Humans logo

The Gift That Keeps On Giving

No, not Herpes.. LOVE

By ShvkiiPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Love by Shaira Dela Pena -@shairad on Unsplash

There are so many different ways to "Give Back", but an overwhelming amount of people think of it in the most conventional sense. When the term, "Give Back" is brought up most things that come to mind are charity organizations, homeless shelters, food drives and the like. Those are really great forms of giving back, but now in the age we live in it can be the easy way out. When we purchase our groceries at the store or order dinner online rounding up our change is easy. Giving $1, $5 or maybe even $10 when asked is easy enough. Giving back should be about so much more than donating your time or money. It should be a lifestyle, a way of life that we as a human race chose to live by daily. Another term that also comes to mind is “Pay it Forward”, I love that way of thinking. ‘I’m helping you now so that when you can help yourself you too can give to someone else and have the cycle continue. Again, it is a wonderful concept, however I feel that when you are doing things for others there should be no other expectancy but to see joy on their face, be the kindness, love, or joy that someone may need in that moment. I decided to share about a time where I was simply being me. On my daughter's birthday I went to Party City to get balloons to decorate her room and surprise her for her big day. I had ordered breakfast and picked it up. I had literally driven all over town and I was exhausted and a bit irritated. As I stood waiting my turn in line at the balloon counter a little girl no older than 3 saw the balloons. Her eyes went wide as she saw the 'Baby Shark' balloon and she asked her mom if she could have it. The look on her face alone was enough to change my mood instantly. Her mom told her no, but that she could have a toy or piece of candy instead. The little girl was not taking that for an answer. She wasn’t causing a scene or intolerable, she just really wanted a balloon. With that being said, she kept trying her luck and asked a few more times. The whole time this scenario was playing out I thought back to times when I couldn’t give my daughter something as simple as a pack of candy she wanted and I felt for the young girl. I had no idea of their circumstances nor did I want to assume, but she was such a well behaved adorable girl. I knew at that moment I wanted to get her that balloon. While she was in line and my balloon order was being filled I asked the associate to add the 'Baby Shark' one as well and took it over to the little girl. Her face was the most beautiful thing. Her smile was so big, she was so happy and her mother was so shocked and grateful. All the little girl could do was talk about her balloon on the way out of the store. The reaction was priceless and made my day to know I could have that effect on several people by doing something so small. I have many other stories I could have shared, but this one really spoke to me for this topic. Now we are all in some really trying times. It's the little things that make life better especially right now. A phone call to a long lost relative, a text message to an old friend, a smile, letting someone in during rush hour traffic. The little things that would not hurt us or take too much of our time that could make someone's day. Something so menial, yet holds so much value could be the difference between someone being here another day. You never know what someone is going through so choose to live life and give LOVE.

love
2

About the Creator

Shvkii

I've loved writing sense I was 15, I was fascinated with erotica and grabbed it by the horns.. I am here to be me and share freely! There is more to me than what you see, check out my stories! let me know what you think!

IG:@shvkii

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.