Humans logo

The Decoration

A Thoughtful Gift

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
The Christmas Ornament

I love ornaments I create, I must. I knew it was not something that would rust. The scissors I use will hold up I trust. So important to have the equipment when it is not just an experiment It is a work of love, my ornament.

I want this project as something to share. I cut with true care, not wanting to tear the delicate fabric that can ravel. I find the right supplies without travel. Will the judges be using a gavel?

It is the beginning of summertime. I will not need this until Christmastime. As we age the time just flies by, big sigh! It will be winter before long, oh why? I enjoy making this decoration! It can cause such a big celebration.

I did enjoy the very first one I saw A bear with a smile and a raised paw. On my Christmas package from a good friend. I enjoyed it, had to make one to send. I called my friend and said love you the end!

The little rhyme above I created, just off the top of my head to assist me with thinking about a project, one of many, I may want to write about.

I do not remember what the gift was, and I do remember the thoughtful gift tag from a friend. I am Anishinaabe, from the bear clan. So for her to make a Christmas decoration for me of a bear was so thoughtful. I so enjoyed the decoration that I have made many others. Then, I have made them with the children at a Mental health program, where I have been a culture consultant. I have made them with my own grandchildren, along with other ornaments. They make ornaments with their family and with grandma, as I have participated in making ornaments and receiving ornaments over the years for presents for their classmates and for their tree and my tree and as wall hangings at Christmas time.

Most recently, my six year old granddaughter and I made ornaments. I misplaced my bear once and asked my friend to send another so that I had a model to work from with my granddaughter this year. We made and purchased Christmas gifts from her to family and included the bear gift tag on several. It was so much fun cutting out the bear body and nose and the decorations that would be attached to the bear. We chose to glue the parts on which can get messy and even leave spots, but no problem as they could be fixed and still look great.

Many didn't look as perfect as the one I received from my friend as she has had years of practice on her craft. The granddaughter and I considered ourselves beginners when we started the project and I'm sure now we can be considered competent ornament makers. At least the granddaughter can be considered competent at ornament making, as she appears to be an artist. She is always drawing and does quite the job of it too. I, on the other hand will say that I am probably still in the beginner category.

The granddaughter and I also made dream catchers that could be hung on the Christmas tree or on a wall as a Christmas decoration for her mom and dad. We gathered red willow, made circles, let it dry, we then used colored dental floss to make the web and tinsel to wrap around the red willow. That way they could use the dream catcher during the year by taking the tinsel off of the dream catcher. Our project of dream catchers became a Christmas ornament and a lifelong gift. I told my granddaughter it was important that we put some good thoughts and prayers along with the dream catcher as it is meant to interrupt nightmares and let all the good dreams come in for whomever is using it.

diy

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.