Humans logo

The Call.

Creativity - It's There. It's only Hiding.

By WriterS.InK Inc. (Sandy Groyer)Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Call.
Photo by laura adai on Unsplash

I am a writer and an editor and I wear a variety of " hats" because my head is way small. True. Ok ok ok I AM talented. Sit down already. I am a pro musician and pianist. Too much to handle? Imagine what my parents thought. Some 50 years later on the other side of midnight with my own birthplace severely suffering, I still want to do it all. I still wish to go where Angels fear to Tread. Why? Don't ask me. I have no idea.

As a therapist and lover of people who desires to make life truly worth the space between birth and death, I find myself at a crossroads at this mid-stage of life.

Do I go with my degrees, my career as a therapist, or do I go where there is no $ and little glory - the road to creativity?

I chose the latter. I have never met a creative successful billionaire who is not totally crazy. The line between genius and sanity may be slimmer than I had surmised.

CREATIVITY. What is this intangible (unbillable) creativity?

Hmm. Let me see if I can define this in less than 100 000 words.

"Creativity is a relatively new phenomenon".

Really? Oh hell no. Social Media is. Inability to communicate with anything other than our tablets and phones IS.

Creativity has only been a thing for people in the USA for the past 60-70 years. Did you see kids playing Chopin or Bach? In 1980? 1977? Nope. There was no internet. There were no smart anythings other than people. We have lost our HUMANITY.

There were kids, believe it or not. We used to be children. But, as adults, voila. we have lost that sense of wonder and the WOW! and in so doing have cut ourselves off by the necks. So, is human creativity ie inventing, creating, doing, painting, sculpting, communicating by sounds other than clicks and pings, gone forever?

We have lost so much and fallen prey to technology (which I embrace for I was one of the first experimenters, in the late 80s ).

Wow, who did not love making computer games? Helicopters taking off loudly at 3 in the AM to wake husbands? Sirens? Insane laughter? (not mine) - the machines which I had built and programmed. You did too?

I feel such sadness that ANYONE has to LEARN to paint or write or play piano magnificently. It is in all of us! We let it GET AWAY!

I was hot to trot with Facebook up till a decade ago. es, I own every Apple Product and NO I shall NEVER part with any of them. I want that iPhone 13 just because. I too have become a victim of my own creativity.

I am certainly not one to discredit Beethoven or Da Vinci or Einstein.

What I’m saying is that the concept of creativity no longer EXISTS. It is now the only thing NOT desired by people.

We want to be like everyone else, toe the line, get the middle-of-the-road award. I find that truly tragic. I find that sick. I find that terrifying.

I don't think about it. I just DO IT.

So take another Leap.

  1. Leave the PC or Mac for 24 hours.
  2. Stop interacting with machines.
  3. Interact with people.
  4. Make eye contact.
  5. Smile and laugh and STOP with the selfies. That is insane.

Thank you Rob Siltanen. And Steve J for taking that quote and using it to inspire creativity+++

“Here's to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The troublemakers. The round pegs in the square holes. The ones who see things differently. They're not fond of rules. And they have no respect for the status quo. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them. About the only thing you can't do is ignore them. Because they change things. They push the human race forward. And while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do.”

― Rob Siltanen

social media
Like

About the Creator

WriterS.InK Inc. (Sandy Groyer)

I am a creative soul. I am quiet and can be funny and the life of the party. Now I hide.

I had two beautiful children but lost my son a few years ago in a car crash in Jo'berg, South Africa. My daughter is in Europe. She will not return.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.