Humans logo

That One Time When I Ran Into a Fence

"Did I ever tell you about that one time...?" - a series

By Tyler WittenbrookPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
2
This ain't the fence I ran into. Credit: Getty Images/iStockphoto

Did I ever tell you about that one time when I ran into a fence?

Oh ok well let me tell you.

So this was when I was in fourth grade, ok? I'm outside, in the backyard, playing wiffleball with my brother. Ok so picture this: we got a fence around our backyard, but then we got this like side yard thing next to the house. Ok and for some reason, my brother and I are playing on different sides of the fence. I'm inside the fence, in the backyard. My brother is outside the fence, in the side yard. You following so far?

Cool. So my brother is tossing up the ball and hitting it with the bat. I'm catching it and throwing it back to him. But here's the deal. Remember how we're on opposite sides of the fence? I'm standing near the corner of the fence in the backyard, so when my brother hits the ball over the fence, it goes across the corner and over the other fence. The problem is that I don't know this. I'm running towards the ball, staring at it the whole time, and I don't know that it's going over the other fence. So I just run right into that metal fence in our backyard.

I bust my head open, and I'm bleeding. My knee hurts too. But I'm okay. My mom helps me get cleaned up and I'm fine. But later in the day I notice something.

I'm looking at my forehead, where I hit my head on the fence. And I see a tiny little "scar". I don't know if it's even enough to call a scar, but we'll just say that's what it was. Of course, little fourth grade me thinks it's the coolest thing, and now I'm obviously a big brave man. This making sense?

Yeah so big cool guy Tyler shows up for school the next day feeling untouchable. I got a crush on this girl in my class, and I need her to know how strong and awesome I am. She needs to see the scar on my forehead. There's a problem though. I have super long bangs that almost cover up my eyes, so you can't see my forehead.

Solution: Tyler spends half the day sitting across from girl, pushing back his hair to reveal awesome sexy forehead scar. Girl doesn't see it, doesn't say anything. Of course not, though. The scar was tiny. You needed perfect lighting and detective skills to even find it.

Kinda glad she didn't see it though. What did I think would happen next? Of course she'd say something like, "Oh I see you got a scar on your forehead. What happened?" And I'd be like, "I ran into a fence", and she'd think I was an idiot.

Of course, I was. Still kind of am.

humor
2

About the Creator

Tyler Wittenbrook

I write stuff.

@tyler.witten.book

Business inquiries: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.