Humans logo

The Chapter That I Never Opened Again

"Coping with PTSD: My journey towards healing after a traumatic experience."

By Muhammad IrfanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
6

There are certain moments in our lives that shape us, mold us, and leave an everlasting impression on our minds. Some of these moments are pleasant, while others are not so much. Some experiences leave such a deep scar on our psyche that we do not want to revisit them ever again. These are the moments that we try to forget, but we cannot. I had one such experience, and it left a mark on my life that I never forget. It was a chapter in my life that I never opened again.

It was the summer of 2010, and I was a college student back then. I was studying in a prestigious university, and everything was going well for me. I was an average student, but I was happy with my life. I had a group of friends who I loved hanging out with, and I was involved in a lot of extracurricular activities. Life was perfect until one day, everything changed.

It was a usual day, and I had a class in the morning. After my class, I went to the cafeteria to grab some lunch with my friends. While we were eating, we heard a loud noise, and we saw that the windows of the cafeteria had shattered into a million pieces. We were all shocked and did not know what was happening. It turned out that there was an earthquake, and it was a massive one.

The earthquake had destroyed a lot of buildings in the city, and our university was no exception. The entire university was in chaos, and people were running everywhere. I was terrified and did not know what to do. I tried calling my family, but the phone lines were down, and I could not get through to them.

After a few hours, the university authorities asked us to evacuate the campus, and we were all asked to go home. I lived in a nearby town, and I decided to walk home as the roads were blocked, and there was no transportation available. It was a long and tiring walk, and I was exhausted when I reached home.

When I reached home, I saw that my house was in shambles. The earthquake had destroyed a lot of houses in my town, and my house was no exception. The roof of my house had collapsed, and everything was in disarray. My family was safe, but they were shaken up, just like me.

For the next few weeks, my life was a blur. I was in shock, and I did not know how to deal with the aftermath of the earthquake. I could not concentrate on my studies, and I lost interest in everything that I loved doing. My friends tried to help me, but I pushed them away. I was in a dark place, and I did not want anyone to help me.

It took me a while to realize that I was suffering from Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD). PTSD is a mental health condition that is triggered by a traumatic event. It can cause a range of symptoms such as flashbacks, nightmares, anxiety, and depression. I did not want to accept that I was suffering from a mental health condition, and I did not seek help.

I tried to cope with my condition on my own, but it only made things worse. I started having nightmares, and I could not sleep at night. I was constantly anxious, and I had panic attacks. I was drowning in my own thoughts, and I did not know how to get out of it.

It was only when I hit rock bottom that I realized that I needed help. I reached out to a therapist, and I started getting treatment for my PTSD. It was a long and difficult process, but with the help of my therapist, I was able to overcome my PTSD.

However, the experience had left a mark on me that I could never forget.

travel
6

About the Creator

Muhammad Irfan

I am an experienced content writer with several years of experience, I have a keen eye for detail and a passion for research, always striving to deliver high-quality work that meets the unique needs and goals of each client.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Emmaabout a year ago

    A tragedy

  • JHONNYabout a year ago

    Feel sorry for that accident 😞

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.