Humans logo

The Boy with the Dimples.

March 14,2020

By KellzzzPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
2
It started with a Smile & all I could do was leave with one.

Lets start from the beginning. . .

Senior year. All year I walked into the same class. Astronomy. Not once did I even think anything was gonna happen with Him. . . J. We always glanced at each other and shared smiles. He was my classmate but I didn't know his name. I went the to same high school all four years and I have never seen him around. I was pretty popular in high school & I knew everyone. Well I thought I did.

Almost an entire school year just smiling at each other & not once did one of us make any type of move. Let me tell you I started to like him more & more without even realizing it. His dimples is what hooked me to him. Sometimes, I'd glance up & catch him starring right at me. He sure made me feel like the most beautiful girl in the world. Because, it wasn't the type of stare you get caught & turn away it was the type where I'd notice & his smile got bigger & bigger like he was waiting for me to look up. Have you ever felt like that? Well that always made my day.

Two more months until I graduate high school when the day came. I sit in my seat waiting for the bell the ring so class can start. I noticed J had gotten up & went to the restroom. Our teacher said "Get in groups of three. You can choose whom ever just make it quick." Of course, I grabbed my only girl friend in that class Maria. She was super nice & super quite. We always talked here & there throughout high school & even middle school but that class was the time where we were the closet after years of knowing each other. It was only us to & we needed one more. As we waited for someone to just walk in our group I whisper to Maria "I like someone in this class I'm not sure what his name is but you'll find out once he comes back from the restroom. Just watch the door" That was the first time I ever told anyone even myself that I actually liked him. I was Vocal about it & I wasn't afraid. Its weird that out of all the days keeping my crush bottled up I made it known on the day that would finally bring us together.

J walked in to groups formed & He needed to be in one. Our teacher said to J "Today's assignment is a group project. Pick a group you want to join." There was my group with just Maria & I. And, there was another group. A group of his friends. At that point Maria already knew who I was talking about & shockingly at the same moment J walked straight to our table without any hesitation. I literally frozen, speechless. All I could think was "wow he really choose my group". He sat in front of me right away asking our names & sharing a little bit about ourselves so it wouldn't be awkward.

The days went on we started to get closer. The stares never stopped & at that point we had each others number. Spent all day texting from 'Good morning Beautiful' text to 'What class you in?' to 'Goodnight my sleeping beauty can't wait to see you tomorrow' cute right? I'm not gonna lie. I wasn't the best girl to be crushing on. All the signs were there that we liked each other but I would brush him off. He would tell him to sit with him during lunch but I wouldn't. He asked once for a hug when I let early & I said "next time". I didn't mean to act like that just things were going on that I didn't even know if I should share with him because I always thought 'Is this guy serious about me?' & 'He might leave'.

Weeks went on to us texting all day. Walking each other to class. & being close with on another friends. It seemed like the real deal. A relationship but I knew it wasn't because nothing was ever said. Let me tell you, I sure did love being close with my crush & hearing all the cute stuff he used to tell me but at the end of each day I was more confused then the day before.

During all this confusion I was telling my best friend Heaven everything & while I didn't know J's name in the beginning Heaven & J had a class together & were pretty close. The day we started talking in front of him she shared how he was newly single. As I to was newly single. I saw in his eyes a little red flag. A red flag so small that I completely ignored it because I didn't think it was a big deal. Thinking maybe sooner or later he would tell me about her but he never did. And I soon forget there was even something to ask about.

It was the day before I was going on a cruise an early graduation gift from the aunt & uncle. I was going to be gone a week everyone I was close to at the time knew. I didn't mention it to brag but it always came up whenever we talked about senior prom. Going on the cruise meant I wasn't going to prom. I was okay with it because J & I had talked about it once before & the first thing that came out of his mouth was "not going to that". I never mentioned it again nor, did I mention that it hurt to know even if I wasn't going on a cruise the boy I was talking to had no intentions on even asking me. . .

My cruise was over. All week I had no cell service which meant a whole week not making a single text, call, or post. And the moment I got off the boat not a single text from J. The next day, I went to school lots of stories & gifts for my friends. J was quite & distant. At that moment is when I knew everything had changed between us. No clue why, I just felt it. With in that week I saw a girl sitting with him at lunch. I was done with him. I didn't make a fit or go blowing up his phone with questions & demanding answers. NO, during that time I had to much pride to show I cared. Just let it go I told myself. That's what I did Let it go.

Three years later. . . to be continued.

dating
2

About the Creator

Kellzzz

I'll write & I hope you would want to read.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.