Humans logo

The Job

Part two

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1
The Job
Photo by Joey Csunyo on Unsplash

They are grasping at each other like their lives depend on it.

Their kiss is deep, filled with moans and pants and whispers of, oh baby, please, and even sweeter endearments, and Mike is trying not to think about all his police training, getting his bachelors at UCLA for criminal justice, the shitty time he had at the academy that turned out okay in the end, and passing that the Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) exam. All of that education and training, and working part time as a dish washer just to pay for the bills while he did that... now that was all down the drain.

He’d never going to get to be a cop again, not after just leaving his precinct like this. No notice, nothing. It’s suspicious as hell and definitely not normal.

And the fact that one of the guys will be missing from the group. Fuck.

At the hotel airport, they got a room before their flight with a double bed, but they only are using one.

And Joe is acting like it’s his first time.

He’s clumsy, he’s fumbling around, unsure of what to do, asking constantly if it’s okay, and if he’s doing something wrong, but Mike thinks it’s really fucking cute, and just keeps kissing him.

They decided to go to Australia.

Joe bought their tickets, out of his own sense of pride, and also, he wanted to take care of Mike.

But, he got coach.

Mike teases him, and they try not to hold hands in public, as Joe winks at him. “I told ya I was a cheap bastard!” Joe says, and Mike nods in agreement, laughing.

In the hotel bed, Joe is literally euphoric, and has nothing on his mind but Mike, and is feeling incredibly foolish—-but he can’t stop touching and kissing and holding Mike, because it drives him crazy, and it makes him feel better than he ever felt before.

The funny part is that Mike is younger but has gray hair starting to come in, whereas Joe does not—-a fact that Joe constantly teases him for.

They start to settle down in each other’s arms, Joe doesn’t want to get to ahead of himself with Mike, as they only really have fooled around. He gently places a kiss on Mike’s forehead.

“Fuck, man, you’re gonna kill me, kid,” Joe says as Mike rests on his chest. Joes wraps his arms protectively around him, pulling him closer.

“I hope not.”

“Mmm. You got me going, though, I’ll tell you that,” Joe says salaciously, and licks his lips obnoxiously. Mikes laughs but scoffs.

“You really wanna go all the way with this? With me?” Mike asks, frowning.

Joe suddenly moves gently so they can face each other. “Mike, I’ve never been so sure of anyone or anything in my life.”

Mike feels better, and they kiss again.

“Joe, I love you.”

Joe stops everything, and freezes.

It’s the first time either of them says it, and it’s the first time in a long time he’s heard anyone say it to him.

But Mike says it so matter of factly, so calmly, so wonderfully, that Joe falls apart.

He bites his lip, and the words spill out.

“I fucking love you too, Mike.”

They both stay the night there, and leave early in the morning, after coffee. It is the day of the job.

“Come on, Mike, I gotta get some coffee before we head off,” Joe whispers as Mike slowly wakes up next to him.

Mike nods and they get everything together, as they head over to the airport food court area.

There’s a small cafe with a small seating area, and they both get a coffee with bagels.

Joe pays again.

“You don’t have to pay, bab—-I mean Joe,” Mike bites his tongue. He realizes he almost calls Joe baby in public, and Joe gives him a questioning look. It’s not of reproach, but of concern.

“No prob, kid,” Joe says coolly, but really all he wants to do is slam their bodies together and kiss that stupid, trusting mouth again.

Mike frowns, and they sit down.

“Sorry, Joe,” He whispers.

Joe shakes his head. “Don’t ever apologize to me, okay?”

Mike smiles. “Okay.”

“So, once we are in Australia, what do you wanna do?” Joe asks, drinking his coffee.

“Get a place. Get a job.” Mike takes a huge bite of his bagel, and looks at Joe expectantly.

Joe rolls his eyes. “Duh. I meant... between us.”

Mike nods, a light blush on his cheeks. “Let’s do something good. Let’s make this last.”

“Something good?” He takes a bite of the bagel. “What do ya mean?”

“Well, I mean, let’s be good. Let’s endeavor ourselves to try to do one good thing for someone everyday.”

Joe almost spits out his bagel. “Uh... what? What kind of goofy shit is that? You trying to turn me into some goody two shoes who turns to mush over the littlest thing?”

“Yeah. That’s the plan,” Mike says teasingly, but with a serious expression.

“That’s fuckin’ brilliant,” Joe laughs.

“You didn’t say goodbye to anyone back in LA,” Mike changes the subject. “I know your family was... questionable. But still, you didn’t even say anything.”

“My mom is the only one left alive. My brother died two years ago. My dad died five years ago. So... why say shit?”

“Because... she’s your mom.”

Joe chuckles humorlessly. “No, she’s that bitch who just happened to birth me and slapped me around like a rag doll for my whole life. She dragged me down only cause my dad hated her. And she hated me and my brother for it. My dad... he was the worst. He bought all our love, but beat us within an inch of our life every other week,” Joe says lowly. “We lived well enough. But... sometimes we would be so poor we couldn’t get a loaf of bread. Then, my dad would suddenly have loads of dough... and buy us everything we ever wanted. Fuck it.”

Mike nods in affirmation. “I understand. Well, I don’t. I never went through that. But, I really appreciate how you feel. Why you didn’t say anything to her.”

“I know I gotta forgive. I do forgive them. But, it’s still hard to be around people who have hurt you so badly. Everything you know, you learn from your family. Your parents. You trust them. But they screw up any semblance of trust and hope in humanity, and you grow up being too scared to open up to people.”

Mike smiled just barely at Joe, feeling glad that they are finally sitting down and having a more open discussion. “I had a sheltered childhood Joe, to be honest. But, once I turned eighteen, my parents just kicked me out. I was left to my own devices. I had to work for everything I had. All my training. All my education. I paid for it all.”

Joe looks at thoughtfully. “Why’d you wanna be a cop, Mikey?”

Mike is surprised by the sudden affectionate nickname, but is impressed by the question.

“Because... I wanted to do my part. Be a good force for change in my community.”

“Hmm. Okay.” Joe coughs for a second and lights up a cigarette. “I think you’re fuckin’ cute.”

Mike blushed bright red.

‘Was he really flirting in public like this?’ Mike thinks in shock.

Joe laughs raucously. “Oh, man! Did I make the cop speechless?”

Mike shook his head, covering his face with his hands.

Joe stops laughing, taking in a deep drag of his cigarette, but still blowing the smoke the opposite way of Mike.

“Sorry, I had to,” Joe says softly.

Mike gives him an unimpressed look.

“Fuck off, Joe.”

Joe just laughs again.

After they are done, they get on their flight, and ready themselves for a new life.

But the strangest thing had happened right before they were boarded.

Joe sees what looks like a flash of Carson and Frank, the two men that were in their group of rag tag criminals, the group that was supposed to take on the massive scale job that was supposed to last the next few days.

He makes sure they don’t get on the plane with them, and tries to forget it.

But, he can’t.

He decides to give Mike some peace for awhile, but he’d definitely tell him about it when they arrived in Australia.

They joke around next to other on the plane, and even Mike “accidentally” touches Joe’s hand several times, making them both wish they were somewhere private.

“Get your dirty cop paws off of me, pal!” Joe whispers.

Mike smirks and does it again. “This cop might have to take you into custody, buddy.”

“Will I have to remain silent?” Joe says dramatically.

Hopefully!” Mike laughs, and they relax for awhile, one feeling completely happy, and other, stressed out of his mind—-hoping to God that no one is going to hurt Mike.

lgbtq
1

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.