started the day with a great breakfast of omelets and toast for breakfast, cooked by said hubby! Then we loaded up and adventured to IKEA, since its home base is there. WOW, one of the longest hikes I have ever been on! Definitely the most interesting & with 3 of the most interesting and fun people I know!!! We had IKEA meatballs for lunch, finished the trek and loaded back into the vehicle. Hubby took us on a driving tour of the city, the road system & where he worked. I call Tracey's husband, "hubby", because this story is about and for her AND I would wish every girl alive a hubby like Tracey's!!! He gave us a great tour and we had great conversation and then they treated us to an awesome, home-cookin' restaurant where we had good food, great service and a good time! We talked a bit longer when we got back to their home, because the next morning was packing up and heading back to Tennessee. That was the best mini vacation and my most favorite moments with Tracey.... I LOVE AND MISS HER MOSTEST....forever

friendship
3

About the Creator

T. K. Wilson

I've always told my true event stories to friends, but decided to try my hand at writing fiction. Wish me luck and give me any support that you think I might deserve! Even if it is a read and subscribe to read more... THANK YOU :-)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.