Humans logo

The Beginning of You

A poem: 6/7/2020

By Doors to LifePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
The Beginning of You
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

THE BEGINNING OF YOU

I know this might be complicated

I’ve thought through every scenario

But, right now, what I want more than anything

Is to be with you.

Can’t it be simple as that?

I’ll wait for you when the time is right.

Then maybe if you still feel the way I do

Our worlds may collide.

You’ve lost your precious moon

Your crystal wings stolen by the restless night

The sadness that still rests inside of you

Don’t leave just yet

Put the shield down cause it’s just me

It’s just me, it's just me

Can’t you let me in or

Am I just a fragment of your frozen dream?

June 7, 2020

When the word love is brought up in my mind, I don't quite understand the full meaning; as if there isn't a real definition of love. It's a deep concept that teachers or professors bring up in class as a "broad" topic. They ask us, "What is love?" and to me I think that the definition of love is different to everyone. Love is a unique word that is only defined individually amongst each other.

It's funny to me that when I feel love and it goes away, it feel's like the worst thing in the world has just happened to me. I start to have these racing thought's like, "What if I've never met him?" or "Where did it all go wrong?". Then it keeps me up all night. I wonder if the guy I love still think's about me. I wonder if he misses me.

Everyone goes through their moments in life; bad or good. Ultimately, the outcome depends on your attitude. When I was first new at this whole "love" thing, I noticed that I was keeping up a wall or a shield. I think that's what people do when they're new with love. I just can't imagine a person in the world who is completely open with love and can talk about anything and everything. Even in the smallest corner of their heart, there has to be a shield.

The quest of bringing those shield's down begins when both sides of the relationship are equally in love. That's when both sides need to work together to trust each other and believe in each other. Communication as we know it is just as important, but even I forget about that from time to time.

When things go wrong in my life, I like to take a moment and rewind to where it started to go wrong. I take a step back and try to fix it and so far it's worked with love too. When I love someone, I want to love them as if I was the angel on their shoulder that they needed all along. So that when something goes wrong in their lives, then I can take a step back with them and help guide them so that they are able to stand on their own again.

The poem I wrote describes a complex love relationship between two people.

love
1

About the Creator

Doors to Life

Welcome! Everyone has gone through multiple doors in their lifetime, so let's continue to discover more hidden door's about life. What will the next door lead you to? Let me tell you what I discover in life one door at a time!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.