Humans logo

The black book of destiny

The encounter

By Nina LapnetPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
The black book of destiny
Photo by Andrey Grinkevich on Unsplash

Amara was a little dreamer; she spent most of her days thinking of projects that seemed impossible for oneself to accomplish. “Amara, lunch is ready,” said Nana. “would you please set the table for us?” She raised her head to watch Amara walk the long hall from the study to the dining room.

Amara was still daydreaming when her brother asked her to hurry up so they could eat before the wedding rehearsals. They sat to pray before eating when her phone rang. She silenced the call and they prayed. “I hope that was not your plus-one you silenced...let’s dig in,” said her brother, while biting up some plantain chunk.

“What’s his name again?”

“Simo” Amara answered.

They ate Amara’s favorite, plantains, and beans porridge.

“This was delicious as usual, Nana,” Amara said. “Well, maybe one day you can learn how to cook from Nana,” Amara’s cousin replied. “Quit teasing my only daughter, she has big dreams,” Nana said.

In earlier years, when they were all just adolescents, tragedy had befallen Amara’s family. Amara and her brother lost their parents and Uncle to a car accident, that left her brother, her cousin, and herself orphaned and in the care of their grandmother, Nana.

“Let’s go, my beautiful wife is waiting for us to rehearse,” said Douga, Amara’s brother. “Must I come?” nonchalantly muttered Amara. “Yes, you must. You and Kesi have to bond” answered Douga.

They made it to Kesi’s father’s house, just in time for snacks. It was a huge mansion, with distinguished quarters for guests who wished to extend their stay.

“Chin chin guys?” asked Kesi as she kissed Douga welcome and smiled at Amara and her cousin.

“Yes, please” answered the cousin. “Did you make it yourself?” he asked.

“I did,” Kesi replied.

“Well at least someone who knows how to cook apart from Nana in this family,” he said.

“Amara!” Kesi called. “I need the name to your plus one...if not we’ll just present you to Douga’s friend tomorrow”

Amara coughed as though she was choking.

“Passion fruit juice?” Kesi asked

“Thanks!” Amara answered.

Kesi’s phone rang and she had to excuse herself.

“Ah! My children, welcome!” hurled Kesi’s father at the back.

“Thanks, Papa” they all answered.

“Say, your grandmother didn’t come with you did she?”

“No, is there a problem?” asked Douga

“Not at all. I just wanted to discuss some kola nut matters for tomorrow. I’ll give her a call”

Kesi returned with a pale face.

“What’s wrong honey?” Douga asked

“The protocol lady had an accident and won’t be able to make it tomorrow. I’ve been going on the lists with her for months and everything was almost perfect...then this”

“Hmmm, if only we knew someone who was with you all these months” curiously said the cousin

“Yes, Amara, please...pleasee,” begged Kesi. “You know practically everything we discussed; who seats where, when the next activity is supposed to start, pleaseee?”

“Uhm, I don’t know…” Amara was replying when her brother cut her short.

“Well, look at it this way, you’ll finally have your wish of not having to talk to anyone because you’ll be too busy moving up and down”

Amara smiled.

The wedding day finally came and it was hectic, but Amara didn’t complain she didn’t have to interact with anyone, not even her plus one.

As tradition would demand, the sister of the groom had to welcome her new sister into the family and the time for that was just about. Amara was walking towards the stage when she was stopped

“Can I have a glass?” asked a gentleman in squared glasses.

“Please?” Amara thought. “I’ll send someone to your table” she answered. Then, walked to the stage for her speech.

Later in the evening, Douga came looking for Amara. “Do you want to hit it to town with us?” he asked

“What? but it’s your wedding”

“No, truly it’s for the parents, our part is done. Coming?” he asked

“Sure” she replied.

“You’ll have to ride with my friend, Kesi’s friends filled up space in my car,” he said.

“What frie…” she was asking

“Amara, meet Kahlifa” he said. It was the squared glasses gentleman.

“Hi!” Kahlifa said in a well-modulated voice. She thought he had a nice voice.

Amara didn’t answer. Holding her brother to the side, she looked at him as though to question him with her eyes.

“What?” he asked.

“Who is that? Have never seen him” she whispers

“He’s my friend, don’t worry, you’re safe”

Clearing her throat while moving back towards Kahlifa, she spoke faintly, “Hi”.

They got into the most silent car ride she had ever had.

“It’s cold in here” she mutters

“Pardon me?” he asked

“No, didn’t say anything”

“You don’t talk much do you?” “Great speech tonight, by the way, heartfelt message.”

“Thanks!” she answered.

“I didn’t get that glass by the way,” he continued.

“Well if you had said ‘please’ maybe you would have gotten it.” She said.

“Touché! My throat was parched, but that isn’t an excuse. I apologize”

The atmosphere became serene.

“So what do you do? You look like a dreamer” he said with a chuckle.

Just when she was about to answer, he continued “I never knew Douga had such a beautiful sister”

She was conflicted. She blushed and was frustrated at the same time because he didn’t let her answer first.

They arrived at the venue. He immediately got out of the car to go open her door, only to realize she had gone out fast enough to check where her brother was. The lounge was full and they needed to buy drinks for a table. Kahlifa walked past all of them and whispered some words to the bouncer, who in turn let them in.

“Hi, Kahlifa” said some waitresses “Let’s show you to your private table.”

They were all very entertained on Kahlifa’s tab. Two hours later, Amara decided to call a taxi. “I would love to drop you,” said Kahlifa.

“Okay”

“Where are we going?” he asked

“East end,” she said.

“That’s far. Let me call a cab”

She was furious. “Isn’t that what I was doing for myself?” she thought.

The taxi came, he opened the door for her. She angrily got in. To her surprise, he opened the door opposite hers and got in.

“Oh!” she exclaimed

“Oh? What oh?” he asked.

“Nothing” she replied. “What about your car?”

“I’ll take it some another day. I didn’t want to drive this far while tipsy” he replied “So, what do you do?” he continued.

“I tend to flowers, horses. I also have a job as a medical secretary”

“Interesting answer,” he said. “So nature is your passion”

They talked for a while and she didn’t realize the car had been stopped for a while now.

“I think we’re here now. I’ll walk to your door”

At her door, he gave her his business card. “I’ll like for you to come by my office to talk more about some projects”

She took the card and opened the door. “Good night,” she said

“Good night” he smiled. She got home and couldn’t believe how much she told him about herself, talkless of enjoying the company.

Weeks went by and neither called the other. Amara decided to get bold, searched for the card, and called. She got the secretary who told her there’s been a parcel for her for weeks at the office. “For me!” she exclaimed.

She went by the next day and an envelope was given to her. She opened it and it was a $20,000 check in her name. She picked up her phone and called Kahlifa. She didn’t leave a message at the sound of the tone. For days she wondered why he would sign her a check for this much money… or any amount of money. After a week, she received a call.

“Hello, beautiful. How are you?”

“How am I? I’ve been trying to reach you. Where have you been? Why don’t you answer your phone?” She said.

“I’ll send a driver to get you,” he said “Please, I would love to talk with you, but not over the phone.”

While waiting for the driver, her mind ran wild as to why he wanted to see her and why he would sign her such a humongous check. The driver was at the door. As she went to open, he held a pot of Orchids in his hands.

“Sir, what is this?” she asked.

“Courtesy of Mr. Kahlifa Roy, Ma’am”

“But why?” she didn’t wait for him to answer and walked to the car. In the car, she won’t stop thinking about what was going on. When they reached his building, she went straight to the elevator, then to his office.

“I’m sorry ma’am but you can’t barge in” hurled the secretary. Amara just went on while holding the pot of orchids. Widely opened the door, she found herself in some sort of executive meeting. Everyone turned and looked at her.

“Ladies and gentlemen, we would have to postpone this meeting,” Kahlifa said.

“What is the meaning of all these?” asked Amara

“Do you believe in destiny? Do you have faith” asked Kahlifa

“You haven’t answered me,” said Amara

Kahlifa went on to his desk drawer and took out a little black book. “You can read the whole book if you want. I however suggest you start from the 15th page,” he said

She quickly opened the book to the 15th page, it read “she will be beautiful. She will be passionate about nature. She will have Orchids as her favorite. She will know to put me in my place but will be gentle. She will always be near but I wouldn’t know. She will speak her mind. She will be ambitious and independent.”

“Who is ‘she’?” asked Amara.

“Please turn to the next page,” Kahlifa requested.

She did and saw a picture.

“You knew my parents?” she asked “who are the other people”

“Amara, our parents died on the same day. I wrote that on that day. I was 20 years old” he took out his glasses. “When I saw you I knew in my heart you were the woman I wrote about”

“Our parents knew each other?” she asked, trying to change the subject

“Yes, they did”. He replied “They were best friends” “Amara,” he continued. “That’s not why I signed to you the check. When we spoke that night, I could hear the passion in your voice. I just want to help out. I wish for you to have that nursery and ranch you spoke about.”

“But you don’t even know me,” she said.

“Then how did I write about you?” he asked. “I had probably met you when you were younger, but you certainly were too young for us to have a conversation. How would I have known these about you if not for destiny?” He walked closer to her and said in a low sensuous and insistent tone “You are the one for me.” Her knees trembled as she looked for a chair to sit on.

He took a deep breath and asked her if she was alright.

“But I don’t like you,” she said softly. He smiled and asked, “Why don’t you give it some time?” The secretary called through his phone intercom reminding him of his afternoon meetings.

“I have to go now,” he said. “The driver can drop you off.”

She took a warm bath as she got home. Her phone rang: it was Kahlifa. She picked up, and they never stopped talking.

literature

About the Creator

Nina Lapnet

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    NLWritten by Nina Lapnet

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.