Humans logo

That One Time When I Bought a Women's Sweater

"Did I ever tell you about that one time...?" - a series

By Tyler WittenbrookPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
this ain't the one but it's from that same day. credit: one of my friends

Did I ever tell you about that one time when I bought a women's sweater?

If not, then you must not be related to me. My family still occasionally brings this one up.

First off, I'd like to put some blame on my friends. Secondly, I'd like to blame myself. Let's get into it.

So I'm hanging out at the mall with some friends. It's like junior year of high school or something. I got a group of some of my close friends, guys and girls. We're in this like women's clothing store.

Yeah yeah I know it's obvious that this is where the whole point of the story happens. But just be patient, there's more to come.

So I don't know, people are trying on clothes and all that jazz. I'm being my goofy self, putting on random stuff in the store. And I find that this particular like long sorta cardigan or something is very comfortable (honestly I don't know much about fashion and don't remember if it really was a cardigan. I kinda just wanted to sound like I knew what I was talking about).

I don't remember if one of the girls told me to put it on, or if I just made the decision on my own. But we're messing around, taking pictures, and some of my friends are saying it looks good on me. I check the pricetag and make the reckless decision to buy it. I succumb to the weight of the opinions of my peers (I'm just trying to tell you that I gave into peer pressure, but like I'm saying it in a kind of sophisticated way).

I think I even wore the thing throughout the mall and on my way home. I get to my house and show it off to my mom and brother.

And my mom is extremely disappointed.

Like she is so upset with me. She tells me the sweater looks terrible on me. I made a horrible decision. How much did it cost? 45 dollars?! She is astounded and embarassed.

She tells me I need to return that sweater. She says that it's a waste of money. And you know what? Honestly, I had been having some doubts myself. I had also considered returning it as an option. But ultimately I ruled that out as a possibility.

Because I lost the receipt. I looked in the bag and couldn't find it. So I was like, Mom I know you're upset, but there's just nothing to do about it now. I lost the receipt and I'm keeping the sweater.

I was lying to myself, trying to convince my brain that it was a good purchase. I attempted to justify the decision.

And I never wore the thing again. It sat in my closet for months and then I just like gave it to my sister.

At least it was the only bad purchase I've ever made.

Just kidding lol.

...

Ok guys so these dudes kinda want the stories that I publish to be at least 600 words. But I really like this story and I can't think of much else to say about the story. I don't want to just put in some extra filler words. But I guess I can tell you about some other purchases I've made.

And whenever I make purchases online, I make sure to use Honey.

Honey is a free browser extension...

Haha no this isn't sponsored, but that would've been a pretty good segway to the sponsor so I had to take advantage of it.

Oh yeah. So my mom also made fun of me recently because I again bought women's clothes. And the women's jacket I bought was kinda small on me. But it looks dope and I actually wear it so I legitimately don't regret that purchase. I'm a fashion icon.

humor
Like

About the Creator

Tyler Wittenbrook

I write stuff.

@tyler.witten.book

Business inquiries: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.