Humans logo

The First Time

I miss you.

By J Published 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Friendship

I remember the first day I met you like it was yesterday. I truly believe it was to do with fate us being in the same uni class and in the same project group. From the first look at you, I found you interesting. I wanted to know more about you but was too shy. I only engaged in conversation with you when other people initiated it. Months went by before I managed to build up the courage to talk to you. I would find reasons to text you and use studying as an excuse to spend time with you. We clicked instantly. Our conversation went from talking about studying to talking about each other. We got to know each other. Not long after, the banter and teasing began. I finally found a male best friend. First year of uni was over and to celebrate, we went to Blackpool before the summer started. I would do anything to relive that day. I will never forget how the rides ruined your hair and how much it annoyed you. The first summer after meeting you was the longest summer of my life. A day didn't go by where I didn't think about you. I posted pictures on Instagram and whenever you liked or commented, I had the biggest smile on my face. That got me through the summer.

Second year of uni was approaching and that was my excuse for texting you. I asked you about your timetable and felt relieved when it was the same as mine. I never told you how much I missed you. I did anything I could to spend time with you throughout second year. I also noticed you went to the same gym as me but walked straight past you whenever I saw you. A few months into second year, we became closer as friends to the point everyone around us thought we were in a relationship. People were amazed at our friendship and claimed they saw nothing like it before. It was both fun and annoying but we laughed it off. We eventually started training together, studied together, and got drunk together. They were the good old times. Following our last exam, you dropped the news of taking a placement year out to work. The thought of not having you by my side for final year broke me. I took three vanilla vodka shots and cried in the toilets. I was happy for you securing a job in Dubai but was gutted you were leaving. Over the summer, I texted you and tagged you in Facebook posts to stay in touch with you. Summer flew by and final year approached. It was the toughest year of my life. Everyday, I wished you were there sat next to me. December 2016 arrived and you told me you were moving back to the UK. The best news I had heard in a while. We met up and talked for hours, we trained together like nothing ever changed. It felt great. We were the dream team again. However, several months after we drifted apart and eventually stopped talking.

Since then, a year has gone by and our friendship is non-existent. It hurts. I've cried myself to sleep many times, stared at our pictures together and thought about memories we shared. In my head I am repeatedly asking myself… How did it get to the stage where talking to each other became awkward? Why do we exchange looks but never greet each other? When did we realise it was over? Is there a possibility we will be friends again?

I miss you. I would do anything to have you back. :(

friendship
Like

About the Creator

J

Explaining life as it is

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.