Humans logo

The confident you ten years ago

Don't forget

By PeelPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
life

My friend said that she never dreamed that she would marry such a person.

Kite Flying

When she said this, she was three parts self-deprecation, and six parts resignation.

There was also a point of resignation that she did not notice.

And a few days later, it was their engagement ceremony.

The years of separation, every time we meet everyone has changed.

Some people are visible to the naked eye, the hairline has moved back.

Some people have changed their appearance and the memory of the look is completely different.

The few remaining friends who are still in contact are running for life.

I have known this friend for more than ten years.

It's been too long since I've seen her, so my impressions are still at my best.

When she was in high school, she did very well.

Because of the good looks and quiet personality, so very popular with boys.

I don't know what kind of destiny it was, but we became very good friends.

The company's main goal is to provide the best possible service to its customers.

At that time I was still a fat guy, so I did not become the public enemy of her suitors.

On the contrary, people who like her often take lessons from me, asking how to chase her down.

After a few years of giggling, she got into the best high school in town.

I went to another town to start my high school life.

After the holidays, every year will still be the same small gathering.

When she was in high school, she was with a boy.

The two were very close and agreed to go to the same city.

Later, the two people rest totesteder, the school applied for a street apart.

In those years, she has always been smoothly.

The future that is yet to come also seems to be full of expectations.

After graduation, she began to study.

After two years of exams, she went to the school she wanted to go to, as expected.

But after that, she also broke up with her boyfriend who had been with her for many years.

Everything would have been going in a better direction.

But when we met again, we felt that her state had changed.

The breakup made her depressed for a while, and the years made her more and more unsure of herself

Once she knew what she wanted, but now she was confused.

The last time we met, she said she was getting engaged.

But the person she was going to be engaged to, she rarely mentioned to us.

The person is his college classmate, the conditions are moderate, not fussy, and no problem.

But for her, it can only be described as a good match.

She knew that her friends would be against it, so she never mentioned it.

It's not that friends think highly of her, but they genuinely think she deserves better.

I don't know what I've been through all these years.

The former self-confident young girl began to bend the knee and give in to life.

I would like to say a word to her.

I remember how good you were ten years ago, and how you can forget yourself.

Many people have not yet reached the age of thirty, they look at the head.

Perhaps the encounters over the years have been too rough, and so many people have lost their sparkle.

I think about the period near graduation, made a lot of friends.

I joined a start-up company, the boss is a very confident person.

He can always make the company's partners high spirits.

Although the company has been fumbling forward, we are doing a lot of happy.

Because we trust the boss, we always believe that the company will get better and better.

But the reality is often not as good as it should be, because of some external reasons, the company eventually did not go too far.

The forced intervention of the investors made the boss in a difficult position.

In the end, everyone left.

After that and the boss became friends, but also successively have some work dealings.

After a few years together, his situation is also high and low.

He is not older than me a few years, but also after the 90s.

I still remember when he said that he must start his own business.

But after years of reunion, he has become someone else's worker.

When chatting, I still think of that hesitant him.

Many of the company's attempts at the beginning were not wrong.

With just a few more months of persistence, will hit the windfall of a short video.

But life is unpredictable, just at the moment of success, progress was stopped by external forces.

Many of his ideas were ahead of their time, and time has proven that his decisions were right.

He worked hard and was willing to work hard, but he was just a little bit unlucky.

Today, he is doing things that are lost to the world.

He is not as creative as he used to be, like an old ship that just wants to settle down.

I don't know if he still has the same enthusiasm as before.

Or is he building up his strength, waiting for the next opportunity?

But the thought of the person who should have shone, a little bit of light out of the body.

I still feel some regret.

It seems that people have to think about more things when they reach a certain age.

Too many things to think about, but lost the courage to start.

If he still wants to be as fearless as he was at the beginning, will he succeed?

I don't have an answer, and I can't make a prediction.

Maybe I'm not qualified to judge other people's choices.

After all, life is not easy, there must be bread and then talk about dreams.

One shouldn't be blindly confident, yet one shouldn't be self-doubting either.

Perhaps he did not find it.

The person who filled others with hope at the beginning was more charming than the one he is now.

After talking about other people's stories, he looked at himse

This transformation makes me feel at ease, yet at a loss

At that time, to buy a favorite book, you have to eat a few less delicious meals

I'm not afraid to boil my eyes or drop my grades, so I read all night long.

Nowadays, I am free to buy any book I want to read, but I don't have a strong desire to read.

I even let the books I bought sit on the shelf, not opening them for a long time.

Once upon a time, with no money in my pocket, I dared to shout at the city.

I must stay and live the way I want to.

The fact is that you can't be sure where you'll go tomorrow.

I can also say to the person I like that I want to be together all the time.

The author on the cover said, "I will write a more interesting story.

When I took a two-hour bus ride to work, I felt like the most beautiful worker.

In those days, even if you know you are bragging, you are still full of energy.

It is said that the ignorant are fearless, but that kind of confidence is a rare beauty in life.

Ten years later, some people are stuck in life, some people are deep in their feelings.

Some people are lost in the flood of years and go with the flow.

The youngsters who were so enthusiastic and vigorous are no longer the same as when they met.

Too many people do not live the way they expected.

Although full of regrets, still want to leave a bit of incandescence.

The self that was oblivious and reckless should not be defeated so easily.

I still remember the past from time to time, because the current self, lacks some courage.

To do justice to yourself ten years ago, we are not children who talk big.

The future you believe in will come, and you are on your way there.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Peel

Education is what remains after one has forgotten everything one has learned in school.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.