Humans logo

The Cost of Kindness

Giving my community something to think about.

By Cheyenne LancePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
The Cost of Kindness
Photo by Claudio Schwarz on Unsplash

Why is it that people never take the time to really support their community? Why do small businesses have to advertise themselves? Why do any local events only reach those who live in the area?

More importantly, why isn't anybody helping?

Imagine helping your neighbor shovel snow. Imagine offering to assist a child or elderly across the street. Imagine giving someone the time of day for their business. Imagine visiting a local business and writing a review for the world to see. Imagine volunteering as a tutor for students who could use some extra help. Imagine cleaning up trash and debris from the ground.

We have so many opportunities to help ourselves and our community, but they are ignored.

So I know what initiative I can take.

I'll help my neighbors with shoveling snow or yardwork. I can make them some pastries as a surprise. Our animal shelter needs more volunteers to care for the rescues. I'll take time just to help those animals feel loved. The local businesses here and in the surrounding towns? I would love to visit them all and hear about their work. I would love to write a review for them.

What about the schools? There are already so many issues going on that aren't being addressed properly. For 2022, I plan on volunteering as a tutor. I don't think that students are being lazy. I think that they are struggling with class as most parents just aren't supporting them enough. I can help though. I'll help any student who needs it. Stuggling with English? I took six English classes in 12th grade and major in Creative Writing. I'll help you. Is Math too difficult to understand? I'll break it down for you so that you can understand.

I have over 300 children's books that my own kids have outgrown. I'll donate them to families who need them, classrooms who could use some extras, or donate them to a local bookstore or library.

I'll help bring back Relay-for-Life to our town. I'll make sure the church has another set of hands to prepare dinners for those who can't cook for themselves.

My town is small. Everybody knows each other, so news can get around fast. However, it seems that only the bad news is ever mentioned. I could create my own article of good news, fundraisers, charity events, etc. anything to not only spread more positivity, but to ensure that everybody is being heard. I'll help advertise jobs, businesses, local awards for adults or students, and I can remind my town that this is 2022.

We are capable of doing so much more. We don't need to be paid for kindness and I want to show that. I will show that. I'll volunteer to anybody who could use some help because I care, because I want to prove that nobody or their needs should ever be ignored.

Kindness is best.

So I'll offer to babysit, pet-sit, donate books, visit those incapable of leaving on their own, surpise a family or two with home-made treats, donate toys, work with local businesses to help them branch out, support my friends and family on their goals, and so much more.

Inclusivity is not limited to anybody. It involves everybody and I will show my town that one simple act of kindness costs absolutely nothing.

It's 2022, so let's be supportive of each other and our communities.

Let's think about others, how we can help them, and how we can lift them.

It's 2022, so let's stop thinking of ourselves and try to be the bright smile and helping hand for our community.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Cheyenne Lance

I'm a single parent of 2 boys and slowly crawling through life 10 pots of coffee and $100 worth of gas each week.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.