Humans logo

The Ideal Dream Date

By: Avril Doucette

By Avril DoucettePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Ideal Dream Date
Photo by Crew on Unsplash

I think like anyone else that is dating or potentially looking for the perfect romantic partner or the ideal mate we all have certain standards. Standards aren't always a bad thing, they are needs that we need to have met in order to feel appreciated, wanted and ultimately loved. Some experts call this our "love language", some call it "expectations" and also call it even our zodiac's programming. I do believe it is programming and a mindset that is developed from our parents, they taught us from an early age our definition of love and how it should look like. It's built into our belief system and mindset. But I do believe that we also construct our own perception of dating and what "types" we date.

My dating style was affected by my parents and also created my love language. My love language is receiving gifts, I love to also spend quality time and have reaffirming affirmations. My father always spoiled my mother with small or elaborate gifts, and showered her with praise. He had also done the same to me too growing up and throughout my adult life he will still send me a dozen roses. My mother also bought me gifts and spoke kindly to me. This shaped my perception of love, what actions should be shown and also what words should be spoken.

Another important step is to find someone that we like to talk to, and to spend time with. A person that can either be a lover, best friend, partner, or even marriage material. I think having someone that things flow easy with always helps. It will make the date and planning fun. Plus, we don't care what we're doing as long as we are with the person. So an ideal dream date must have someone who we can freely spend time with doing anything and we enjoy ourselves. The date would be an amazing experience with both them and yourself.

The actual date planning is the most crucial step. If I am planning the date I want to have the person's interests, favorite foods or the option for them to try something new. The details are crucial I want them to have the proper clothes or anything else they would need for the date. Also, I would plan our transportation to and from the date. I want there to be no stress on the date, all the details planned out with room of course for spontaneous things to do as they come up.

If I was the person getting the date planned for I would love to have some element of a surprise or even a spontaneous date. I would like to know the following details of course; what to wear, what time to be ready and if I need to find my own way to the date. I would also prefer if they confirmed the date the day before or the day of. Also, I like a small little thoughtful gift. It could be a flower, chocolate or anything they think I may want or need. The date is not about what is the event but more if I enjoy myself, it could be either a casual date, fancier, sports, anything. As long as the person has me in mind when planning it, I am open-minded so it's not just about me but I do like to be considered in the date planning.

A well planned date should be a time that you both spend time together, that time should be filled with fun, laughs and enjoyment. The date doesn't need to cost a lot of money but rather just be enjoyable. It's the feeling they create the thoughtfulness of me throughout the planning phase. I would feel happy, butterflies and enjoyment the whole time. It would ensure for more dates with that person. If I feel that the person has made zero effort which is clear to see like an example I am vegan and we are eating at a steak house with no food options but fries. I can tell he was being selfish, disrespectful and didn't even take the time to call to ask about food for myself.

The importance to the Ideal Dream Date is not what is done or the cost. The key factors are planning, thoughtfulness, fun and small gifts. The purpose of a date is to show interest in the person, and do spending time together to enhance your bond or connection. By keeping each other in mind and just enjoying the time that you spend together, to me that's the most important part. Whether it's on a beach, a date under the stars, a movie at home with popcorn, or eating a five course meal. It's about the person you're with and creating a precious moment with them.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Avril Doucette

Model, Actress and Athlete

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.