Humans logo

That One Time When I Went on a Date

I did something dumb and the title is slightly misleading

By Tyler WittenbrookPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
no not this kind of date. credit: nuts.com

Did I ever tell you about that one time when I went on a date?

Obviously not really because I haven't been on like a legit date before. I'm gonna need to explain this some more.

At the college I went to for a year, there's a tradition where your floor or whatever will plan a big group date thing centered around a fun activity. (The school has a name for these group dates, but I'm going to not say it for the sake of anonymity, even though it's probably not a big deal.) It can be like a real date, but it's usually just a casual sort of friend thing. Sometimes people just go to hangout with their friends on their floor.

So I'm a freshman, and our floor's first group date of the year is coming up. I don't really have anyone to go with on the date, so I'm planning on just hanging out with some of the boys. I am totally fine with this plan, and I'm certain that this is what I'm going to do.

The floor's group date thing is on a Friday, and I'm eating dinner with my floor in the dining hall on the Thursday night before it. Some of the other guys are asking about everyone's dates for the thing. So when they find out that I don't have a date for the event, they're trying to convince me to ask someone in the dining hall.

I'm telling them that I'm totally fine with just hanging out with the boys, but they are persistent. They're telling me to ask one of the girls at the table behind us, and I finally cave.

I don't know any of the girls at that table, so here's what I do:

I stand up. I turn around and walk up to the table of like eight girls. I don't say a word. I close my eyes. And I start waving my hand around like *this* (this is the part where I usually demonstrate the hand waving when telling the story in person). I point at a random and girl at the table and pretty much yell...

"Hey you! Do you want to go on a [the name of the group dates that the school uses] tomorrow night?"

She's just sitting in her chair, looking confused, which is understandable. I was only trying to be impartial in my selection of my date. But I did just walk up to a table of girls, randomly select one, and aggressively ask her on a group date. So she hesitates for a second.

And then this girl on the other side of the table speaks up, and she's going off on me. She's like, "Don't go with him. You don't know who he is. If he couldn't get a date normally then he's not worth it" and stuff like that.

Now I'm the confused one. The girl I asked hasn't said a word yet, but this other girl is really trying to convince her not to go with me. I'm startled and trying to defend my strange decision to ask a random girl on this group date thing. But now I'm talking to the other girl for some reason, saying that I'm a fun guy and like meeting new people, so I thought it would be interesting to ask someone random.

The girl that I actually asked on the date finally said something. She's asking questions about the details of the event, so I get to talk to her instead of the other girl that's got beef with me all of a sudden.

So I give her all of the details of the group date, and she agrees to go. I get her number and it's all cool. The really weird part of the story has ended.

We go to the group date and have fun. It's not all that awkward, and we're in a group so we're talking to some other people. We laugh about the other girl's reaction to me asking her on the date, and it's all pretty cool.

For a story with a pretty interesting start, there's not much interesting after that. We didn't go any other dates. We would occasionally see each other around campus and just say hi, but that was pretty much it. You're probably supposed to have like an interesting ending to a story or whatever, but this is a real story, and that's pretty much all that happened.

(I was looking pretty dope on the date tbh, but I'm not posting the picture for privacy reasons. But trust me I looked great lol.)

dating
1

About the Creator

Tyler Wittenbrook

I write stuff.

@tyler.witten.book

Business inquiries: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.