Humans logo

The Incredible way

She put Extra Starch in my Life

By Jay LeTron DobbinsPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
1

One exciting Saturday afternoon, the guys and I decided to play flag football and after what started to appear to be a simple soft touch game of flag football, turned out to be rough and muddy game as the light rain turned into a sudden down pour. We had plans to catch open mic but a trip back to Conyers was too far, and I was sure to miss the opening if I wanted to change clothes. I had some shorts and a shirt in the car and there was a laundry center, which appeared to have light traffic for a Saturday. I saw my opportunity and maybe I could start a quick load, and wash up real fast at the Crusty 8 Motel next door.

I rushed in with a quick "in and out" plan was the highest of my execution, but to my disruption, there she was playing as if she was really working and making the best of her time because business was on the low drag and there was little execution. She looked at me and said "What's the rush, Sir? Atlanta is not going anywhere soon and if it does; there will be enough women for you to romance !" I said, "Why do you assume that I'm the player type? I'm actually shy and reserved." She gave the sexiest laugh and shook her head in disbelief. I told her that I was going to open mic night near Atlantic Station and I needed a quick cycle, while I wash up next door. She asked with a curious look, "are you going to participate or feed your ears so you could regurgitate a line to a helpless woman?" I replied with a face of desperation and said, "Why are you giving me such a hard time? I'm just trying to was my clothes and get on my way, but now I changed my mind." "Why so!", she replied! Then I told her if she would stop being Inspector Gadget (in my mind) and said, "give me a chance to tell you!" She sat with a look which presented 100 percent of her attention as if she was going to catch me in the first lie. "Well, I'm all ears" as she calmly placed her hands under her chin to support her head and locked focus on my eyes. She gave me a sense of instant passion as I threw my small load in the machine and started my cycle, turned and gave her a look of concern.

She laughed again and I said, "what's so funny?" She nodded her head and extended her hand as if she gave me the stage. I cleared my throat and began to speak, gave warning to my words as history noted that I was subject to make women weak. I said, "behold, the words that come out of my mouth! They made way to all mics, for I was title poet of the south! I saw your look and may plans started to change. As I walked in, I understood why the rain ceased and even though the dew on the grass gave complicated beauty, you made it plain. Laundry Lady, you put starch in my life and poetic rhyme to the beat of my heart. I was thinking of how I could get you to come with me tonight, even before I hit start". Walked toward her slowly and took her hand. Gave way to the next verse as she gave a look as if I should be her man. She gave me the look and said, "keep going why don't you?".

I told her next verse will continue at the Atlantic Station. As my clothes started the dry, I told her we could catch drinks and give the night so many reasons for us to look at each other. Then I said to her, "Take my hand miss, so I could show you a nice time, like no other!"

dating
1

About the Creator

Jay LeTron Dobbins

Casual writer! Love to express in print! Tell people how you feel and love life to the fullest with no regrets. Try to say something good about a person when they can hear it, and not when they are gone! Love like no tomorrow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.