Humans logo

The Fantastical Story of How Music Saved a Soul

Compassion Never Dies

By compassion24Published 3 years ago 4 min read
1

Music makes the world go round , its a popular saying often chimed when a favorite song comes on. Many people relate to music, for fun and good times, but I have seen first hand how it saved someones life.

Mr. J was a patient in the Intensive Care Unit. He had been there for two weeks. He was on a breathing machine without sedation medications and was despondent. He had given up in spirit, as his body had given up.

I am a musician as well as healthcare provider. I often instill singing and music into patients daily routine. One of my first questions when a patient is admitted is not the normal, have you received your flu shots, or do you have a primary health care decision maker, but what is your favorite kind of music?

I first met Mr. J officially when I was in charge. He was off the breathing tube, at that time but still very depressed. I asked him what his favorite song was. He looked at me and without hesitation he said "Brandy" by Looking Glass. I sang a little for him, but I did not think I did it justice, so I turned on the real song. What I saw was amazing. His toes started to move in rhythm, the mood changed in the room. Physical Therapists had come in , and we all started singing backup. he smiled. That was the beginning of a comeback not seen very often. With family and staff encouragement, he continued to be brighter, respond more positively. But we were not done yet.

I came out of the room that day and I had a wild idea. If just the song helped so much, I wondered if I could find the singer for Looking Glass, and ask him to facetime the patient and sing Brandy? I began my sleuth work.

I found out that the lead singer and creator of the song was Eliott Lurie, and he had been active in music in television and movies. I found him on social media and sent him a message. I figured, why not? Nobody knew what I was doing, so why not risk it! If he didn't answer back then , I would try something else.

I was stunned a day later when he answered back. He asked about what was going on and how he could help. I was so excited for the patient I was jumping up and down ! I called the nurse who had been working with him to let her know and we all planned it for that weekend,, We let his wife in on it, she had to be there, as Mr. J always said she was "His Brandy". She had to keep this secret for a whole day. She said it was the hardest thing she had to do in her life!

The big day arrived and we had to wait until the afternoon. It was so difficult to wait. We finally went to the room all together. Mr. J looked fantastic. He was sitting up, looking happy, his wife at his side. He must have been confused when all of us descended on him. We set up a laptop and told him what was going on and at that moment, the call came in from Mr. Lurie. The patient was stunned! We were so happy to give this gift. Mr Lurie sang Brandy, and Mr. J was enthralled. He later said he could not believe that this happened, that someone cared enough to do this.

Caring and compassion, is and has to be our mainstay. With the illness that surrounds us now, it is so important to realize that we need holistic therapy, mind, body, spirit to give complete care. I will never forget that look of joy on his face, the surprise and awe. So many people made this happen, he wondered what he did to deserve it. He was humble and brave. He was a human being in need of uplifting. He passed away right before Christmas. I will always think about him around that time of year and how the gift of music saved a soul, his last days filled with joy.

humanity
1

About the Creator

compassion24

Compassionate about people, processes and the human rights of others. I look for the good in people and my glass is half full, whether I fill it or someone else does. I hold a Doctoral degree in healthcare, and am a freelance writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.